Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You are a running loon when..

• 03-12-2008 8:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭

I know this has been done before but no harm for a revisit. This is sadly all true in my case. Its probably just a phase... :D

1. You look out the window on a wintery morning and when most people think I’ll go back to bed, you think I need to get out and run.
    2. The first items of clothing you put on most mornings is running gear (for the early morning run).
    3. Your last purchase online was a marathon registration.
    4. Your next 2 planned weekends away in 2009 are marathons (Rotterdam and Edinburgh) in my case.
    5. The last book you borrowed was a running book (P+D)
    6. The book you are reading is a running book (Hal Higon)
    7. Your usual magazine purchase is runners world
    8. Your last purchase on Amazon were running books (HH, Lore of Running & What I talk about when I talk about running.)
    9. You’re Christmas schedule is semi dictated by the calendar of available races and certain sales.
    10. You spend a good 30 mins each day updating your schedule and reading and posting to regular running blogs like boards.
    11. In most rooms in the house you find a discarded part of asics.
    12. You're work colleagues think you're a lunatic (and they're probably right).

As I keep telling the missus, if I wasn't doing this I could easily be a couch potato instead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

I say something similar in that "it keeps me out of trouble" and its true:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭hawkwing

I was training in the park one day last "summer" when it was lashing but i was going better than usual,i had about .5m left and was on for a pb for the route i was on and was asked by this very good looking girl for directions,i just pointed at my watch and kept going and when i crossed the finish point of my run about 5 mins later i thought i pressed the stop on my watch and didn't look at it, then a couple of minutes later i realised the time was still running,so i was then soaking wet and avoided talking to her all for the chance of going a few seconds faster around my route in the park---i felt like it could be a sign i was getting carried away!(and don't know what time i did to cap it all off :confused:)
    Also went running at 2100 on Dec21st last year and went over on my ankle on an icy patch on the first round of a loop but kept going,did the same thing again in the very same place the next time around but kept going again to get under a certain time,ankle was dark blue 2 days later and discoloured for 10 days.(slight lunacy):rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭aburke

Odysseus wrote: »
    Ahh - that's my line too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

I know this has been done before but no harm for a revisit. This is sadly all true in my case. Its probably just a phase... :D

8. Your last purchase on Amazon were running books (HH, Lore of Running & What I talk about when I talk about running.)

Another good one is "The barefoot Runner". About Abebe Bikili who won the marathon in Rome barefoot and was the first African distance running hero.
    It also tells the story of Haile Selaisse the last emperor of Ethiopia whom Bikili guarded.
    Now know who the running emperor was called after.
    A great read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

hawkwing wrote: »
    I was training in the park one day last "summer" when it was lashing but i was going better than usual,i had about .5m left and was on for a pb for the route i was on and was asked by this very good looking girl for directions,i just pointed at my watch and kept going and when i crossed the finish point of my run about 5 mins later i thought i pressed the stop on my watch and didn't look at it, then a couple of minutes later i realised the time was still running,so i was then soaking wet and avoided talking to her all for the chance of going a few seconds faster around my route in the park---i felt like it could be a sign i was getting carried away!(and don't know what time i did to cap it all off :confused:)
    Also went running at 2100 on Dec21st last year and went over on my ankle on an icy patch on the first round of a loop but kept going,did the same thing again in the very same place the next time around but kept going again to get under a certain time,ankle was dark blue 2 days later and discoloured for 10 days.(slight lunacy):rolleyes:

Passed up the chance to talk to a good looking bird :eek:

madness..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

Odysseus wrote: »

im with Odysseus and aburke on this one and its so true its funny ...now when i go out on friday its for a run .....well before it envolved going for 1 pint on friday and arriving home via ambulance on tuesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

I know an Olympian who always ran twice a day. He said 'When I started running 3 times a day I knew I was getting addicted'.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

It's funny, I was training 3 times most days in September and now twice a day feels like a rest day. (Ok, I was also training with much higher intensity and duration then as well, it's not just the extra session).

