Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How bitchy is your workplace?

• 03-12-2008 9:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭

This has the potential for a poll but at breakfast I got to wondering how many others out there have to listen to others constant bitching behind people's back in the workplace.
    I work in a department mainly dominated by females and it is unbelievably bad. There is one particular person who will always tap my shoulder a few times a day and start whispering snide remarks about others to me. I don't agree or partake in the bitching and try keep on the fence as much as possible but you can't help but feel because you are the 'go to guy' that people think you are taking part.

So how bitchy is your workplace and any funny or mad examples?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I'm in college now but before this I worked in a supermarket which was full of gossiping teenagers. I swear to God it was like an eight hour episode of Home and Away in there everytime I clocked in.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

50/50 Male Female here so no such problems thankfully.

The thing that irked me mostly from working in mainly female environments is how people would bitch and bitch about someone and then be really friendly to their faces and even go out for drinks together. I always wondered whether I was getting the same treatment the other way around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

thankfully I go an all boys school and work in a shop with no women. But you can hear the bitching coming from the girls school. All-women workplaces are the worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

Is it me or the more females you have the bitchier it is...... Anyway one day a few years ago one woman sent around an e-mail about something or other and one of the recipients accidentally hit reply to all with a comment "Who does that schizo bitch think she is". As th email hit inboxes you could see the heads coming up and looking around like prairie dogs salivating at the mouth over the bit of scandal. I had a good bitch about the pair of them afterwards.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Time for a thread title change me thinks..

"How many women work in your workplace?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Das Kitty wrote: »
    The thing that irked me mostly from working in mainly female environments is how people would bitch and bitch about someone and then be really friendly to their faces and even go out for drinks together. I always wondered whether I was getting the same treatment the other way around.

You must've worked where I do now.

Yesterday for instance when bitchee was off "sick", "do you see she has all of christmas down. so selfish. we all have family. she does nothing anyway" etc etc etc

Today "oh youre back, are you feeling better, god love you".

Woman are a disaster at any age.
    I hate bitchiness.

And the bitcher above is like "you know me, I say it like it is".

I can't help thinking, no you fricking don't. melting my ear off me is not saying it like it is, i don't give a flying uck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Very bitchy.

I work in a dog shelter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

MikeySligo wrote: »
    And the bitcher above is like "you know me, I say it like it is as long as it isn't to the person I'm talking about!".

Fyp.

It's the same in my office. There's a couple of two faced oul trouts who give out so much they're like the female equivalent of those lads in the opera box in the muppets.

One of them is getting our Christmas tree moved "because of her asthma" even though she smokes about two dozen a day. It's not your fukin asthma that's affecting your breathing you cunt, it's emphysema.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Yes, you are. As I was the only male on a floor of up to 30+ women mostly aged between 18-26 for at least a 7 year stretch, I know whereof I speak. It's the contrast between the venom and the "other face" that got me. As a result I rarely mix with them socially, and blank serial offenders whenever possible. Rather be hung as a wolf etc....

For years, there was five of them working in a section, and every time I had dealings with them there were all polite, friendly and seemingly happy to each other. When it emerged that someone with the same first name as one them was mugged, and I passed on the story, the answer was "I hope she f/ucken dies, the f/ucken cow" in a way which made me physically retreat a step.

Other classics include bitching about people the company paid when they were struck with cancer (breast cancer and colon cancer, with two women). Tons of petty shi/te over the years, 99% of it baseless. Two lately seemed to be getting a terrible time of it from some of the older women in managment and I couldn't figure out why....until I heard the comment "skinny bitch" aimed at the (tall good looking ones) back. I added that to the smaller one with the nice face and got the answer.

Roadend wrote: »
    Is it me or the more females you have the bitchier it is...... .....

I think if you have over a certain ratio it reaches a critical mass. Even the unbitchy ones end up bitching about the bitches. Unless you've a love of "DRAMA!!!!!" and the like, its not good.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

When I started working for this place I began in the 'warehouse' (or elongated room) with 2 women. We had great craic but when we got a new supervisor after 3 months they just couldn't keep their mouths shut when he left the room.
    Many a time he walks in a hears them railing to me and I'm istting there thinking "I didnt say anything". It created a lot of tension in the small space and eventually the women moved on to other companies. Meanwhile guys were hired to replace and the craic was mighty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

My sales manager is a woman . So by default shes a bitch.
    Shes going to get a good stuffing this christmas, suprise buttsekz over the photocopy machine..print

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

I work with artists.

