Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Honk If You're Horny!

• 02-12-2008 8:09pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Why do you honk your horn when driving? Examples? And when someone honks at you, how do you often respond to them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Run them off the road and bite off their eyelids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Generally to warn other road users of my presence, in order to avoid a collision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

At somebody you know, or to frighten random farm animals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

Generally at fools who can't drive or when going though a roundabout they starting using indicators when they have no need. I always get really angry when someone starts to tailgate and you can only see half of there bonnet in the mirror when you look back then you know they are close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

I usually put on a little Barry White when driving......ohhhhhh yyyeeeeaaahh!

Then, I usually take off my sweater toss it on the passenger seat, and turn up the HEAT(ER)...ohhhhhh yeaah!

Then, I say to the car, "Come here Baby, why you so TENSE, huh?".....ohhhhhh yeeeeeah!

I put one hand on the steering wheel....then, slowly, the other hand....at the 10 to 2 position....ohhhhhh yeeeeeeaaaah!

Then....I wind down the window....caressing the electric window button......oooooohhhhh yyeeeeeaaaaaaah!

AndScreamOutAtTheTopOfMyVoice-"Get off the f*cking road, you blind w*nker!!!!" as I slam the horn and aim for the pedestrian in question.

:P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

People who take ages to move off at traffic lights.
    People who don't notice that they're about to roll back into me.
    Idiots who run out in front of traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Pretty much reserved for taxi drivers when they fly down the bus lane and try jump out into the traffic in front of you and just assume you are going to let them pull out. Or when a rank is full and they park in a lane of traffic completely blocking it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

My horn doesn't honk. It just makes a loud beep. :( I think the same can be said for most modern cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

If I came up from behind you on the street and screamed "HONK!!!!!" at you you'd be well pissed. People get all brave in their cars however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

did anyone ever beep the horn when there is like some road rage going on on the other side of the road, and they might think that they are beeping at each other.

id never of course :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

. Or when a rank is full and they park in a lane of traffic completely blocking it.

You've obviously passed Connolly Station, Dublin lately so :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭littlebitdull

I use mine so rarely that I have to search for it when some idiot does run out in front of me.

When a driver behind me at a junction / in slow trafic uses it on me I assume I must be traveling at too high a speed for them and slow down accordingly. Ensureing at the same time I dont be a big meany and drive too far to the left.... so they can travel safely behind me for a bit longer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Pretty much reserved for taxi drivers when they fly down the bus lane and try jump out into the traffic in front of you and just assume you are going to let them pull out. Or when a rank is full and they park in a lane of traffic completely blocking it.
    When I'm driving I let taxis go ahead when they have a passanger. It annoys me when I'm in a taxi, (and I only get them when I really have to) and someone purposefully holds us up by sitting in a bus lane, or by not letting us out, to get at the taxi driver. It's not the driver you're getting at, it's the passanger who's paying the bill so you can get your little one up on someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

javaboy wrote: »
    My horn doesn't honk.
    I use mine so rarely that I have to search for it...

Glad we are only talking about car-horns!

Har-har-har!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

samhail wrote: »
    did anyone ever beep the horn when there is like some road rage going on on the other side of the road, and they might think that they are beeping at each other.

id never of course :)

I accidentally hit my horn at traffic lights. Two cars in front was a Garda car that was coincidentally slow to take off at the lights. The driver of the Garda car got out and had a word with the poor eejit in front of me thinking it was him while I drove off. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭SAVE_ME.222

grasshopa wrote: »
    If I came up from behind you on the street and screamed "HONK!!!!!" at you you'd be well pissed. People get all brave in their cars however.

Yeah cos we can just drive off. It's great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

If I had a musical horn I'd use it a whole lot more :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

micmclo wrote: »
    You've obviously passed Connolly Station, Dublin lately so :mad:

Yes, but the one on the southside of O'Connell Bridge is even worse.

When I'm driving I let taxis go ahead when they have a passanger. It annoys me when I'm in a taxi, (and I only get them when I really have to) and someone purposefully holds us up by sitting in a bus lane, or by not letting us out, to get at the taxi driver. It's not the driver you're getting at, it's the passanger who's paying the bill so you can get your little one up on someone.

It still makes me feel better, especially when you can see them mouthing something as you drive by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Yore Ma's horny, so I honked her goodo last night :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

cian1500ww wrote: »
    If I had a musical horn I'd use it a whole lot more :P
    Better yet, if you had a musical horn, everyone would probably want a go on it! ;)
    KTRIC wrote: »
    Yore Ma's horny, so I honked her goodo last night :D
    Aye, she said you were all noise and wind ... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

I accidentally hit my horn at traffic lights. Two cars in front was a Garda car that was coincidentally slow to take off at the lights. The driver of the Garda car got out and had a word with the poor eejit in front of me thinking it was him while I drove off. :o

Yea cheers for the penalty points btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

And when someone honks at you, how do you often respond to them?