Some more running "truths"
    1. It hurts to spend $2 on a protein bar but you happily spend $30 more for a shirt simply because it says “Coolmax” on the tag.
    2. You think 40 degrees is warm, and the ideal temperature falls between 45 and 60.
    3. You know, in tenth of a mile increments, how far everything within a 10 mile radius of your house is, and describe how to get places as “the short and fast way”, “the long and EZ way”, or “the hilly way”.
    4. Shaving 5 seconds off yesterday’s time makes you feel great the whole day long.
    5. You no longer correct people when they say a marathon is 26 miles and a half is 13.
    6. Your nickname is “The Masochist”.
    7. You think the best gift anyone can give you is sponsorship for your next race.
    8. You drink so much sports drink you wonder why you’re not sweating out Gatorade like in the commercial.
    9. Your friends know not to call after 9pm and no longer ask you out for drinks on Saturday night.
    10. You wish there were more hours in the day so you could run doubles.
    11. You go through so much petroleum jelly the store clerk thinks you are a parent of quadruplets.
    12. People think you’re in a whole lot better shape than YOU think you are.
    13. You think the best part about holidays like Thanksgiving and Christmas is that there are significantly fewer cars for you to dodge on your morning run.
    14. When you hurt, you figure you’ll “run through it” rather than visit a doctor.
    15. You take the elevator/escalator all day to save your knees for tomorrow’s long run (or recuperate from today’s).
    16. When you think “my God, why am I doing this?” during a sh!t run, and then “I can’t wait to do this tomorrow!” when it’s over.
    17. You generate more laundry than a newborn.
    18. You believe that beer drinking is “carbing up”.
    19. Your family and friends are amazed, even frightened, by how much food you can consume without gaining weight.
    20. You freak out when someone asks “So, how was your jog this morning?”
    21. Hearing the “Rocky” theme song gives you goose bumps.
    22. Your running log is 100 times more intricate than the national budget.
    23. You’ve developed a addiction for glucosamine choindroitin.
    24. You can say “five miles” and “easy run” in the same breath with a straight face.
    25. The only time major household projects get done is in a taper or race recovery.
    26. You believe a T-shirt sleeve is a perfectly acceptable substitute for a tissue.
    27. If you trip and fall, you’re able to stop your watch before hitting the ground.
    28. You believe waking at 8am is sleeping in.
    29. You wonder if Tom Hanks’ long run in “Forrest Gump” is really possible.
    30. You are not embarrassed to show someone where your hamstring REALLY hurts.
    31. You pass a runner while driving and are envious.
    32. You put more mileage on your car tallying running distances than during your commute.
    33. No one believes you when you say “never again”.
    34. You plan vacations and family outings around races.
    35. You generate more laundry than a newborn
    36. You read this list and see how much it applies to you, yet think it’s all normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

It's funny, I was training 3 times most days in September and now twice a day feels like a rest day. (Ok, I was also training with much higher intensity and duration then as well, it's not just the extra session).

Some more running "truths"
    1. It hurts to spend $2 on a protein bar but you happily spend $30 more for a shirt simply because it says “Coolmax” on the tag.
    2. You think 40 degrees is warm, and the ideal temperature falls between 45 and 60.
    3. You know, in tenth of a mile increments, how far everything within a 10 mile radius of your house is, and describe how to get places as “the short and fast way”, “the long and EZ way”, or “the hilly way”.
    4. Shaving 5 seconds off yesterday’s time makes you feel great the whole day long.
    5. You no longer correct people when they say a marathon is 26 miles and a half is 13.
    6. Your nickname is “The Masochist”.
    7. You think the best gift anyone can give you is sponsorship for your next race.
    8. You drink so much sports drink you wonder why you’re not sweating out Gatorade like in the commercial.
    9. Your friends know not to call after 9pm and no longer ask you out for drinks on Saturday night.
    10. You wish there were more hours in the day so you could run doubles.
    11. You go through so much petroleum jelly the store clerk thinks you are a parent of quadruplets.
    12. People think you’re in a whole lot better shape than YOU think you are.
    13. You think the best part about holidays like Thanksgiving and Christmas is that there are significantly fewer cars for you to dodge on your morning run.
    14. When you hurt, you figure you’ll “run through it” rather than visit a doctor.
    15. You take the elevator/escalator all day to save your knees for tomorrow’s long run (or recuperate from today’s).
    16. When you think “my God, why am I doing this?” during a sh!t run, and then “I can’t wait to do this tomorrow!” when it’s over.
    17. You generate more laundry than a newborn.
    18. You believe that beer drinking is “carbing up”.
    19. Your family and friends are amazed, even frightened, by how much food you can consume without gaining weight.
    20. You freak out when someone asks “So, how was your jog this morning?”
    21. Hearing the “Rocky” theme song gives you goose bumps.
    22. Your running log is 100 times more intricate than the national budget.
    23. You’ve developed a addiction for glucosamine choindroitin.
    24. You can say “five miles” and “easy run” in the same breath with a straight face.
    25. The only time major household projects get done is in a taper or race recovery.
    26. You believe a T-shirt sleeve is a perfectly acceptable substitute for a tissue.
    27. If you trip and fall, you’re able to stop your watch before hitting the ground.
    29. You wonder if Tom Hanks’ long run in “Forrest Gump” is really possible.
    30. You are not embarrassed to show someone where your hamstring REALLY hurts.
    32. You put more mileage on your car tallying running distances than during your commute.
    36. You read this list and see how much it applies to you, yet think it’s all normal.

