Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nitelinks...bleh

• 28-11-2008 12:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭

I always thought that nitelinks were as follows

Mon-Wed - 12:30 & 2:00

Thurs-Sat - every 30 mins from 12:30 - 4:30

I'm almost positive I got nitelinks on a Thursday recently at 3:00 in the morning. Anyway, last night I left a party, bought my ticket and got to the stop at 12:50 to find noone there and more importantly, no buses. I had to get a taxi (25e) which added to my bus ticket, meant it cost me 30 quid to get home :(

Am I going crazy or did there used to be a better service on Thursdays ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,316 ✭✭✭KC61

Tusky wrote: »
    I always thought that nitelinks were as follows

Mon-Wed - 12:30 & 2:00

Thurs-Sat - every 30 mins from 12:30 - 4:30

I'm almost positive I got nitelinks on a Thursday recently at 3:00 in the morning. Anyway, last night I left a party, bought my ticket and got to the stop at 12:50 to find noone there and more importantly, no buses. I had to get a taxi (25e) which added to my bus ticket, meant it cost me 30 quid to get home :(

Am I going crazy or did there used to be a better service on Thursdays ?

The Thursday service was cut back over two years ago if not before, due to lack of numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

KC61 wrote: »
    The Thursday service was cut back over two years ago if not before, due to lack of numbers.

Are you sure ? I'm sure I was on one not too long ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

I found out the hard way that my nitelink is only fri&sat.
    and this was a few months ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Some of them don't run on thursdays at all.

http://www.dublinbus.ie/your_journey/nitelink.asp

Monday to Thursday: 0030 and 0200 hours

Friday / Saturday: First bus 0030 hours then buses every 30 minutes or more frequently if demand dictates until last bus at 0430 hours.

Sunday: No service

Fare: €5.00

Operative Date: 25th February 2008

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

KNow what? When I was your age we had to walk home. No kidding. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,188 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Most of the ones that don't run on Monday/Tuesday/Wednesday/Thursday merge with another that does. For instance, the 67N runs, but the 66N and 25N don't - meaning the 67N enters Lucan, runs through Leixlip to Maynooth and back to Cebridge. Off the top of my head I don't know of any route that doesn't run at all without a fallback route-merge any night - except Sundays obviously.

Are you sure ? I'm sure I was on one not too long ago.

Well it was at the latest last January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I spoke to a controller last weekend and he says the whole Nitelink operation is up for review in the new year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Victor wrote: »
    I spoke to a controller last weekend and he says the whole Nitelink operation is up for review in the new year.

Would they be downscaling it ? That would be terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

MYOB wrote: »
    Most of the ones that don't run on Monday/Tuesday/Wednesday/Thursday merge with another that does. For instance, the 67N runs, but the 66N and 25N don't - meaning the 67N enters Lucan, runs through Leixlip to Maynooth and back to Cebridge. Off the top of my head I don't know of any route that doesn't run at all without a fallback route-merge any night - except Sundays obviously.

Ha, ye I remember when I expereinced this the first time shortly after it changed, didn't know where we were going. There must be 50 roundabouts in Lucan:D

Ye, that would be a loss, but CIE is losing money, so I reckon they may increase fares. I don't think Nitelinks would be very profitable as it stands. Anyone know for sure?

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

The argument has been made that the flood of taxis on the streets has eaten into nitelink business. With money being tight and taxis priced out of many a reach, I think the nitelink service should stick with it and re-evaluate during 09. We have a tendency in this country to take decisions based on the recent past, devoid of present realities and developing trends. Think Transport 21. I believe economics can make nitelink viable again. Taxis will be hit first. Lets hope DB have the cop on to sit this out and the DOT have the foresight to finally take the plunge on later public transport provision as a norm. Extend all DB and IE commuter services by a mere 1 hour and so much could change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,188 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I could see the outer routes fare returning to its previous levels, or going higher - it was taken down from €6 to €5 recently enough for some reason. They may also be thinking of cutting the last buses on the inner routes due to the unified earlier kickout time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I could see the outer routes fare returning to its previous levels, or going higher - it was taken down from €6 to €5 recently enough for some reason. They may also be thinking of cutting the last buses on the inner routes due to the unified earlier kickout time?

