Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scene of evidence dept and fingerprinting

• 28-11-2008 7:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭

Hi all, first of all I'm not looking for confidental procedures or anything, just a general question

Scooter got vandalized last week by the local kids so went to the local station to make a report.
    Got given out to for touching the scooter as they wanted to check for fingerprints. It's been vandalized twice before but another station just took a report, they never did anything or inspected the bike.

Anyway, got a lift back to the house in the squad car :cool:
    We found a part of the scooter thrown over a wall so it's away to "scence of evidence" team

My question is what happens now?
    Would every district has a lab/workshop? And do they have a database of everyone in Ireland they run a check against?
    I was a given a PULSE reference and I have to wait a week to get it back
    Is it as cool as CSI on TV? :)

Also, I strongly suspect a group of kids, aged under 14 so I'm not sure are records of fingerprints kept for minors...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

The part is sent to the forensic science laboratoryl fingerprints section. Based in Garda hq in phoenix park.

Only the fingerprints of convicted criminals or those who had their fingerprints taken while in custody are matched against any found on your bike.

If they get a match they will arrest yer man and quesiton him as to how his prints got on your bike, gards will prepare a file with all evidence in it and send it to dpp who will decide if yer man is summonsed.

Up to a judge to find him guilty or not depending on the evidence put forward to him along with yer mans defence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

We would have every person in Irelands fingerprints if we had same statute as USA, but unfortunately we don't, Very unlikely that anyone under the age of 14 will have a set of prints on file. All DNA evidence is somewhat hampered when item is left out in the elements such as rain, cold, wind, frost etc, hence why you see bodies, cars covered over with tents etc. Give the PULSE reference number to your insurance company when they ask for police report number. The golden rule is that you should not touch evidence as you end up contaminating it and as such will destroy evidence.
    If you were the victim of a murder then you would get the CSI treatment, but i very much doubt you will for a damaged scooter.

micmclo wrote: »
    so it's away to "scence of evidence" team

Its called the Scenes of Crime Unit that go to Burglaries, Criminal Damage etc and its the Garda Technical Bureau that go to Murders and also test the various prints that are sent in by the Scenes of Crime units from around the country. The Garda Technical Bureau is also broken up into other various sections that deal with various types of DNA and other types of evidence such as Ballistics etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

The SOC officer will dust it for prints but if it was found on the street then who knows whats on it or how many people touched it. Most of the time its pointless because as said, no national database and prints can only be lifted under certain circumstances and from certain items.

Sounds like the officer investigating is just taking shot in the dark on the off chance of getting lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

I've seen some officers wearing fleeces with Divisional Crime Scene Investigation on the back. Would these be the SOC's?

donvito99 wrote: »
    I've seen some officers wearing fleeces with Divisional Crime Scene Investigation on the back. Would these be the SOC's?
    Ya thats SOC. Lads from tech bureau have Garda Technical Bureau on the back of their Fleeces/Jackets. However Tech Bureau are armed when in plain clothes, SOC aren't