Wave and honk back usually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

Coz' I'm the ice-cream man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Anyone else the odd time honk at strangers and wave at them like you know them? Mild fun when hungover.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

My horn doesn't honk. It just makes a loud beep. :( I think the same can be said for most modern cars.

Modern cars should have an adult goose attached to the front with a mechanism within for making it honk on demand. Mechanics can be trained in animal husbandry to maintain those as well as the rest of the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Yes, but the one on the southside of O'Connell Bridge is even worse.

I know that rank and to be fair to the gardai they do regularly move on the taxi drivers hanging off the queue and blocking the lane. It is being watched

But sure as soon as the gardai go, you can be sure it'll be the same issue within 10 minutes :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Got warned about using hand sign language after being honked in LA. Road rage is more common than in other parts of the country. Might trigger a nut case with an index finger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Whenever anyone cuts me off I just give them this silly look and clap like a seal rather than getting aggro or giving rude gestures and losing it. Most of the time the offending driver feels like an idiot and drives on feeling foolish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

I am this horny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

When some ignorant cunt throws his cigarette butt (still glowing) onto my windshield. Keep your cancer sticks to yourself, jackass!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Was driving on some narrow roads in Wicklow recently,came round a sharp bend and there was an auld one,knickers around the ankles arse pointed towards the road and piss gushing out of her.I kid you not.

Got a bit of a shock and leant on the horn, up she shot, piss flyin everywhere,as she tried to get the kex up,but only succeeded in soaking them as she tried to stop.

Reckon she will go behind the ditch in future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

If only pedestrians had horns! I guess I could just yell at people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭MintyDoris

I cut in front of a guy the other day. Really didn't mean to but wasn't really concentrating like I should have been. I gave him a 'sorry' wave but he started tailgated me and was flashing the lights for miles. I could see him in my rearview mirror screaming and shouting and generally turning an amusing shade of purple. So I tipped the brakes a small bit and he backed off a little for a second or two but then came up closer and started beeping

He pulled up along side me and started calling me all sorts of charming names. So I blew him a kiss ...

I think i did actually see jets of steam come out of his ears :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

Was driving on some narrow roads in Wicklow recently,came round a sharp bend and there was an auld one,knickers around the ankles arse pointed towards the road and piss gushing out of her.I kid you not.

Got a bit of a shock and leant on the horn, up she shot, piss flyin everywhere,as she tried to get the kex up,but only succeeded in soaking them as she tried to stop.

Reckon she will go behind the ditch in future.
    LMAO.

You'll get your thanks tomorrow for that.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Almost invariably it involves someone reversing or rolling back when in front of me, apparently oblivious to the fact that if they reverse more than another 12" they'll roll onto my hood.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I'm quite trigger happy I must admit. No harm in giving someone a quick beep to make them realise they've been an idiot. One particular clown got a strong blast the other day when she cut across two lanes and darted in front of me as I was about to turn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭cmcsoft

Usually it's to someone I know although I've been very careful with that later. I was a passenger in my friends car outside a shopping centre in slow moving traffic when he blew his horn at two girls across the road, taking his eye of the road and driving into the car in front of him. It took all I had not to burst out laughing but I felt sorry for him - how do you explain that one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Apple37

CMCSOFT, i think both of you were just pervin and should not be allowed on the road. I think ye need to start drivin with yer heads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Apple37 wrote: »
    CMCSOFT, i think both of you were just pervin and should not be allowed on the road. I think ye need to start drivin with yer heads!

Don't be silly, how's he going to steer a car with his head? Everyone knows you use your hands to move the steering wheel :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭dontcallmecrazy

i use my horn, well my BF's horn (its his car) all the time...

like the other day some pr*ck in his big fancy pants jeep started annoying me at the traffic lights coz some learner was infront of me and kept stalling. ive been there so i just let her do what she had to do while i lit a ciggarette, but this fat boll*x behind me was having a stroke. he kept beeping bla bla bla..then proceeded to get out of his car, come up to MY window and giveout ****e that i should have over taken the poor lil L driver..

i called him every name under the sun while tipping my fag ash on his boots, and turning up leona lewis who just so aptly was singing 'run' down the radio to me.

he got back in his car, by this time the light was red again, yet still kept on honkin' - so i got out stood by my door and yelled...SAVE YOUR HORN FOR WIFE.

i could be wrong but i think i heard clapping from the audience...

god it felt good, male drivers are the worst

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

I think I'll be fitting a train horn to the car. see link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FMgcvs6kIw8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭chops1990

Everyone should have a joint before they drive.This will lessen agitation and may cause fewer accidents :D hahahahaha. dont drink and drive smoke and fly :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

I find that taxi drivers give me the horn more than anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

When I'm driving along and see a lad weeing in the bushes. Always scares the beejesus outta them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

6th wrote: »
    I find that taxi drivers give me the horn more than anyone else.

Whatever floats your boat..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Mcfast

*honk honk*