Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poker Tour venue Suggestions

• 04-12-2008 6:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭

Looking into running a poker tour similar to the Celtic Poker Tour (fully transparent & dealer dealt) with Min guaranteed prize pools of €10k around the country with a mini festival similar to the one which I ran in the Green Isle for Bruce Poker once every three months (mini festival will probably be in Dublin) which will have a min €25k guaranteed prize pool.

Thinking along the line of €120 & 1 rebuy at €50 for the €10k games and €250 for the €25k games.

Just looking for feedback on towns that would have a large enough poker base and hotels that would be suitable for running a poker game.

Thanks in advance

Jp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

Mayo wise the Park Hotel got a good turn out for the IPT - However I would say that the best venue for an event like that would be the TF in Castlebar. Pat Jennings is the person to talk to there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

Fatboydim wrote: »
    Mayo wise the Park Hotel got a good turn out for the IPT - However I would say that the best venue for an event like that would be the TF in Castlebar. Pat Jennings is the person to talk to there.

What does TF stand for?

Also were was the Park Hotel was that in castlebar aswell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

JP Poker wrote: »
    What does TF stand for?

Also were was the Park Hotel was that in castlebar aswell?

TF stands for Travellers friend hotel in Castlebar. The Park Hotel is in Kiltimagh where we (Mayo Poker Tour) and 4 of a kind poker jointly hosted the Mayo leg of the IPT. 74 runners in Main Vent and 40 in supporting event.

How many runners would you hope to get at provincial venues? Best of luck with it. Feel free to contact me if i can be of any assistance if your tour comes down West.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

Cahir in Tipperary is ideal really less than an hour from Waterford, Cork and Limerick city. Its getting into CPT land bigtime that is the only problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭thedini

Limerick-SouthCourt.
    Clare -Auburn Lodge.

Looks like were going to kick around febuary.

So all help is greatly appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭mully_85

well for the love of god, please include one in the north of the country, feel like we get forgotten about by the poker bodies in this country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Duff Man Jr.

thedini wrote: »
    Limerick-SouthCourt.
    Clare -Auburn Lodge.

Southcourt is a good venue, Auburn Lodge is too close and at the Poker Ireland games there most of the players were Limerick regs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

mully_85 wrote: »
    well for the love of god, please include one in the north of the country, feel like we get forgotten about by the poker bodies in this country!
    Where in the north are you ?

mully_85 wrote: »

Don't think we can hold them up the north for legal reasons. That said isn't there a game on up there this weekend.

It will be interesting to see if the police raid it or not. We will have a boarder county for sure, one option might be to have all online reg for any games in the north with all money paid onto your acc.

Not sure if the players will be interested in that or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭doke

Looking into running a poker tour similar to the Celtic Poker Tour (fully transparent & dealer dealt) with Min guaranteed prize pools of €10k around the country with a mini festival similar to the one which I ran in the Green Isle for Bruce Poker once every three months (mini festival will probably be in Dublin) which will have a min €25k guaranteed prize pool.

Thinking along the line of €120 & 1 rebuy at €50 for the €10k games and €250 for the €25k games.

Just looking for feedback on towns that would have a large enough poker base and hotels that would be suitable for running a poker game.

Thanks in advance

Jp

Another great idea, JP.

If you're having one in Wexford, I suggest my original home town, Enniscorthy. Geographically central to the whole county, and there seem to be a few players there.

Plus the local degens must be looking for something else to do now the brothel's been closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

JP, i really think you should be looking at Athlone - I can put you in touch with a venue that is keen to work with somebody like you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭TripleAce

Limerick needs some more of these events - come please! :)

JP, i really think you should be looking at Athlone - I can put you in touch with a venue that is keen to work with somebody like you.

hey noel, can you pm me this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

Bray - Royal Hotel. You'll Get the whole of the southside of Dublin and the north of Wickow. I know Stephen tried one here but it was in the same day as the airshow - and it was the hottest day of the year. Club Royale ran one here and got a good few players. CPT used to come but they haven't in a couple of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭cuterob

carlow and naas both have cpt games which seems to attract quite a few..both have card clubs/casinos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Decod

Looking into running a poker tour similar to the Celtic Poker Tour (fully transparent & dealer dealt)

Nice one, JP!

