Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World war 2 fanatics

• 04-12-2008 11:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭

Don't know if a similar thread is already in place but i figured i'd throw one up and see what happened!

So any other ww2 fanatics out their like myself?? I;m saving my pennies together (damn recession) to get the TM thompson M1a1 and was wondering if any of ye had similar gear??

Also saw this bad boy today and nearly wet myself with glee!!
    http://www.airsoftextreme.com/content/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=123&Itemid=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

You can get clone mp-40's or thompsons for relatively cheap, and they do the same thing as the tm.

I have a luger myself, bastard doesnt work though. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Renius

yeah i saw eirsoft have an ACM version of the thompson but to be honest i prefer paying that bit extra for reliability and TM are very bloody reliable!!

shame about the luger! who made it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Cheeky monkey

Actually tbh the clone brands are generaly as reliable as the more expensive brands these days in some cases more reliable. Although chances are TM have a better finish on their gun:D

I saw Lemmings BAR the day he had it out at HRTA its got an absolutely fantastic look and feel to itand some weight on it aswell would not be able to carry that around all day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭tonky

Renius wrote: »
    Don't know if a similar thread is already in place but i figured i'd throw one up and see what happened!

So any other ww2 fanatics out their like myself?? I;m saving my pennies together (damn recession) to get the TM thompson M1a1 and was wondering if any of ye had similar gear??

Also saw this bad boy today and nearly wet myself with glee!!
    http://www.airsoftextreme.com/content/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=123&Itemid=1

+1.
    I only have 2 Kar98 rifles and a M192 Box cannon springer so far.
    On the list are the usual MP40, Luger and Allied 1911 and rifles.
    The M1a1 Thompson is an interesting piece, My old dad once told me that several of his mates were blown away after they jammed in combat, I'm open to correction on that, I'd like one with trades anyhows at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

Hate to break your bubble about the BAR but when it says it's due for release in May, they mean last May. It was a limited run that has come and gone. Our very own Lemming here on boards.ie was lucky enough to pick one up, much to my jade-green envy. Unless they're doing another limited run on them, which I doubt since that would be massive news, then I'm afraid you're confined to a very small second hand market to get one.

The TM Thompson is a cracker, there's a gas blow back MP40 by Marushin too if you're looking for something with some kick. There's also M1 Tankers and M2 Carbines. M1 Garands are available if you're lucky enough to find stock of them somewhere. They're rarer than rocking horse poo at the moment, I've been hunting one for a while.
    Most WW2 rifles are available in airsoft format either as readily available pieces like the Thompson, MP40, Kar98 etc or as custom built pieces like the Bren available from Shoot 'n' Scoot. Others, like the FG42, are no longer made but can still be tracked down on occasion as second hand, though it's rare to see them crop up.
    The most notable two I haven't seen an airsoft version of yet are the Sten and the PPsH. For some reason no company has undertaken to make any version of these two icons, despite being highly sought after.

Be warned when looking for WW2 though, there are a lot of con artist sites out there "selling" WW2 airsoft gear for reenactors and skirmishers. The most notable of which is WWII Guns who have a number of sister sites using different names and layouts but selling more or less the same gear. If in doubt, the best thing to do is ask here before purchasing from a site. There's a countless amount of experience, good and bad, with airsoft websites from the lads who frequent this forum and we're only too happy to share it where it's needed. The last thing any of us want is another enthusiast to get diddled.

Welcome to the sport. It's addictive but it's incredibly satisfying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Forgot the above, yes, be careful of the con artists, overly slick websites with a plethora of rare guns.

Ask here before you buy.

The luger is a Wei Tech or just "WE".

I'm known to rant about them but the truth is, that mine would never could never last, and it has happened to others.
    Maybe the parts made of **** metal in mine have been replaced with better metal, but thats a big if.

The bloody mechanism just wears away, its rubbish metal, and wont last.

