Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Changes to Garda Training?

• 01-12-2008 12:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭

As a future hopeful applicant myself, I just wanted to get the opinions of serving/former Gardai and those currently in training in Templemore with regards to the training programme and modules taught in the Garda College.

Is there anything you would change? Would you drop certain aspects? Would you add to the training programme?

I'd appreciate any opinions folks!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

ASP's should be provided going out on phase 2. Its dangerous sending us out with nothing. I believe this change is in the pipeline. Also, a driving course should be mandatory as part of training in either phase 1 or phase 3 down in the college.
    Also, there needs to be way more emphasis on fitness. men must complete mile and a half in 11:20 i think. girls get 15:40 as far as i know. This is a complete disgrace, you could walk it at a brisk pace in that time. And still, many girls are failing that time, and still passing out. FARCE. Lets spend less time doing pointless roleplays, or learning german, and more time getting fit, which will be one of the main aspects of our job after all.
    /end rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

I would get rid of all the language classes like French, German and Irish. If anyone wished to do them for extra credits then by all means but do it outside of class hours.

The same should be for the driving school too. No mandatory driving tuition while in the college but if ye wanna drive while on shift ye must have the course done.

I found the roleplays good when I was there but then we were the guinea pigs. Roleplays should be for the legal stuff only say arresting a person or doing a traffic stop. There shouldn't be roleplays for anything else. You will learn other stuff on the job.

I agree with Joker about the fitness levels. Most people will pass the mile and half but some don't. They shouldn't be allowed to progress in the training. I was one of those people but we all knew that even if we did fail the run, we would still go on. Shame really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Agree with the lads. If you want to take a language afterwards or for extra credit then fair enough but theres a lot of things that time could be better spent on.

car course, more on radios (I heard recently that there not even doing the 1 hour class anymore), at least some basics about firearms and more on court.

Lots of people, myself included knew sweet FA about how court actually worked. WE knew names, titles but not the actual proceedure.

Of course when I was there we ran everyday and the mile and a half at least once a week but as said, there were lads that got through despite failing based on various nudges and winks.

The role plays, stuff about domestics and mental issues seem boring and pointless but I have to say I have used that training on more than one occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Good to see ye think learning French etc isn't the best way to use up Trainee's class hours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

eroo wrote: »
    Good to see ye think learning French etc isn't the best way to use up Trainee's class hours!

if a language is absolutely necessary then why not something useful, like polish or chinese, you know the 2 main foreign groups in Ireland at the moment.

Last week before attestation, i can't remember if it was somebody from outside the college or one of our tutors told us that it looks as though students would be attested at the end of Phase I and given limited powers. They would then be on probation for about 18 months (like some of the UK forces). Their powers would increase as they progress through their training.

But obviously we still have to wait for the report to be published before anything is confirmed.

Word has it that the PCT is being done away with as an entry requirement, and they are using the beep test from now on. This is a badly needed change, as pretty much anyone can pass the PCT in the time allowed. There were girls in our phase getting scores of between 2 and 3 in the beep test however,(which is barely more than a walking/light jogging for 3 minutes) with a recommended passmark of 7.8 for girls. And again, they get through as its not a mandatory requirement. It's a bad reflection on the force that these people are out on the street, and im sure they're / we're a laughing stock from the average criminal because of it.

foreign wrote: »
    Last week before attestation, i can't remember if it was somebody from outside the college or one of our tutors told us that it looks as though students would be attested at the end of Phase I and given limited powers. They would then be on probation for about 18 months (like some of the UK forces). Their powers would increase as they progress through their training.

That would make much more sense than the way it is at the minute, with phase 2 students essentially being targets for abuse on the streets as the average criminal/gouger knows we have no powers.

pvt.joker wrote: »
    Word has it that the PCT is being done away with as an entry requirement, and they are using the beep test from now on.QUOTE]

We were told this leaving for Phase II in April, also that we would have to do it for Phase III but this never happened. I believe the KD's only had to do the PCT no beep test, but could be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

ASP's should be provided going out on phase 2. Its dangerous sending us out with nothing.

While i agree that students do face dangers, i disagree with issuing asps to them!
    TheNog wrote: »
    I would get rid of all the language classes like French, German and Irish.

I think that the option of Polish would be a good one to include!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

The languages need to be updated. The French/German thing came about when"Tourist Crime" was a headline. I don't see anyone rushing to teach student gardai about hairdressing at the minute, though!

Agreed with above - award credit for people who want to study a language. I'd keep the Irish though - i'm an old romantic.

Polish, chinese languages etc. should be promoted.

A caraaazeee notion:- why not coach, rather than test, students in phrases with a pocket sized (I don't mean the lads that joined since the height requirement was abolished) guide?

While a good knowledge of law is needed, the noxious weeds act is hardly required to be known verbatim by members? Teach students what they need to know. The probation periods will sort out the wheat from the chaff.

deadwood wrote: »
    the noxious weeds act is hardly required to be known verbatim by members?

or the control of dogs act which i believe we have the pleasure of studying soon :rolleyes:

Don't foget to ask if they have a black and white, or colour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

foreign wrote: »
    I believe the KD's only had to do the PCT no beep test, but could be wrong.

They're up in the K's right now??

/feels old :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

The L's are starting in Feb!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Lads, seriously. 'L's and KD's'? WTF?? C'mon, no Garda speak, PLEASE!!! :D;)

I wouldnt change phase 2, its one of the better parts of our training system. Imagine a phase 2 having a power of arrest? The state would get its ass sued off.

But heres a crazy idea, how about actually doing something real in phase 5? Its 4 weeks begging to be ultilized properly. Sure if management made a decent effort you could train everyone on the car course in that time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Faheywitane

eroo wrote: »
    Lads, seriously. 'L's and KD's'? WTF?? C'mon, no Garda speak, PLEASE!!! :D;)

Phases in the Garda Colege are each given an alphabetical designation.
    For instance Im intake KB meaning that I came in on the
    second{B} intake of 2008{K}. The same way JB's came in on the
    second intake of 2007 while the latset phase in the college, the KD's, are the
    last intake of the 4 intakes for 2008.

Phases in the Garda Colege are each given an alphabetical designation.
    For instance Im intake KB meaning that I came in on the
    second{B} intake of 2008{K}. The same way JB's came in on the
    second intake of 2007 while the latset phase in the college, the KD's, are the
    last intake of the 4 intakes for 2008.

Im beginning to feel old :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Faheywitane

Im beginning to feel old :(

Funny how many people say that to me in the station. :D

I still have all me own teeth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Jay112

Im not long out of nappies :(, makes the older members reflect on their ages!