Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to...

• 02-12-2008 11:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭

....get documents issued for a vehicle that's been off the road for many years, and was never in my name....

I know the old registration number, but before I spend any time or money on a rebuild, I want it in my name.

I can contact the previous keeper, but the vehicle was never in his name either, just his shed for about 10 years :P

Neither of us know how we could go about getting a replacement tax book issued to us.

Advice welcome from anyone who might have been through the process.

Thanks,

Gil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Kevin_Herron

I have been down this road before.

Fill in a change of ownership document with the top half blank (because you dont know who's name its in) and your details on the bottom.
    Accompany this with the form for replacment documents form.

I think I might be missing a form that has to be stamped by a garage verifying the chassis/engine number?? Or this could be part of the replacment documents form.

Either way your local Q4U toax office will point you in the right direction!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

I know someone who had to this last year. You need to get a form for lost taxbook at your motor tax office, get it stamped and signed by a garage(possibly an SIMI member) to verify reg and chassis number, and then get it stamped and signed by a peace commissioner to swear the car is now in your possession legally. Local motor tax office should be able to advise you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

Thanks Lads,

Got it sorted I hope.

Rang Shannon and a very helpful lady retrieved the registration file from the archives. She faxed it up to Dublin and told me to call this afternoon, which I've done. Another helpful guy up here told me what I need when I go in, and gave me his name so I can deal with him directly instead of possibly getting lost in the system dealing with someone else.

I need:

Chassis & Engine number must match registration details on file - Could be problematic as the engine may have been swapped without my knowledge, but we'll see. This needs to be 'certified' by a SIMI mechanic. Why SIMI registered? Beat's me.
    RF134 - Lost tax/logbook declaration, stamped by the Gardaí.
    RF200 - Change of ownership form, completion of part B if previous owner unknown.
    €12 fee for the replacement tax book.

Don't know how long it'll take, but I'll let ye know.

This will hopefully give me a nice platform to use for a big rebuild project I'm planning. ;)

Gil