Get one or dont get one, that company makes profits by using the worst materials and just copying designs, and not fixing their own mistakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

NakedDex wrote: »
    Hate to break your bubble about the BAR but when it says it's due for release in May, they mean last May. It was a limited run that has come and gone. Our very own Lemming here on boards.ie was lucky enough to pick one up, much to my jade-green envy. Unless they're doing another limited run on them, which I doubt since that would be massive news, then I'm afraid you're confined to a very small second hand market to get one.

IIRC, VFC did two runs of the BAR; a CNC limited edition run (which looks hideous tbh ... chrome anyone?!), and the 'standard' release which I have. I didn't think the standard release was a limited run although I'm open to correction. You could try fire-support in the UK who were most definitely stocking them last I checked.

[edit: lo and behold; Fire-Support have two VFC BARs in stock. Not cheap though ... clicky
    The most notable two I haven't seen an airsoft version of yet are the Sten and the PPsH. For some reason no company has undertaken to make any version of these two icons, despite being highly sought after.

Shoot n'Scoot in Scotland make Sten-guns, along side the Bren. One of these days I'll get both, and an M1 Garand :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭tonky

Lemming wrote: »
    Shoot n'Scoot in Scotland make Sten-guns, along side the Bren. One of these days I'll get both, and an M1 Garand :P

Jaysus C, Just when I thought it was safe to look in my wallet. Is there no mercy for us. Thanks for the link anyhow.

Chrome BAR's are blingin'! (That's what the kids are saying these days right?)

My bad, I was under the impression that the second run was limited too. A cursory check confirms the standard version is in stock in both Fire Support and WGC.

I don't like those Shoot 'n' Scoot Stens though, they seem a little unfinished and the idea of using an internal hicap mag bugs me enough to not even want one. I'll hold off until someone makes one that can take working magazines. I'm still waiting on an M1 Garand to pop up somewhere myself. I fear the reenactors have nabbed them all for the time being.

Cheers for all the advice lads! Very much appreciated :D

So what's the Bar like lemming?? Is it worth the asking price?

I'll start with the thompson first as the price for the bar is a bit :eek::eek::eek:

I'd also love if some company started making the Moison Nagant M91/30 - you could have some proper sniper battles then a la enemy at the gates :p

Ehobbyasia have the Marushin M1 Garand tanker in stock, though the M1 garand(power-up-version) which is probably the one you want, is out of stock!

still here's the link in case you didn't know already :)

http://shop.ehobbyasia.com/other-gun/other-rifle/index.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Necron99

A WW2 thread and no one has mention the MG-42...... you peeps are getting slow ;)
    Oh yes it will be mine! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I was going to get into the WW2 scene of things but then realised that it was rather pricey.

Also found that there wasnt much dedicated world war 2 stuff going on ( that i could see) so in the end id figured id just be outgunned by box mags so i went with the normal run of the mill equipment.

I've moved my thoughts onto a cowboy loadout, which will take possibly 12-28 months to collect properly.

But im sure a WW2 German loadout will find its way to me one day, I cant keep my hands off kar98ks. Theres something so satisfying about loading shells.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Ah yes have a MP40, Lugar, M1911A and will definitely be purchasing one of those clone MG34's that are on the way out (and keeping the fingers crossed for a MG42 clone!).

Then its buy a Wehrmacht uniform time :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭MAD Ozzie

http://www.wolfarmouries.co.uk/airsoft/bb/category.asp?page=category&id=118
    Moison Nagant and M1 grand and others.

Not that cheep, but they ship quick. (3-4 days) and you have it.

I have 2 Kar98,s and an MP40, a German helmet. The uniform will come soon.
    Also a nearly full Viet Nam kit (Aus). The Thompson was used in the early days of the Viet Nam war. (its a lot cheaper kit to get) and can almost be used for the WW2 look as well. ;)

That's the tanker version of the Garand, it's shorter than the standard version. It was never popular which is why there's so many still available. KTW do make a Moison Nagent as you said, but they're serious money and, from what i've been told, not worth the hassle oreven the colour of the money.

Renius wrote: »
    So what's the Bar like lemming?? Is it worth the asking price?

I've not used it enough to answer with a definitive answer as to if it's worth it, but here are my thoughts so far.