Be great to see the culchies get some properly run and structured tournaments like the ones you've been running here in Dublin.

I see the CPT are looking into possibility of having dealer dealt tournaments after gristmas. For all their faults they have built up a large and loyal following over the years and it will be very difficult to compete in their strongholds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭Russh

Toughers..(Newbidge) seems a decent enough venue...plenty of room, food, bar...might be worth a look...!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭robinblinds

Decod wrote: »
    Nice one, JP!

Be great to see the culchies get some properly run and structured tournaments like the ones you've been running here in Dublin.

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭baz2007

well jp what about boyne valley hotel drogheda.Was home 2 gjps now legendary monthly game plus first gjp festival.Also there is no monthly game in town. If u want details i am sure mike or brian can provide thx.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 bannanababy14

how about kilkenny jp. loads of hotels and new casino too. no problem doing some research for you if you like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭gorrrr72

Yeah JP, I think Toughers of Naas is a good venue. Not a big fan of CPT but I do go to their games when they are there as do a lot of other guys who don't follow the CPT tour but do play in Toughers.

By the way, did you make it to Letterkenny this weekend. I'm here on other business but I won't be able to play the ME:(.
    Might drop in to make some easy cash:P

Either way I'll be in the Red Cow next weekend for the ME for sure and expect the usual excellent weekend when you are involved.

gorrrr72 wrote: »
    Yeah JP, I think Toughers of Naas is a good venue. Not a big fan of CPT but I do go to their games when they are there as do a lot of other guys who don't follow the CPT tour but do play in Toughers.

By the way, did you make it to Letterkenny this weekend. I'm here on other business but I won't be able to play the ME:(.
    Might drop in to make some easy cash:P

Either way I'll be in the Red Cow next weekend for the ME for sure and expect the usual excellent weekend when you are involved.

No forgot I had my staff X-mas party tomorrow night so had to give it a miss.

Ciaran Mc Givern and John Weafer went up, hope they are doing well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭mits2006

baz2007 wrote: »
    well jp what about boyne valley hotel drogheda.Was home 2 gjps now legendary monthly game plus first gjp festival.Also there is no monthly game in town. If u want details i am sure mike or brian can provide thx.

I agree baz boyne valley was spot on,good crowds and perfect for the guys from dublin and the north to travel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭express79

Any poker events that have taken place in mayo recently have done well. The Mayo leg of the IPC Tour was the biggest one so far with 74 runners and CPT also get above average croeds when they come to Claremorris and Knock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 eamonngilroy

Please Please Please come to Cavan, we are crying out for well run tournaments that are not skimmed to death. The Kilmore Hotel is an excellent venue, where CPT always had 100+ crowds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

Johny Weaffer reckons the greenisle is a handy spot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

nicnicnic wrote: »

12 mins from my gaff, so he is very correct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

nicnicnic wrote: »
    I agree, as long as nicky is doing the raffle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jem

CPT ge good crowds in Thurles(anner Hotel) and Birr (couty Arms) from what I hear. Have just started recently in Racket Hall Roscrea. Will check out what numbers they are getting.
    When we ran our charity events in Grants hotel roscrea we got good numbers.
    I will give you a plug if you are comming down this way, a good few have finally woken up to CPT.
    j

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

jem wrote: »
    CPT ge good crowds in Thurles(anner Hotel) and Birr (couty Arms) from what I hear. Have just started recently in Racket Hall Roscrea. Will check out what numbers they are getting.
    When we ran our charity events in Grants hotel roscrea we got good numbers.
    I will give you a plug if you are comming down this way, a good few have finally woken up to CPT.
    j

To be fair CPT , Put in massive efforts in advertising and have a huge Data base , We tryed an event in the Anner and only got 25 runners last year .. Fully dealt the prob today is u can pick up a game anywhere . CPT have a sort of family following and it would always from outside the towns mostly.

Gl with the tour Jp ..........

Neil

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭petethebrick

The Four Seasons Hotel in Monaghan used to have tourneys that attracted decent crowds. Its a quick spin across the border for a lot of the northern players.

