Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you living in poverty?

• 03-12-2008 9:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭

From a recent report:
    http://www.socialinclusion.ie/documents/NAPinclusionReportPDF.pdf

"Revised Index
    Persons lacking two or more items from this index are regarded as being in consistent poverty.
    1. Two pairs of strong shoes
    2. A warm waterproof overcoat
    3. Buy new not second-hand clothes
    4. Eat meals with meat, chicken, fish (or vegetarian equivalent) every second day
    5. Have a roast joint or its equivalent once a week
    6. Had to go without heating during the last year through lack of money
    7. Keep the home adequately warm
    8. Buy presents for family or friends at least once a year
    9. Replace any worn out furniture
    10. Have family or friends for a drink or meal once a month
    11. Have a morning, afternoon or evening out in the last fortnight, for entertainment"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

[x] Number 2
    [x] Number 10

I guess I'm living in poverty.

Change?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Nolanger wrote: »
    4. Eat meals with meat, chicken, fish (or vegetarian equivalent) every second day
    11. Have a morning, afternoon or evening out in the last fortnight, for entertainment"

I know people who fail to meet at least two or three of those criteria through either meanness, or sheer bloody minded apathy.

I also know people like this.

They're not poor, unless its poverty of spirit. Anyone outside of those suffering some mental or physical ailment, or extreme personal circumstance who failed to at least enter gainful employment in the last decade deserves everything they get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Think I meet about 7 of them.

I'm not poor... I'm just a miserable bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Jaysus, i'm poor. Well at least i'm recession proof, don't need an overcoat for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

Actual Determinant of Poverty:

Do you get drunk every night and sleep in a doorway? Y/N

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭pierrot

yes, and squalour.

Really?

You always struck me as rather a happy fellow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

Does it count for a student ?? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

Actual Determinant of Poverty:

Do you get drunk every night and sleep in a doorway? Y/N

I thought that was the Actual Determinant of a Student?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I lack almost all of them, it bloody sucks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Ceannaire85

That report is bull****.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Although I think I only meet 6 of them, must just mean that your a more miserable'er b'stard though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Really?

You always struck me as rather a happy fellow.

I'm affable enough... just hate most things... such as food, shoes and heat.

Have been considering a second pair of shoes lately... don't want to be accused of being bourgeois though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I didn't even get past number one. I just beat the sh1t out of all my shoes. They didn't even put up a struggle. Strong shoes my bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

I live in Co Limerick. Where's poverty?

Have been considering a second pair of shoes lately... don't want to be accused of being bourgeois though.

Open toed sandals should cut it, just scuff them up a little and make sure you're not wearing your best socks.

In fact, best not to wear any socks, don't want accusations of flamboyance or anything, particularly in these sackcloth and ashes times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

Ohh ... I guess I'm poor.

So lads, it's to the AH vote, what do I do with the rest of my life? Big Issue salesman? Rent boy? Move to Romania and start begging (There must be a shortage of beggars there)? Or will I just start mugging people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭oztots

living on intern wages means that i started well, but have been slowly losing parts of the list with every week.

Pair of shoes falls apart, clothes tear beyond repair, cant afford new ones. I'm waiting it out for christmas for new clothes, or maybe a warm meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Haven't had a joint but the rest are ok... *wipes brow in relief, and returns to his plate of potato skins*