On my way home from my run in the park, i spotted a girl out for run and I wished i was there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

hawkwing wrote: »
    was asked by this very good looking girl for directions,i just pointed at my watch and kept going

She was testing you to see if you were a real runner. You passed. Next time you see her take her to the zoo then marry her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭hawkwing

cfitz wrote: »
    She was testing you to see if you were a real runner. You passed. Next time you see her take her to the zoo then marry her.
    Thanks for the advice,only the deer in the park are approaching me since though,and the odd squirrel:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

Thought I was the only person who did this - glad to know I'm not alone! Think my other half is sick and tired of me pointing out runners as we drive along, and then using it as a pre-amble to something I read about running, or an evaluation of my current week's training.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Peckham wrote: »
    Thought I was the only person who did this - glad to know I'm not alone! Think my other half is sick and tired of me pointing out runners as we drive along, and then using it as a pre-amble to something I read about running, or an evaluation of my current week's training.

I do that too!!!

Although I rarely get a chance these days - Mrs A spots them and immediately says "No, they are not trying to make you feel jealous" ! You can tell you're not married yet though if you only think your OH is sick of it... Once you married you'll be in no doubt!

... You can tell you're not married yet though if you only think your OH is sick of it... Once you married you'll be in no doubt!

Am I alone in this scenario?
    Mrs donothoponpop and I were having a "discussion" where the words "Rotterdam marathon", "over my dead body", and "divorce" were uttered in quick succession...
    Found myself still pondering the ins and outs of divorce several hours later...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

I use the joys of the internet for all my running talk so as not to inflict it on non-running folk! They just think you're nuts... I find it best to stay away from the topic

On the other hand you could end up getting hitched to someone who is more into sport than you are.... That brings a whole new set of problems

- where to put all the stuff
    - laundry - a never ending cycle
    - competition, I want to beat his marathon time even more than I want to beat Amadeus'
    - race conflicts, I want to do an ultra, he wants to do Devices to Westminister, both need support crews
    -twice as many trainers, just where do you put yours?

Do you think wiggle would hold a wedding list for us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭MarieC

I'll never forget hobbling home from the physio last year after he telling me that I had to stop training for Connemara due to injury. It was like all runners were told to go out and run as I walked home. Could have cried every time I saw one.

When I see runners now out for their run and Iv ran that day its a lovely feeling, but hate it when Iv not exercised that day and of course only the fastest most athletic runners are out that day to put me to shame!

What are we like???

I think your a loon when you end up getting soaked from running through pools of freezing cold water in your morning run, then getting back and calling it a nice run...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

Found more ye might enjoy:

You are a running loon when...
    1. your shoes have more miles on them than your car does.
    2. people say, "You run three miles...at once?"
    3. all your socks are either stained or torn.
    4. your mother/partner tells you to run to the store because it takes too long to drive.
    5. you combine phrases like "10 mile run" and "Easy Run" in the same breath.
    6. you can eat your weight in spaghetti.
    7. your spit strings from your chin and you don't even care.
    8. a meal involves more than 3 servings.
    9. you spend more on training clothes than normal clothes.
    10. your christmas list includes more than one pair of running shoes.
    11. you feel lost without your water-bottle.
    12. you have running withdrawl if you don't run everyday.
    13. you eat spaghetti three times a day.
    14. you are always hungry.
    15. you are running in your dreams.
    16. you have no life besides running.
    17. you can sharpen an axe blade on your calves.
    18. you can maintain a 5:30 pace while throwing up.
    19. track is the other "sport".
    20. a 12 mile run is an easy day.
    21. your watch is more expensive and complicated than your car.
    22. your spit hits everything but the ground.
    23. you'd rather run than watch T.V.
    24. watching marathons on T.V. made you get up and go for a run.
    25. your calves are bigger than your biceps.
    26. some little kid wants to know why you're running in your underwear.
    27. you refer to puke as a bodily function.
    28. you drink more water than Free Willy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Am I alone in this scenario?
    Mrs donothoponpop and I were having a "discussion" where the words "Rotterdam marathon", "over my dead body", and "divorce" were uttered in quick succession...
    Found myself still pondering the ins and outs of divorce several hours later...;)

No your not the only one. I don't really talk too much to herself about running anymore. She is sick of it. I had to pull the wool over her eyes a little to get her to Berlin in September (it cost me a fortune :D in shopping money).
    Also getting to Paris in April was a slight hassle and instead of a in and out approach we're now going to disney land after for a few days, more money. She has told me not to plan anymore after Paris. It's a good thing she doesn't read this because I'm so going to Berlin even if I have to sneak out of the country. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭aburke

Fast_Mover wrote: »
    5. you combine phrases like "10 mile run" and "Easy Run" in the same breath.
    My favourites!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

No messing, wife just asked me to go get her cigs in the shop.I refused as I hate buying them, I'm very anti smoking. She asked again and offered favours, I refused these also. She is begging at this stage so I said I'll get them if you let me go to Berlin. Hands were shook and I'm now going to the shop. :D

Woddle wrote: »
    No messing, wife just asked me to go get her cigs in the shop.I refused as I hate buying them, I'm very anti smoking. She asked again and offered favours, I refused these also. She is begging at this stage so I said I'll get them if you let me go to Berlin. Hands were shook and I'm now going to the shop. :D
    Nice deal... I'm going to plan a nice trip away for a race sometime... maybe even for a shorter race once i get fit... but don't think i could get away for jsut a pack of cigs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

Very funny thread. As an ex-smoker I can tell you a smoker will agree to anything for their 'fix'. Bribing a smoker is very easy;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

Came across this:
    • when you've run, showered, and eaten breakfast (twice) before your family/roommates even wake up.
    • when your family knows that you will run on Thanksgiving and Christmas (or other holidays you celebrate) no matter what.
    • when your friends no longer look at you like you're nuts because they know it for sure.
    • when you forget birthdays and anniversaries, even major holidays, but never the date of your next race.
    • when you have to make a real effort to remember to talk to your (non-running) family and friends about something other than running.
    • when your family plans vacations based on where your next marathon will be.
    • when your non-running family and friends know the differences between feet that are neutral, over-pronating, and supinating.
    • when you run so much that your family has a separate laundry basket for your running clothes.
    • when people stop asking you if you are going to run today, but rather ask you when.
    • when you tell people you ran a 10k and you are shocked that people think that is a long run.
    • when you call four miles an easy day.
    • when you try to convince people to run a 5k because it's "only" three miles.
    • when you no longer have to explain to your friends why cotton isn't the best choice for running attire.
    • when you come back after an hour-long run and your spouse says, "That was fast. I didn't expect you back so soon."
    • when you smirk at people who tell you that you run too much or are crazy for enjoying a run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

Yep, these definitely apply to me. When I was training for the marathon, I rarely slept in past 7.30am

Also, giving in to the overwhelming urge to go for a run in this lovely freezing cold weather. I went running at lunch times this week and people were giving me funny looks. I laughed to myself because the run's were glorious. I crossing my fingers and toes for lots more of this weather for the winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Peckham wrote: »

I'm guilty of this too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

Where does your OH absolutely draw the line? For me its choosing to spend the rare lie in we have together training, especially if its cold, windy, dark and wet! I do choose the lie in though every once in a while;)

