Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airsoft on sale in Dundrum shopping center

• 05-12-2008 11:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭

Im not sure if anyone has said this already but be cool gadgets are selling airsoft. i was just wondering what do yous think of this? i think its a bad thing airsoft should only be sold in shops like eirsoft and other know retailers. The selling of airsoft is coming under a lot of fire these days (sorry for the pun) and i dont think it being sold in a high profile place like Dundrum will help it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

trig740 wrote: »
    Im not sure if anyone has said this already but be cool gadgets are selling airsoft. i was just wondering what do yous think of this? i think its a bad thing airsoft should only be sold in shops like eirsoft and other know retailers. The selling of airsoft is coming under a lot of fire these days (sorry for the pun) and i dont think it being sold in a high profile place like Dundrum will help it.

I'll wander down and take a look. Maybe have a word with the owners to see how they're selling them and/or what they're telling people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭kwalsh000

Same shop but in the Pavillions in Swords is selling them aswell. Just an M4 and couple of handguns ( 200 or so for the handguns ) so they are seriously overcharging it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

kwalsh000 wrote: »
    Same shop but in the Pavillions in Swords is selling them aswell. Just an M4 and couple of handguns ( 200 or so for the handguns ) so they are seriously overcharging it seems.

Good, it'll price most of the chavvy mongs out of the market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭tonky

What Hive said. There's a few seasonal shops and other places selling Airsoft, mostly overpriced, can't see it lasting, hopefully the will return to their usual 'gadgets' etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Renius

one can only hope! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Usual over-priced gadget shop stuff, stick to the genuine airsoft dealers and you wont get ripped off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭DisasterIRL

I was up in the blanchardstown centre and they had fully plastic GBB pistols for €250

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭SniperSight

they had fully plastic GBB pistols for €250

Watch out Eirsoft!!!!!:p:P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Went in and had a word with them and passed on the IAA contact information as well. Mostly pistols, couple of rifles although I didn't look at prices.

I had a word with one of the lads and he seemed reasonably clued in, and they've got notices up saying over 18s only and ID is required. The guy mentioned a few key terms that showed he was on the right track of thinking. All in all, could have been much worse but I've suggested they should really get in contact with the IAA regarding retailer guidelines.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Good stuff Lemming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭G3-Nut

Lemming wrote: »
    Went in and had a word with them and passed on the IAA contact information as well. Mostly pistols, couple of rifles although I didn't look at prices.

I had a word with one of the lads and he seemed reasonably clued in, and they've got notices up saying over 18s only and ID is required. The guy mentioned a few key terms that showed he was on the right track of thinking. All in all, could have been much worse but I've suggested they should really get in contact with the IAA regarding retailer guidelines.

good stuff man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I was up in the blanchardstown centre and they had fully plastic GBB pistols for €250

That really can't be true?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

I've seen it myself. They also have those tacky ASG springer shotguns with the "scope" for €90 smackers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Dear god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭peter-pantslez

there is a place in the mill shopping centre in clondalking beside the motor accesory shop selling some too.

think they are just springers though didnt have a close look so not 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭amaughan

there is a place in the mill shopping centre in clondalking beside the motor accesory shop selling some too.

think they are just springers though didnt have a close look so not 100%

the gards raded that place and took all the guns for testing he still has a shop somewhere else but he closed down the one in the mill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭peter-pantslez

amaughan wrote: »
    the gards raded that place and took all the guns for testing he still has a shop somewhere else but he closed down the one in the mill

sounds dodgy:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Dr_Pepper

sounds dodgy:rolleyes:

Sounds like a recession :O

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Busta Hyman

the shop in blanch told me they were 100% legal and its not a problem to have them out in public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭amaughan

the shop in blanch told me they were 100% legal and its not a problem to have them out in public

this is the problem some of them not all of them are even telling the scum bags that they can walk around with these sure if this was the case ireland would look like bagdad.its one thing selling terrible gear for ridiculous prices but encouraging them to break the law is another.shows how much research this guy has done on the subject

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,829 ✭✭✭Stone.cold

this is the problem some of them not all of them are even telling the scum bags that they can walk around with these sure if this was the case ireland would look like bagdad.its one thing selling terrible gear for ridiculous prices but encouraging them to break the law is another.shows how much research this guy has done on the subject
    but when so called dedicated airsofters break the rules by playing on land they have no permission to be on thats the same as running down the main street with one, what example does that set for others. the rules need to be enforced on everyone not just the individuals buying from gadget shops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,829 ✭✭✭Stone.cold

Baumanns in stillorgan is now selling airsoft. where will it all end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭metalfest

what was the name???
    a couple of months ago they raided dw2 in cork, place closed down, recently they reopened and they've even more guns than ever lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Chuck the Buck

I get the feeling its going to be the big thing this Christmas/New Year (and I'm not talking presents but kids buying them themselves) with the number of 'pound shops' that seem to be selling them too, not to mention all the gadget shops. Recently I've seen a few kids wandering around deserted car parks in Longford with AKs and M16s shooting at walls and fences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 airsoftnoob

Was home (Waterford) for the weekend, and our local gadget shop/headshop/scanger mart was selling them.

180 for a KWA G18

Plenty of full metal pistols, a tec-9 (didnt catch the brand), and some plastic AEG's going for 250-300

I went in for a look and got talking with whom I assume was a salesman, (or else an over-enthused middle aged shopper). Plenty of scummers browsing and buying, I dont think it was for sport though from the conversation.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Spetzcong

Was home (Waterford) for the weekend, and our local gadget shop/headshop/scanger mart was selling them.

180 for a KWA G18

Plenty of full metal pistols, a tec-9 (didnt catch the brand), and some plastic AEG's going for 250-300

I went in for a look and got talking with whom I assume was a salesman, (or else an over-enthused middle aged shopper). Plenty of scummers browsing and buying, I dont think it was for sport though from the conversation.....

A tec-9? I've been looking for a tec-9, got a mac, need a tec-9 for my Compton Crack Den load out.