Might actually make some sence with late drinking dens like the Viper Room a thing of the past....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Thats what I was about the say.I get the 67n home during the week if I'm brave enough to face the next morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭Ham'nd'egger

DWCommuter wrote: »
    Extend all DB and IE commuter services by a mere 1 hour and so much could change.

Both Irish Rail and Dublin Bus have had agreement with staff and unions on later services for years now; pre dating even the LUAS late services. As usual, the DoT has fudged the issue and has not given the Okay for these services to come into play to the detriment of passenger, staff and company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Ha I hate the 67N it feels like you're never getting home because Lucan goes on forever. Though I always get scared when the 66N goes up the hill before remembering it goes back down again.

They should alter the midweek Nitelinks to half 12 and 3. 2 is too early, 3 is perfect and they wouldn't even have to add any extra ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,331 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Ha I hate the 67N it feels like you're never getting home because Lucan goes on forever. Though I always get scared when the 66N goes up the hill before remembering it goes back down again.

They should alter the midweek Nitelinks to half 12 and 3. 2 is too early, 3 is perfect and they wouldn't even have to add any extra ones.

they'd have to pay the drivers more to work later though. The pubs close at midnight during the week and most of the clubs aren't open - there's no way they're going to put on later Nitelinks.

Scheduled services should run to 0030 every night, maybe the Nitelinks only need to run on the weekends - plenty of taxis around during the week.

Having nitelinks at 0030 and 0300 would mean that drivers would be sitting around for an hour doing nothing, thus costing more money while not gaining any extra revenue.

Buses at 0030 and 0200 mean that the drivers do 2 journeys without a break.

Perhaps regular buses to 0030, and Nitelinks at 0130 and 0300?

Victor wrote: »
    See underlined bit. Confirmation expected in the middle of the week.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/dublin-bus-cuts-290-and-slashes-services-1605207.html
    Dublin Bus cuts 290 and slashes services
    By Anne-Marie Walsh Industry correspondent

Saturday January 17 2009

DUBLIN Bus is axing 290 jobs, scrapping the weekday Nitelink service and removing 1,000 scheduled journeys from its timetable.

Commuters face far more infrequent services after the company yesterday unveiled proposals to take 120 buses from eight garages from March 1, as part of a radical cost-cutting plan approved by Transport Minister Noel Dempsey.

Opposition parties attacked the Government and singled out the Green Party for criticism following the announcement.

They said it had "abandoned" its core principles and supporting the "decimation" of crucial public transport services.

But Communications Minister Eamon Ryan, speaking on Newstalk, warned Dublin Bus that the Government may intervene over the company's plans to cut jobs.

Figures seen by the Irish Independent reveal that the main losses will be at Harristown, where 30 buses are being dropped.

And 40 buses will be dropped in total between the two Donnybrook garages, with 23 buses cut at the Phibsboro garage.

Twelve buses are being cut at Conyngham Road, eight at Ringsend, six at Clontarf and one at Summerhill garage.

The Nitelink service will be cancelled from Monday to Thursday and final departures on Friday and Saturday nights will be at 3am instead of 4.30am.

Changes to the late-night service will be implemented at an earlier date than the other cutbacks, from February 2.

CIE has signalled there could be more cutbacks on the way.

Its 'Cost Effectiveness Plan', presented to staff yesterday revealed "additional corrective action" may be required.

SIPTU general president Jack O'Connor said the plan was "directly contrary to the Government's objective of taking private cars off the roads and easing congestion in the city".

But Dublin Bus claimed its strategy of reducing the bus fleet by 10pc "will have as little impact as possible on the majority of our customers".

The company said losses were also due to a drop in passenger numbers, and increased costs "particularly in the areas of wages, loss of fuel rebate and restrictions in subvention".

There were angry exchanges between Dublin Bus and its workers at a fraught meeting at the Gresham Hotel yesterday morning and some workers walked out in protest as it ended.