Are you all male runners with female OH's? This is something that concerns me more and more. There appears to be a big divide between male and female fitness levels in Ireland. I was never aware of this when I lived on the continent or when I visit the USA. I'm not saying all men are fit and all women not but it appears that more men are fit than women. At the moment I'm coming in contact with a lot of women trying to lose weight for weddings. A significant number seem to think lipotrim is the way to go and exercise is a 20 min walk in the evening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Me too. My wife has never went for a run in her life and isn't mad into sport, but through my ramblings I think she would make a decent coach. It has got to the stage she can actually give me constructive advice about my training.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

I think there is some selection bias going on there though. I would guess that Boards (and most general discussion BBs) is probably male dominated. Marathon / triathlon is also pretty male dominated IRL so you're going to get a predominantly male section of a predominantly male readership posting in here. Just because we're 80%+ male here and that brides to be are looking for quick and easy ways to lose weight wouldn't imply that all Irish women are unfit.

I think the country as a whole is unfit / lazy / looking for quick fixes. But those that exercise probably do it in different ways. I think men are more competitive and so look for sports (soccer, GAA, rugby or running) whereas women tend to be less competitive but more goal focussed so will walk / go to the gym. But there are still plenty of men who just ponce about the gym and plenty of women who run

Are you all male runners with female OH's? This is something that concerns me more and more. There appears to be a big divide between male and female fitness levels in Ireland. I was never aware of this when I lived on the continent or when I visit the USA. I'm not saying all men are fit and all women not but it appears that more men are fit than women. At the moment I'm coming in contact with a lot of women trying to lose weight for weddings. A significant number seem to think lipotrim is the way to go and exercise is a 20 min walk in the evening.
    There's a flip side to this too- last year I "coached" a group of first-timer females who ran the Flora 10k in April. They started a group, it grew, and now there's a bunch of them hoping to do the DM next year. The social aspect of the group helped them stick at it, and indeed the group form seems to suit many of the women "mini-marathoners", judging from the amount of meet-and-train groups that sprout up each year.
    The majority of men I know who are runners are running loners, prefer to mainly train by themselves/to their own schedule. I think more women in Ireland could get fit if they stopped joining the gym each January, and started running with friends.

good points Amadeus and Dodno, and I totally agree my sample is very biased, I'm still right though!:D

Your point is certainly valid HM. I once saw a doctor on TV dismiss all diets, lipotrims, weightloss programs, etc. "It's quite simple", he said, "calories in, calories out. Make sure you have more going out and you'll lose weight".
    If more diet articles and magazines geared towards women put forward that view, there'd be more women running.

Well thats all well and good but if you have 3000 cals going in and then work out that you need to do a 10 mile run per day..
    I think balance is it best, i eat less on my rest days then on my training days,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Great list Fast Mover. Now I'm really worried as I've encountered most of them. There was at least once I kicked the missus when I ran in my sleep. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

My personal favorite loon story involves me out in a really bad lightening storm being followed by a Dublin Bus driver pleading with me to get on board in case I was hit by lightening.

I didn't get on and I wasn't struck and in hindsight I was incredibly silly. It was a savage run though I felt like rocky :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭MrJones

My personal favorite loon story involves me out in a really bad lightening storm being followed by a Dublin Bus driver pleading with me to get on board in case I was hit by lightening.

I didn't get on and I wasn't struck and in hindsight I was incredibly silly. It was a savage run though I felt like rocky :)

brilliant! when is the movie coming out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

I'm a ladyee and although I know a few sporty females who are into running and triathalons they are regarded as the exceptions rather than the norm.
    I think women tend to regard running (as in starting to run from scratch) too difficult so they stick to fast walking. Also, someone else said, and I agree, women tend to like the social aspect of exercising hence why you see groups of women out walking in the evenings. Running also involves being very sweaty and not very attractive so I think that puts some women off too. I am certainly not one of those pretty, perky looking girls you see out running sometimes. Think red and purple blotchy face!
    Running also involves getting out there in all sorts of sh1tty weather and getting soaked to the bone sometimes so a gym may seem more appealing to some.

Having said all that, some of my female friends have taken up running in the last 6 months because they've seen how I've gone from nothing to the DM in a year so I suppose it's about making it seem accessible to women. All in my IM(humble)O of course. ;)