Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People 'Dying with the flu'

• 03-12-2008 3:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭

Something that's really getting on my nerves lately is the amount of people who claim to be 'Dying with the flu' when they are clearly not.

I'm talking about people who are up and about, in work and carrying on their daily business while apparently suffering from a debilitating, often serious and sometimes fatal virus. Here's a newsflash people - a runny nose and sore throat do not equal the flu!!!!

Why is it so hard to say that you have a cold? I mean, people can have extremely bad colds and suffer from all sorts of symptoms like blocked nose, sore throat, coughs, headache, tiredness, loss of appetite and feeling lousy in general. We've all been there and it's no picnic. But seemingly that is simply not good enough for some people!

In fact, sneezing, stuffy nose and sore throat are actually quite uncommon symptoms in flu cases.

In reality, if someone had a full blown flu they would most likely be far too ill to even get out of bed, let alone go to work / supermarket or anywhere else I've been hearing people moan about it lately.

From Wikepedia:

"Flu spreads around the world in seasonal epidemics, resulting in the deaths of hundreds of thousands annually — millions in pandemic years . Three influenza pandemics occurred in the 20th century and killed tens of millions of people, with each of these pandemics being caused by the appearance of a new strain of the virus in humans."

Have you ever heard of someone who actually died from a cold?

If you genuinely feel that you may have the flu then of course you need to get medical attention, but for those of you with colds, yes even very bad colds - look after yourself by all means, but for god's sake stop trying to make out that you are more ill than you are - it's pathetic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Please stop wasting the doctors time with runny noses, people are a bunch of sissys these days running to the doctor with every little thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

"I'm dying with a runny nose"

Good luck getting off work with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Mcfast

it is the flu-a new awful illness called the manflu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭eve

My sister caught a flu strain in Melbourne in September. She saw both a family doctor and a doctor in a hospital and they were not overly concerned saying there was little they could do and she'd have to see it through. She died within a week.

Makes me thing when I hear people saying they are 'dying with the flu'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Blocked sinuses = funny voice, my boyfriend tells me he's "dying" in a sniffly voice I said cop on, but this is man flu i was told!
    Ya as a nursing student I have to study illnesses
    fyi no such thing as man flu!!!!!!!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭Tupins

eve wrote: »
    My sister caught a flu strain in Melbourne in September. She saw both a family doctor and a doctor in a hospital and they were not overly concerned saying there was little they could do and she'd have to see it through. She died within a week.

Makes me thing when I hear people saying they are 'dying with the flu'.

God that's awful. So sorry to hear that. This is exactly what I'm talking about. I also had a friend who had the flu recently. Thankfully, she has recovered but she couldn't get out of bed, couldn't look after her baby so her mother had to take her and she lost a huge amount of weight also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

If you were in bed "dying from the flu" and someone told you that there was 50 quid on the ground outside and you went out and picked it up, then you have a cold.

If you had flu you wouldnt be going anywhere. It is a far more serious condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭naasface

yes and most only have a bloody cold!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

"Couldn't come into work yesterday I was dying with the AIDS."

You never hear that on a Tuesday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

I have only had a real flu once, and it resulted in severe joint pain and some freaky night time hallucinations. Not a runny nose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Man Flu is different to normal flu. Man Flu is much worse than even Bird Flu (to avoid confusion, bird flu is not the female version of Man Flu, that does not exist) but it does have a cure.

To cure Man flu, simply put the patient in front of the TV, remote in hand, wrap him up in blankets/duvets and provide as much female sympathy as is possible.

Of course, the patient cannot leave this position for at least two days (except to pee and go to bed) therefore the patient's girlfriend/wife has to do all the running around/making tea/food for that entire period.

Men who do not have a girlfriend/wife do not get Man flu.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

I don't know what it is that I have it's like some kind of SuperFlu, I thought I was going to be in hospital today only the medication I took yesterday seems to have worked over the night. Had major trouble breathing and if I started coughing, I'd nearly faint after it cos it would knock the b*llox outa me 'cos I'd be on my knees after a fit of coughing...

You don't want this dose, I'll tell you that much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭chops1990

Thank you! lol. I've actually a cold right now, stuffy nose, drowsy thats bout it. i had real bad illness b4 when i was younger tho. couldnt keep anything in. i had the ****s and i was vomitting, i suppose it was just a stomach bug.

and the point about goin to the doctor for every little thing is something else that annoys me. I was out with friends one night after my secondary school graduation in a bar the school had organised the year to go to, anyway i ended up with a bad sprain that night from drunken shenannigans , and some leg damage, dunno to what extent tho coz i didnt wanna go to the doctor. there was no point in payin him 70 squid or so to tell me what i already knew. it was severly swollen tho and really sore, it felt like a small bone in my foot was broken. it still gives me trouble 6 months later! The lads kept tellin me i shoulda went to the doc, i just shrugged my shoulders thinking they were mad

I knew a guy who died from the flu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The lack of understanding that surrounds man-flu saddens me.

Just because you ostensibly function as normal, you are dying on the inside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭Tupins

Darragh29 wrote: »
    I don't know what it is that I have it's like some kind of SuperFlu, I thought I was going to be in hospital today only the medication I took yesterday seems to have worked over the night. Had major trouble breathing and if I started coughing, I'd nearly faint after it cos it would knock the b*llox outa me 'cos I'd be on my knees after a fit of coughing...

You don't want this dose, I'll tell you that much!

I can't figure out if this guy is serious or not.

So now even the flu isn't serious enough - you have to have a Superflu!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

A lot of people are "poor poor me" types. Anything happens and it's the end of the world for them. When they're sick a lot of guys turn into effing sissies, sure me too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

I'm dying with the floo. It's symptoms are a blocked nose, sore throat, coughs, headache, tiredness, loss of appetite and am feeling lousy in general.

Maybe you've been mishearing people?

Tupins wrote: »
    I can't figure out if this guy is serious or not.

So now even the flu isn't serious enough - you have to have a Superflu!

Yeah but what happens next year when its like, "meh, you only have super flu, you'll be grand. I had super dooper flu last week"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

"I'm dying of the flu" is an expression. Get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭naasface

er...not really?
    "Break a leg" or "A watched pot never boils" are expressions.
    "I'm dying of the flu" is not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭beautiation

Agreed. It's not good for society. I bet if we'd just called it "Bird cold" in the first place we'd all have saved a lot of panic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I had the flu once, I didn't realize at the time that you can actually die from it! Me being the manly man that I am I didn't go to the doctor until I was feeling better to get a note for work.

My god though, it was quite possibly the worse couple of weeks of my life, it started with a headache that lasted 4 days, non stop, then it progessed to effect my whole body, fever, sweats, loss of appetite. I literally didn't eat for over a week, lost over a stone. Woke up in a pool of my own sweat every night, ugh!!

When I eventually started to feel better, I thought it would be nice to leave the house, went to the local shopping centre, I barely managed to get from the car to the main entrance without feeling like I was going to collapse in a heap I was just so weak.

I hope to god I never have to go through that again.