Management told staff that a €31m reduction in costs was "urgently required" after it suffered €10m losses last year and projected €31m losses this year.

There will be a reduction of 290 staff across all grades, including 160 temporary drivers, executive, clerical, operations and maintenance staff.

It also revealed plans to defer payment of the national wage agreement and wants agreement with trade unions on all the measures by March 1.

However, it accepted it would review the situation on the pay pause next December.

SIPTU branch organiser Pat Ward said there was "a lot of emotion among the workers".

"In no circumstances will we accept a compulsory redundancy situation. Job losses are unprecedented at Dublin Bus."

SIPTU worker director Bill McCamley said workers were "disgusted".

Labour spokesman on transport Tommy Broughan described the "massive cutbacks" as a "devastating blow for commuters". He accused the Green Party of an "appalling surrender" and abandonment of their core principles by supporting the "decimation" of critical public transport services.

He blamed the government for abolishing the public transport fuel rebate last year although CIE indicated the loss of this rebate would add millions to costs.

- Anne-Marie Walsh Industry correspondent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

A genuis move which will now see those with some money going out less during the week thereby costing more jobs. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

The need to, poor taxi drivers need the business. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭dsane1

The need to, poor taxi drivers need the business. :pac:

Its an ill wind that dose'nt blow someone a bit of good !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

loyatemu wrote: »
    they'd have to pay the drivers more to work later though. The pubs close at midnight during the week and most of the clubs aren't open - there's no way they're going to put on later Nitelinks.

Scheduled services should run to 0030 every night, maybe the Nitelinks only need to run on the weekends - plenty of taxis around during the week.

Well clubs will defo not open on the weekdays now...

I work shift work so most of the time my days off aren't on the weekend. Getting a taxi home will cost me 25-30 euro.:mad: I just won't be able to go out. I can't afford the extra cost of a taxi home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

I was playing squash today with a guy who works in a junior management position with Dublin Bus. He told me that all the drivers who have been employed since last March will be let go. That the Nitelink wasn't even profitable during the Christmas season and that lots of early morning services will be cut because the numbers using them have fallen drastically. He reckoned that about 200,000 Eastern Europeans have left and it has badly affected the early morning services.

When is the revised new 2009 DB timetable due out?

DB only issue a timetable book periodically, which is merely a consolidation of all the individual timetables.

They alter/review individual timetables on a continuous basis (not all at once), as the amount of alterations to the current book will testify.

I would imagine no book will issue until after the programme of cutbacks are implemented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Tazz T

It's beyond me how a company can be so inept as to lose money on taking people home at night for a charge €5 of per person in a capital city, when its only competition is a taxi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,616 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Tazz T wrote: »
    It's beyond me how a company can be so inept as to lose money on taking people home at night for a charge €5 of per person in a capital city, when its only competition is a taxi.

€5 per person sounds a lot but isn't it effectively only €2.50 per person because the bus also has to make the return trip into town empty?
    Also quite a % of people on my route (20% I reckoned last time I used it) are using a commuter ticket and thus getting a 'free' Nitelink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭dowlingm

€5 per person sounds a lot but isn't it effectively only €2.50 per person because the bus also has to make the return trip into town empty?
    Not if Nitelink buses originated in the city centre and made a one-way trip to depots outside the city, and being started from there the following morning. Too sensible, obviously...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

dowlingm wrote: »
    Not if Nitelink buses originated in the city centre and made a one-way trip to depots outside the city, and being started from there the following morning. Too sensible, obviously...