The asking price being worth it is subjective. At the better part of €1000, that's a hefty asking price. The finish and attention to detail on it is superb, and it feels like you're holding something hefty when you hold it; at just over 5kg. It is also surprisingly comfortable to hold although it is long - longer than my M60 in fact.

On the downside, it needs a power-upgrade to 320fps out of the box, and the mags; whilst available; are not particularly common. Because the mags are wind-up as well and given the manner in which the AEG is held and its length and weight, winding can be a bit of an effort. Then again, I used a BAR against people wielding modern AEGs. A BAR in a WW2 game would be noticeable in its performance since you're up against KAR98s, M1s, Lee Enfields, Thompsons, MP40s, etc.

MAD Ozzie wrote: »
    http://www.wolfarmouries.co.uk/airsoft/bb/category.asp?page=category&id=118
    Moison Nagant and M1 grand and others.

Not that cheep, but they ship quick. (3-4 days) and you have it.

Wolf Armouries are known for being more expensive than most other stores, so those prices can be had for less elsewhere.

The BAR certainly looks amazing anyways and hopefully someday in the future i'll get my hands on one! i really do love that gun!

Ace! i didn't realise th moison nagant was available in airsoft form! i love the look of that rifle and i'd say it would be gorgeous with the right scope on it.

A few guys here mentioned that they have the beautifuly Kar 98's! anyone got the tanaka version? what's the shell loading feature like? i love the added realism it brings to the gun but is it practical in skirmishes? i'd say it gets bloody annoying running around trying to keep track of ejected shells!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Sadly this is the only one I own but I'm strangely attached to it....was thinking of getting the full metal spring version it's only 60 euro. I was also thinking of getting the AEG one but to be honest it wouldn't be a great one for the shooting I do so I think I'll stick with my AK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I have the clone thompson and it operates fine but it was no trades. It is metal though so I'm assuming I could just get a stamp kit and put the trades on myself. I bought a replica ww2 sling for it to. It really improves the look of the gun even though it seems allot shorter than the slings I've seen on real thompsons in pictures. I also bought a magazine pouch all off ima-usa.

Well that's the thing! it can't be too hard to put the trades on yourself if you really wanted to! after looking around i think the cybergun version of the thompson is supposed to be one of the better clones! Furthermore its got traedemarks as far as i know! so all you'd need to do is add the real wood kit to it and you'd be away! think i might plump for this option instead as even after throwing the wood kit on it it works out much cheaper than the TM version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭SniperSight

That's the tanker version of the Garand, it's shorter than the standard version. It was never popular which is why there's so many still available.

The garand linked isnt a tanker, its the full length one.
    Compare it to a pic of the Tanker from WGC....
    M1GARAND8.jpg
    ms_rg_m1gt.jpg

Aha, so it is (kind of hard to see these pictures clearly on a phone, my mistake). What now remains is the question of whether I'm willing to pay the over-the-top price to get that from Wolf. I have a distinct reluctance to deal with them but that's the first available Garand I've seen for months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭SniperSight

Aha, so it is (kind of hard to see these pictures clearly on a phone, my mistake). What now remains is the question of whether I'm willing to pay the over-the-top price to get that from Wolf. I have a distinct reluctance to deal with them but that's the first available Garand I've seen for months.

WGC have the full length 8mm Marushin. Its expensive but not nearly AS expensive. I know caus I'vee been looking and salivating over it for God knows how long. After Christmas I intend to get an M1 and start my 101st, 506th-PIR loadout.:cool: It would definately suit me to buy from WGC seeing as I cant get it Irish.

A man after my own heart! i'm planning a full 101st airborne loadout too! have everything located just need to fecking find the resources to buy them all :P I'm going down the thompson route initially as the garand is out of my budget in the immediate future but i plan to get all the major guns used by the 101st so i can just chop and change depending on my mood! Any dedicated ww2 teams out there or are they few and far between?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Grandmasha_Yoda

As I read two guys are thinking of 101st loadouts, figured I'd pop my head into this thread, anything WW2 and I'm there.

I have a complete Fallschi loadout myself, bar the airsoft.

As the guys have said early, airsoft for this era is a tad limited, especially Axis.