Thanks for all the feedback guys.

Some good suggestions re venues. Hope to announce details of it in the New Year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭tm2204

JP, maybe contact Jim Lacey in Carlow. He's opening a brand new Casino in the Dome in Carlow and he might be interested in getting a pro in to run an event. Jim had been involved with Irish snooker for years.

I was having a look at a map of Ireland last night and picked out the following towns and cities as potential locations for the tour. Ideally I want to run this in 12-15 venues. I know some of the towns below have already been suggested just want to know about the others as possible locations.

Athlone
    Ballina
    Ballinasloe
    Bray
    Cahir
    Carlow
    Castlebar
    Cavan
    Clomel
    Cork
    Drogheda
    Dundalk
    Dungarvan
    Dun Laoghaire
    Ennis
    Enniscorthy
    Galway
    Killkenny
    Limerick
    Longford
    Mallow
    Maynooth
    Monaghan
    Mulligar
    Navan
    Nenagh
    Mewbridge / Naas
    Portlaoise
    Roscrea
    Sligo
    Tallaght / Red Cow / Greenisle
    Tralee
    Tullamore
    Wicklow

Jp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

I was having a look at a map of Ireland last night and picked out the following towns and cities as potential locations for the tour. Ideally I want to run this in 12-15 venues. I know some of the towns below have already been suggested just want to know about the others as possible locations.

Athlone
    Ballina
    Ballinasloe
    Bray
    Cahir
    Carlow
    Castlebar
    Cavan
    Clomel
    Cork
    Drogheda
    Dundalk
    Dungarvan
    Dun Laoghaire
    Ennis
    Enniscorthy
    Galway
    Killkenny
    Limerick
    Longford
    Mallow
    Maynooth
    Monaghan
    Mulligar
    Navan
    Nenagh
    Mewbridge / Naas
    Portlaoise
    Roscrea
    Sligo
    Tallaght / Red Cow / Greenisle
    Tralee
    Tullamore
    Wicklow

Jp
    Stay off my patch BIATCH, lol , it would be great to see this up and running, Goodluck JP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭charlesanto

JP,
    I think you'll get a quorum in Celbridge/ Maynooth !
    The potential venues would be...
    The Glenroyal, Maynooth
    or The Setanta, Celbridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭eoghan104

I would do one of either Bray or Wicklow and would advise Bray as you will get more from the Southside then. Defo do one or the other though!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

doke wrote: »
    Another great idea, JP.

If you're having one in Wexford, I suggest my original home town, Enniscorthy. Geographically central to the whole county, and there seem to be a few players there.

Plus the local degens must be looking for something else to do now the brothel's been closed.

the Riverside in Enniscorthy (the one CPT used to use)
    Probably the Tower in Waterford (ask Big Slick)

also if you travel to New Ross, the Brandon House - i'll guarantee a good turnout (ie bring 100 pikey friends/immediate family)

gl with this, sounds like a winner JP

Anymore on this?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055485309

This will be the 1st game in the tour but I won't be involved in it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

When do you expect to announce all your destinations

CHD wrote: »
    When do you expect to announce all your destinations

I think they will be announced after the 1st game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭northwestguy27

Letterkenny would have a fair auld poker base, may be worthy looking into that as a possible location.

Plenty of Hotels too! (as well as being commutable for me):o

Radisson, Mount errigal

Hawk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭aidankk

Kilkenny has no events really ATM, and a large base of pub poker players, and a new casino that is as busy as anywhere , but there has never really been numbers at any decent game in kk:mad:..

Hotel kilkenny has the best room for poker, i can get details for you if you want, but for some reason is is difficult to get players going.. The main weekly game is in my hurling club and gets between 30-40 runners every week, and a lot of the players in this game dont play anywhere else.. On the other hand there was 80 players at the end of year tourney so the base is there...

Give me a shout if you need any info....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭cool007

good luck with tour jp...looks good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭northwestguy27

We will have a boarder county for sure, one option might be to have all online reg for any games in the north with all money paid onto your acc.

Not sure if the players will be interested in that or not?

^^Sound ok for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Lady Di

Yeah I think Bray/Wexford as well. We definately seem to get forgotten about! :(