Yeah, 'cos every suburb has its own bus depot. Seriously though, if they just ran a skeleton service of the major normal routes at the normal fare (say 1 bus every 90 minutes after 12AM), they'd probably do more business. As it is, if there's more than 1 of you heading home (which is almost always the case), getting a taxi is by far the best option. The only time I get a nitelink now is if I've been out with people from a different part of the city. Even then, if I'm too far away from the terminus, I won't bother. This would also help avoid the anti-social mobs congregating around Westmoreland St and College St.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

nipplenuts wrote: »
    KNow what? When I was your age we had to walk home. No kidding. :eek:

61801033uj3.jpg
    w400.png

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,073 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

latenia wrote: »
    Yeah, 'cos every suburb has its own bus depot. Seriously though, if they just ran a skeleton service of the major normal routes at the normal fare (say 1 bus every 90 minutes after 12AM), they'd probably do more business. As it is, if there's more than 1 of you heading home (which is almost always the case), getting a taxi is by far the best option. The only time I get a nitelink now is if I've been out with people from a different part of the city. Even then, if I'm too far away from the terminus, I won't bother. This would also help avoid the anti-social mobs congregating around Westmoreland St and College St.

That's grand for people living near to the city centre, however, when the difference between a taxi and a Nitelink is the guts of €25-30 (as it will be for most in what used to be called the outer suburbia (ie Lucan, Leixlip, Bray, Balbriggan or the like) then the Nitelink made very good economic sense if there were any less than three or four of you together (and even if there are, on nights out people can get seperated and end up going home serperately). The loss of the Nitelinks will hurt these people a lot.

On the plus side, the local publicans and nightclubs will probably do better business as people shy away from heading into town...

dowlingm wrote: »

I'm confused. Surely each bus/driver currently does more than 1 trip a night so if they did it as you described you would need extra buses/drivers for each route (whilst making a lesser saving on empty buses driving back to city centre).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

I'm confused. Surely each bus/driver currently does more than 1 trip a night so if they did it as you described you would need extra buses/drivers for each route (whilst making a lesser saving on empty buses driving back to city centre).

Or they could just stop at certain stops on the way back in to the city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭Síle28

I heard last week a young girl was assaulted on a Nitelink back to Balbriggan, don't know exactly what happened but they aren't the safest method of transport, especially for girls travelling alone... the Nightrider from Bus Éireann are much better if you have one on your route.

Síle28 wrote: »
    I heard last week a young girl was assaulted on a Nitelink back to Balbriggan, don't know exactly what happened but they aren't the safest method of transport, especially for girls travelling alone... the Nightrider from Bus Éireann are much better if you have one on your route.
    All Nightlink busses have 7 internal CCTV cams. Im sure CIE have a record of this, Those vulnerable should try and get seating in direct view of these cams or get seating downstairs close to the driver.

MOH wrote: »
    Or they could just stop at certain stops on the way back in to the city.

Not a huge lot of demand I wouldn't have thought, maybe on a couple of routes. Can't see it making much difference to the bottom line.
    -Phuqer- wrote: »
    Well it's hardly getting the Nitelinke for free as you're paying the guts of a grand for the annual pass.
    Hence I put 'free' in quotes. I suspect when they add up the cost/return of the Nitelink service that they don't apportion any of the €1K income for the annual ticket to the Nitelink, therefore the Nitelink figures probably look a lot worse overall.

Tazz T wrote: »
    Quite a few Nitelinks that I've been on recently have only had 3-5 people on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Great, I relied heavily on the Wednesday/Thursday Nitelinks. Cutting the last Nitelink to 3 on a Friday/Saturday means you can't even get food after closing time unless you leg it. Harsh. I would have suggested cutting the 46A and the 10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Each 7N is pretty packed on thursday, friday and saturday nights. At €5 a pop i dont see how this route is unprofitable. Are they just going to blindly reduce all nitelinks or on a route by route basis?

While the later Nitelinks tend to have good numbers, the buses at 0030, 0100, 0130, and 0200 tend to have lighter loads and often less than 10 people on board.

Each Nitelink bus does roughly 3 return journeys, so the idea of doing one working and then going to the depot does not arise.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

-Phuqer- wrote: »

Nitelinks
    • Monday-Thursday service stopped from Feb 2nd
    • Departures on Friday and Saturday will finish at 3am instead of 4:30am from Feb 2nd also

I think I actually agree with this. If people cant afford to go out then there is no need for these but maybe have some limited serives because people will still go out. Maybe a last bus at 12:30