You people think women bitch alot.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

considering im out on my own all day i just have to listen to customers talk rubbish... namely taxi drivers...

Racist muppets.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Very fing bitchy, I work with all women, hate hate hate it.

Ginny wrote: »
    Very fing bitchy, I work with all women, hate hate hate it.

Combine it with a sales environment and you've got dynamite:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭rod flanders

The only people who are more bitchy than women are gay men.
    They are without doubt the worst gossiping backstabbers I've ever worked with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

The only people who are more bitchy than women are gay men.
    They are without doubt the worst gossiping backdoorstabbers I've ever worked with.

Fixed that for you

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

my place is horrendous. one person in particular is contineously bitching about everyone.

i am refusing to go to my christmas party because i cant bear to listen to all the bitching and the fact that when alcohol gets involved they tend to bitch slap each other

oh the joys of working a female dominated office :(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Where I work the fella's are bitchier than the girls.

orla wrote: »
    Where I work the fella's are bitchier than the girls.

Toni and Guy?

My Mam hates aggro and bitching. Unfortunately for her she works in an office with 7 women who take it in turns to bitch about each other. It got so bad last year that she got a stress related immune system problem and was seriously ill.

I keep telling her to tell them to STFU but she's afraid they'll turn on her. Better than listening to their (almost literal) poison day in day out.

Poor Mammy.
    *hugs for mammy*

My Mam hates aggro and bitching. Unfortunately for her she works in an office with 7 women who take it in turns to bitch about each other. It got so bad last year that she got a stress related immune system problem and was seriously ill.

I keep telling her to tell them to STFU but she's afraid they'll turn on her. Better than listening to their (almost literal) poison day in day out.

Poor Mammy.
    *hugs for mammy*

It's like a revolving door situation, whoever goes for tea or is away from their desk - nag nag nag goes everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

Its non-stop where I work. Everyone about everyone else.

Now, I just avoid it, it's mind-numbing. They're only people I work with anyway, I couldn't care less about them in the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

It's ok generally, pretty relaxed enviroment and not really any or much bitchiness. :)

*hugs for mammy*

Don't be saying things like that. That's like a red rag to a bull in AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Starstream

I work in an office of 9 women and 2 men. One of the men has something to say about everyone. Mention ANYBODY in the company and he has something smart to say about them, usually horrible. It really gets to me, I think what is he saying about me? He's very cruel about our female boss. I hate it when someone has to voice strong opinions about everything!! The rest of us girls get on fine!

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Don't be saying things like that. That's like a red rag to a bull in AH.

Thanks for the tip!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I'm self-employed and schizophrenic, so yes. Yes it is unbearable. I'd quit, but I think the bloody wanker would folllow me.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Thanks for the tip!

Too late now, theres blood in the water......

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Combine it with a sales environment and you've got dynamite:pac:
    I worked in Sales for years, even make-up counters in dept., stores are less bitchy then here...:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Toni and Guy?

Nope. IT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

I work in a place dominated by women, I never participate in the drama that happens, I prefer to sit on the side lines and hear both sides of the story's. When there's a night out, the drink makes people that little braver and something always happens near the end of the night!:D

I think it makes coming into work something to look forward to, But it creates a lot of tension and people get upset sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Nope. IT

I work in IT and I'm male. I also bitch about my teammates quite a lot. But the difference between the job I'm in now and the jobs I used to work in, is that in IT it's easy to identify the morons who can't do their job and blagged their way in. And everybody else has to pick up the slack because the boss is the only one who can't see it.

Every team in my IT department from bottom to top has one. Every other person I've talked to who works in IT(quite a lot) have all had their own moron. And if you are working in IT and don't know who the Moron is, take a good look in the mirror.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

It's not just in jobs. People (both guys and girls) are bitchy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I'm in college now but before this I worked in a supermarket which was full of gossiping teenagers. I swear to God it was like an eight hour episode of Home and Away in there everytime I clocked in.

