Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DID vs Powercity

• 01-12-2008 4:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭

this started off as DID offering 12% off, then power city countered with 5% below any quote from DID, now they have gone one further and said that they will drop 10% below anything in the DID catalogue.

Great bargains now, but I would say January will be a blood bath between these two.

http://www.powercity.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

dO THEY SELL pLAYSTATIONS?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Only to people who can type properly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭burberry

oo not very nice everybody has to learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

Only to people who can type properly!

Well excuse me sir. I had caps lock on. Do you feel smug now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭jenno86

Varkov wrote: »

Why did you have caps lock on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭beolight

now now nicey nicey everyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Varkov wrote: »

Well, I'am NICEirishfella so, Nicey Nicey comes naturally to me!

and yes Varkov, Smug is my middlename, to its
    Nice "SMUG" irishfella to you!:D

FFS...I'm just having laff here:) Lighten up will yis:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭corkproducers

Lads do powercity deliver nationwide?

Or more accurately to Cork?

Edit: Just got a call back from them and its 45 euro for the first item, and something like 20 or less for the next.

Any other Irish sites that deliver nationwide?

Looking for a site that sells george foreman grills. And not amazon or ebay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭Do-more

Edit: Just got a call back from them and its 45 euro for the first item, and something like 20 or less for the next.

Don't they have GF Grills in Tescos, why do you need it delivered?

invest4deepvalue.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭steph1

Is there an argos store near you. They do George Foreman grills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭corkproducers

Do-more wrote: »
    Don't they have GF Grills in Tescos, why do you need it delivered?

Not sure, ill check it out!

I dont need it delivered but by getting it delivered to a relative in dublin im saving 20 euro as opposed to buying one in argos down here:
    edit: or 30 if they collect it

http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/0504159/Trail/searchtext%3EGEORGE+FOREMAN.htm

It would be nice to know similar sites anyway for future reference. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

45e aint too bad to be fair. I wonder, though, if us Corkonians went into a currys down here and asked them to pricematch power city?? Tell them that you'll be in dublin son and you could just as easily get a tv from them instead. Theyre bound to give you some incentive to buy from them. I might give that a try. Would much rather buy from a shop than from laptopsdirect.

Could i ask a favour of someone who has that DID catalogue. Could you please post some of the prices for 1080p tvs around the 40" size. If theyre the same as those on the website, then thats ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,166 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

www.appliancesdirect.co.uk deliver to the republic, and usually handily beat those two on pric.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

Zonda999 wrote: »
    Could i ask a favour of someone who has that DID catalogue. Could you please post some of the prices for 1080p tvs around the 40" size. If theyre the same as those on the website, then thats ok

I highly recommend you give richersounds a call, they will sort you out with an excellent TV for far less then did/powercity and these guys really know what they are talking about.

You will get far better service from them then you would ever get from these two, the guys in richersounds really know their AV gear, they are really enthusiastic about it and they run the Philips shop in Dublin, so you have a physical store to go to if you want*. They even have a forum here on boards:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1105

* Note they carry way more gear in their Belfast richersounds store, then just Philips stuff in the store in Dublin, but you can pick your order up or drop stuff off at their Dublin store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

astrofool wrote: »
    www.appliancesdirect.co.uk deliver to the republic, and usually handily beat those two on pric.

Just checked their T&C's and it states the following:

"Delivery is to mainland UK only. Unfortunately we do not make overseas deliveries"

Are they open to cutting a deal on a delivery to our green shores?

bk wrote: »
    I highly recommend you give richersounds a call, they will sort you out with an excellent TV for far less then did/powercity and these guys really know what they are talking about.

You will get far better service from them then you would ever get from these two, the guys in richersounds really know their AV gear, they are really enthusiastic about it and they run the Philips shop in Dublin, so you have a physical store to go to if you want*. They even have a forum here on boards:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1105

* Note they carry way more gear in their Belfast richersounds store, then just Philips stuff in the store in Dublin, but you can pick your order up or drop stuff off at their Dublin store.

