Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alienware -

• 03-12-2008 10:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭

Does anyone have experience of dealing with this company? I was considering buying off them, though I normally purchase from Dell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

dell own alienware.

alienware = horribly overpriced.

build your own from www.komplett.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,093 ✭✭✭BKtje

They are good machines(well were 3years ago whe i had experience with em) but very overpriced for what you get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Indeed. Ty for the input. I'll probably stick with Dell.

build your own from www.komplett.ie

Unfortunately I fear I'd lack the skills required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

These guys will do it for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Nodin wrote: »
    Unfortunately I fear I'd lack the skills required.
    komplett can build for you too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,156 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

dell own alienware.

alienware = horribly overpriced.

Ironically, it's cheaper to buy dell-branded hardware from Alienware than from Dell though .... not to mention go build a dell spec machine that is comparible to an alienware one and compare the prices .... either you can't [build comparible] or the Dell will work out dearer.

Incidentally, Alienware are the mutts nuts although you will pay for their stuff. You're not just paying for the hardware, but the configuring/tweaking of your pc/laptop and the quality name that goes with it.

All said and done, unless you really need/want an Alienware beastie, they're more of a vanity trip than anything else. I'd love one, but they are rather expensive (and I love building my own PCs) and I've got other things I could do with getting first. I'd be more likely to get one of their laptops than a desktop though, unless it was one of their occasional custom paint-job numbers (like the star wars ones they did a couple of years ago).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

komplett can build for you too :)

Komplett no longer build them, I'm afraid.

Lemming wrote: »
    All said and done, unless you really need/want an Alienware beastie, they're more of a vanity trip than anything else. I'd love one, but they are rather expensive (and I love building my own PCs) and I've got other things I could do with getting first. I'd be more likely to get one of their laptops than a desktop though, unless it was one of their occasional custom paint-job numbers (like the star wars ones they did a couple of years ago).

TBH, I was halfway (actually 3/4's) to getting one, but a series of e-mails with their sales department has set great doubts in motion. Out of a series of 6 e-mails I think human hands authored one (the last). Considering that getting the answer required took a week (and it was a simple "yes", "no" , "f/eck off ye chancer" sort of answer required), it doesn't inspire confidence as regards possible support up the line. Past dealings with Dell over 3 PCs, parts, and problems with payments, have been far smoother and sorted out in short order.

As regards "needing one" - Jaysus no. Wanting one was more inspired by wanting an upgrade, then getting a cancer scare (had it already years ago, thought it was back, Dr said it wasn't, "why the jaysus are ye keepin that in the bank, ye could be dead") sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,156 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Nodin wrote: »
    TBH, I was halfway (actually 3/4's) to getting one, but a series of e-mails with their sales department has set great doubts in motion. Out of a series of 6 e-mails I think human hands authored one (the last). Considering that getting the answer required took a week (and it was a simple "yes", "no" , "f/eck off ye chancer" sort of answer required), it doesn't inspire confidence as regards possible support up the line. Past dealings with Dell over 3 PCs, parts, and problems with payments, have been far smoother and sorted out in short order.

And by irony I've witnessed the complete reverse with both Alienware and Dell. I helped a friend of mine spec herself an Alienware laptop a few years back, and I watched my sister deal with Dell using every underhand trick in the book to fob her off on a mistake that they made so that they'd just wear her down so that she'd either accept what she got or get a refund (with no correction of their mistake).

After witnessing that and Dell's irritating knack of "customised" PC internals so you can only use Dell parts, I will not buy a Dell machine personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

I can build a computer for you if you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Bought an Alienware PC a few years ago. Thought they were great to deal with. PC was a beast but of course nowadays it's almost obsolete. I don't really game on PC anymore though so that's fine by me. I still do want to upgrade my PC though, and when I have the cash I'll probably customize another Alienware. Couldn't be arsed building my own, even though I know it would be cheaper.

If you can't or don't want to build your own, and you have the cash, then I'd recommend them highly.

Dr. Loon wrote: »

If you can't or don't want to build your own, and you have the cash, then I'd recommend them highly.

I went with them in the end. Due in the new year. Hopefully by then the guilt will have worn off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 strjms72

i think you're right, if you have the money, why not buy it? and as for support by e-mail... that's the last method of contact i'd be choosing. go with the phone in my opinion, then you can be sure you're talking to a real person and make your point easier