At least you could speak the same language as your babbling workmates... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

Most of my coworkers are male, but there are 3 other women my age. Not a whole lot of bitchiness though. Three of us get on really well and the other one keeps to herself mostly. We have a really quiet office environment - there's not a lot of chatter. People who visit always comment on how quiet it is. Everyone just locks themselves in their office and don't talk. Like right now - there's around 25 people in my office and it's dead quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭quad_red

I am one of only two men in our place.

I am sometimes taken aback by the brazen bitchiness the women in my place indulge. I mean seriously low, in your face insults, the kind I have never seen men trade in a professional work place. The consistent sniping and total bare faced hypocrisy of allot of it.

You just have to try and stay out of it as much as you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Every team in my IT department from bottom to top has one.
    :eek: Never!

Tbh, there's not that much actually goes on within the office, but with a few beers on us, we can't help ourselves. The almost entirely female finance department however are hilarious, it's all, "He sed dat, den she sed dah, and I was bleedin' scarleh! She's duzzen kno wha' she's talkin' 'bou".

Deadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

thankfully I go an all boys school and work in a shop with no women. But you can hear the bitching coming from the girls school. All-women workplaces are the worst.

Lolz @ a schoolkid with no contact with women generalising about female gossips :rolleyes: :D

As for the rest of ye - jeez thats a lot to put up with. Where I work (mostly female office) it doesn't go on, everyone gets along. Except for one person - likes to rant and rave about the boss, calling him all sorts of names behind his back. I've told this person I don't do office politics and don't want to hear it, so they stopped doing it round me. Maybe they bitch about me too, but I don't give a shit.

Oh yeah, its a 63 year old man. ----> I'm telling you, men are the worst gossips! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Ah, the only advantage of being in an all-men workplace.

Glad I did engineering after reading all this....

Everyone gets on grand as far as I can see. Usuallu anybody who might be bad at their job gets a bit of slagging when they do something stupid, thats it.

I used to work in a supermarket with a lot of women - was fairly bad I suppose - I used to point out to their face when they are being hypocritical - not in a nasty way - I was more curious than anything else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

If you don't like it just change the subject when someone starts bitchin'. Negative bitching types just drain you of energy.

I ignore it so it's never been a problem for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭meboloxitis

I worked in an office with a fat, horrible, hog woman next to me all day and she never stopped! Truth be told she stank of low self esteem & just needed to vent all the gas built up in her big belly.

Got so bad I eventually said my peace and got the hell outa there!

I now work in a quiet office with all my fav music, games, internet, tea & biccies that are all mine! The peace & quiet... I love it :D

Best thing I ever done was say my mind and find a new job!

Morale of the story = Not happy, say something! otherwise your suffering needlessly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

seamus wrote: »
    :eek: Never!

Tbh, there's not that much actually goes on within the office, but with a few beers on us, we can't help ourselves. The almost entirely female finance department however are hilarious, it's all, "He sed dat, den she sed dah, and I was bleedin' scarleh! She's duzzen kno wha' she's talkin' 'bou".

Deadly.

Your only saying that because your on a one man team. Well my statement still stands. I can even tell you who they all are.

Never bad mouth finance. I like getting paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Nope. IT

Fair point. IT is the straight male equivalent of being a hairdresser.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭bills

oh yes very but it is full of women, me included. Passes the day for us!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 galwaybetty

I work in a male dominated profession, which honestly has never really bothered me because I have always been able to get on with both men and women.

However I have recently started a new job. They took on a bunch of us (about four girls and seven guys) together and we are all working together. The team is about half male half female. Initially everyone was friendly but now I am finding that three of us are getting some hostility from the girls on the team. It was small things, not saying good morning first, the smile slipping from their faces when they met you, or changing a conversation to a subject that I couldn't contribute to. The weird thing is that I always find the guys friendly and they are particularly pleasant if those girls arent around.

I'm not sure when it started or why it started but it reminds me of an all girl secondary school when a gang of girls would decide to dislike other girls. Its that passive aggressive vibe that I honestly havent encountered in years.

I have always made the effort to be friendly, smile and say good morning etc so I am not sure where it is coming from. At this point I just keep my head down and get my work done, this is a temporary role and I don't want to engage in that sort of adolescent behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Zombie alert

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

If you wish to discuss it would be best to start a new thread.