Trust me, RS are the best option by far. I fear, though, that they wont be able to ship me the tv i want. Supply problems and what have ye. Wont be buying for a few weeks anyway

I think laptopsdirect.ie are my second option. Some of their deals are quite good. A pain to order through, though

The bricks n mortar stores are my third option. If i was able to get a tv for about say 50e max more than the others , i'd say i'd nearly go with a store. Ye know, just for the piece of mind if anything went wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭gaillimh

I hear a lot of people on here talking about RicherSounds.
    Can anyone tell me - does their store in Belfast have a large range of LCD TVs? If you go onto www.richersounds.ie there is a total of just 14 LCDs listed which is pretty crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭M00lers

Check out the co.uk website and you can order anything you like via the Belfast store. The .ie website is a waste of space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭golfball37

I've spotted a TV that I want on richersounds, how do I go about buying it? Its on the UK website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

Ring them.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

golfball37 wrote: »
    I've spotted a TV that I want on richersounds, how do I go about buying it? Its on the UK website.

Just give them a call on the number listed on their .ie site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭M00lers

Ring the Belfast shop and tell them you're a member of boards.ie and you would like to buy a tv. Check out the richersounds thread in the commercial interaction section. Pick up the phone.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

Not sure, ill check it out!

I dont need it delivered but by getting it delivered to a relative in dublin im saving 20 euro as opposed to buying one in argos down here:
    edit: or 30 if they collect it

http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/0504159/Trail/searchtext%3EGEORGE+FOREMAN.htm

It would be nice to know similar sites anyway for future reference. :)

I'm pretty sure I saw that in my local Dunne's for €60

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 xsre4u2

Curry's matched and then beat the price at Powercity by offering you the item at the same price as Powercity and they will give you a 10% discount on the difference in price between the 2 shops.

bought a sony hd tv a few months ago at Curry's in Liffey Valley retail park. There was a €300 euro diff in price at the time, so they matched the price and gave me €30 off as well. Even knocked the stand price down and received another 10% on that as well. Had to bargain a bit, but got it done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

xsre4u2 wrote: »
    Curry's matched and then beat the price at Powercity by offering you the item at the same price as Powercity and they will give you a 10% discount on the difference in price between the 2 shops.

bought a sony hd tv a few months ago at Curry's in Liffey Valley retail park. There was a €300 euro diff in price at the time, so they matched the price and gave me €30 off as well. Even knocked the stand price down and received another 10% on that as well. Had to bargain a bit, but got it done.

is it still the same craic with regards to price matching? i.e. you have to produce a written quote from the other vendor?

Also, i thought that the same tv could have a slight variation in its model number to restrict price matching aswell, remember someone mentioning this to me before is it still the case?

is it still the same craic with regards to price matching? i.e. you have to produce a written quote from the other vendor?

Also, i thought that the same tv could have a slight variation in its model number to restrict price matching aswell, remember someone mentioning this to me before is it still the case?

Currys still have exclusive tvs(Some Samsungs for example). But, i reckon if you tell them that theyre not fooling anyone, and that you know that such a tv is exactly the same as one in another shop, theyre gonna have to do something. Or else, tell them you're takin you're business elsewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,166 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Just checked their T&C's and it states the following:

"Delivery is to mainland UK only. Unfortunately we do not make overseas deliveries"

Are they open to cutting a deal on a delivery to our green shores?

I ordered a cooker off them about a month ago, and they had no problem (£109 delivery), saved me 50% on the best price here. Unless they've changed the policy since then. I made the order by phone, and they deliver it on a palette.

No. I just gave them the salesmans name at Powercity and they said they would call to verify. When I went back, they said they could not get anyone in powercity to verify price. However the manager, said that there is no use having a sign (Curry's guarantee, etc) displayed if they couldn't match the deal. So I got the match plus 10% discount on difference.
    Exactly the same model number as well.

xsre4u2 wrote: »
    No. I just gave them the salesmans name at Powercity and they said they would call to verify. When I went back, they said they could not get anyone in powercity to verify price. However the manager, said that there is no use having a sign (Curry's guarantee, etc) displayed if they couldn't match the deal. So I got the match plus 10% discount on difference.
    Exactly the same model number as well.

Do ye reckon they could do this in Cork?? We have a currys down here but no DID or power city. I could tell them i'd be in Dublin soon. I might give that a try...

Zonda999 wrote: »
    Do ye reckon they could do this in Cork?? We have a currys down here but no DID or power city. I could tell them i'd be in Dublin soon. I might give that a try...
    No harm in trying. Always depends on the sales person i think.