The king of Axis airsoft has to be the Tanaka K98 and damn hard to get they are too. Maraushin do a nice wall hanger in 8mm but again expensive.

As for teams out there I haven't heard much. Tho there was this lad up in Donegal I think who posted this earlier in the year:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055284784

Havent airsofted myself yet, but if I was to start, a WW2 sceanrio would be a sweet way to kick off.

The Marushin one is great and the DBoys one isn't half bad if you're on a budget. The king of Axis airsoft, however, is either the MG42 or the FG42. The latter having been discontinued for some time where the former is rare but out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Grandmasha_Yoda

I've heard mixed views about the DBoys K98, far as I know they have two versions.

Ah yes, the FG42. What every Fallschirmjager airsofter (& re-enactor) drools over.

The DBoys Kar98 isn't actually bad. Especially as a basic rifle from which to start a WW2 loadout from. There is indeed two version but the difference is simply that one is gas powered and the other is spring. Due to the shell system, none of them are really skirmishable unless you have deep pockets and don't mind spending some money on replacing any shells you lose during a game. (Unless you're DOC and can Swayze-soft it by catching the shells as they eject and slipping them into your pocket as you fire)

They are incredibly fun though, and a great target rifle, as well as looking good. I've seen a few great jobs done on them to give them a proper war torn look too, of few of which were done by Croppyboy and have pictures posted somewhere in the review section if you want to have a gander there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Beast ASI

Marushin K98 is absolute rubbish. Tanaka one is the only one you should consider if your considering going high end, one of the best airsoft guns I've ever owned/fired/seen.

I also used to own a Maurshin M1 Garand - Brilliant fun for target shooting and general plinking (Especially the "ping" sound you get from them) - But skirmishing? Forget about it :D - The only good ones are the Export versions, which are the higher powered versions designed to run on propane in the US and would be illegal here, it's unskrimishable at the current power limits here though especially in the winter!

Regarding the CNC'd limited editon version of the BAR - I don't think it was Chrome, rather that your just refering to the pre-production pics of the limited edition version? Which showed the gun with parts which weren't finished? Or am I completely wrong, and the parts are actually chrome? - Those "limited" editions, from what I understand were basically test models that they tried to sell before the main production run.

Shoei did a re-run of MG42's in the Summer and it looks like the Chinese will be releasing an MG34 then an MG42 (Hopefully :) )

An mg42 would be unbelievable if done right! Pity there's a lack of ww2 teams out there, i'd really love to join one!

Quick question

how close are the airsoft guns in comparison to the real steels? as i found "genuine" original wooden butt's and foregrips for the thompson's and it would be pretty cool to have these on your airsoft gun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭eagleye7

Dex is this what your looking for?? 490$ m1 Garand 8mm marushen i think.

http://airsoftglobal.com/product_info.php?products_id=3059&osCsid=13d0ece941f273d514e8c1538b8b0ebb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

Pah! This is what I want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Beast ASI

They need to make a 6mm one, without that stupid stupid hop-up system.

Beast ASI wrote: »
    Regarding the CNC'd limited editon version of the BAR - I don't think it was Chrome, rather that your just refering to the pre-production pics of the limited edition version? Which showed the gun with parts which weren't finished? Or am I completely wrong, and the parts are actually chrome? - Those "limited" editions, from what I understand were basically test models that they tried to sell before the main production run.

Could well of been a pre-production picture & video I saw from a show somewhere in Asia. Dunno.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 MerduJapon

i think world war 2 was the only war that you could actually love the evil side just as much as the side fighting for good. i dont agree with hitlers foreign policy when it comes to genocide, by when all is said and done, what a man and what an army, they put the worlds greatest super powers to their industrial limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Quality contribution to a near 3 year old thread.

'What a man' indeed:rolleyes:

Jesus this thread makes me feel old...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

Classic Nectoposting rofl :D:pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Fabienne: Who's Thread is this?
    Butch: It's an old thread baby.
    Fabienne: But Who posted this?
    Butch: Zed.
    Fabienne: Who's Zed?
    Butch: Zed's dead, baby. Thread's dead.