Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ex is seeing 3 different guys now and back talking to me

• 29-11-2008 10:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭

Hey, just need to vent this I guess and get anyones input coz I dont really wanna brting it up with friends.

My ex and I broke up nearly 3 months ago now after being on again and off again over 2 years. We havnt spoke at all since then (which suiteed me perfectly) except for a few texts back and fort ha month ago about her birthday whereby she invited me and I said no and pretty much told her not to get in contact with me again (whole break up was pretty messy)

Anyway, last week she was at a party and met one of my friends. The first thing she said to him was shes now seeing 3 guys and is very proud of her player status and so on. Then last night I got a drunken text at 2.30am from her asking "how I am, what Im up to and shes just wondering how things are". I texted her back the following morning and she continued to text me for a few hours asking me about anything and everything going on with my life, despite me being very short and abrupt in my replies to the point where I thought I was being very rude. She also mentioned she had spoke to my friend at the party

So Im kinda pissed off a bit now because Im not sure if she was telling my friend shes with 3 guys now to have the message passed onto me to make me jealous or if she was trying to mess with my head or something. And the simple fact she sent me a text in the middle of the night less than a month after I told her I had no interest in knowing her anymore or speaking to her was annoying to say the least. Also, Im kinda worried about her, if it is true shes seeing 3 guys now, because they all dont know shes seeing other guys simultaneously, and she met them online on websites, and shes only 21, theyre all older. Its just something that Im worried could end up with her getting hurt (not just emotionally hurt....).

Anybody have any take on why shes acting like this, Im worried a bit about her because of what the outcome could be. I dont know if I should see whats going on with her or what because Id feel bad if something happened to her, but at the same time Id be happy washing my hands of the whole issue because I dont really have any interest in staying in touch with her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

I guess I missed the part where you said that she is holding a gun to your head and forcing you to reply to her texts...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Flex wrote: »
    I dont really have any interest in staying in touch with her

So don't, delete her number and don't reply to any texts from now on, ever.

She's not your problem, what she does is her own business.

Move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭Flex

So don't, delete her number and don't reply to any texts from now on, ever.

She's not your problem, what she does is her own business.

Move on.

Well, I did delete her number ages ago, but I know it off by heart :rolleyes: lol. As I said Im disappointed more so than anything else hearing how shes acting, but Id still feel very bad if something happened to her given the fact I know what shes doing because I cant believe shes doing what she is. She seems to have gone off the rails. But, as yous said, its not my concern anymore

Just leave her alone and ignore her so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,348 ✭✭✭Rhinocharge

She's playing you. You obviously hurt her & this is how she feels she can hurt you. Your not responsible for her actions. She'll eventually get the message & move on.

Break ups are difficult, but like the rest of us, you'll learn from your experience & move on.

She's playing you. You obviously hurt her & this is how she feels she can hurt you. Your not responsible for her actions. She'll eventually get the message & move on.

Break ups are difficult, but like the rest of us, you'll learn from your experience & move on.

Dont know if I hurt her to be honest, she was the one who instegated the break up and she definitely wanted out of the relationship at the time, and so did I, so the whole thing was fairly mutual and ended on a 'cordial' note I guess ya could say.

Thanks for the input, shall just ignore her so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,348 ✭✭✭Rhinocharge

Dont know if I hurt her to be honest, she was the one who instegated the break up and she definitely wanted out of the relationship at the time, and so did I, so the whole thing was fairly mutual and ended on a 'cordial' note I guess ya could say.

Thanks for the input, shall just ignore her so

I meant by you refusing to go to her birthday, nothing more. Some people take break up's badly. That's not your fault, nor should you be held accountable for someone else's actions.

Ah right, sorry, didt realise that. I had thought that myself, but I dont think it wouldve bothered her that much, but I could easily be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

Anybody have any take on why shes acting like this,

Probably because she is 21.

We don't realise this when we are 21, but we have some amount of growing up still to do and judgements made at that age often make you cringe with embarrassment 10 years later. Ten years on many people would cross the road to avoid the kind of people who seemed like God's gift at 21.

Harsh as it may seem, if she intends to play with fire (assuming she is not in Walter Mitty mode) it is not your problem and any attempt to intervene will (again assuming it is true) be brushed off as 'jealous interference' irrepsective of how far from the truth this might be. She just needs to deal with it come what may.

Frankly, I think the whole relationship thing is bigger for women than men and some girls do have a need to surround themselves with admirers and maintain contact with ex boyfriends as a kind of comfort blanket in order to feel desired. This may be what she's at if it is not some misguided attempt to rekindle your romance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Rosita wrote: »
    Probably because she is 21

A boy of 21 won't change a fraction as much in 10 years as a girl of 21 will. I generally fear girls under 23/24:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bnagrrl

She's a big girl, she can look after herself and make her own decisions.
    She could be just making it all up anyway, to see what your reaction would be, to see if you got jealous or something. The fact she told your friend, knowing he would probably tell you just screams of that, in my opinion.
    Delete her number and resist all temptation to reply to her texts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭workaccount

cantdecide wrote: »

A boy of 21 won't change a fraction as much in 10 years as a girl of 21 will. I generally fear girls under 23/24:p

I've never heard this before. I thought girls mature faster than lads or is that up to a certain age?

Are you saying girls will grow up more between 21 and 31 than a lad in the same period because lads have a certain level than takes a girl longer to reach?