Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

best way to modify an evo7

• 28-11-2008 12:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭

hey.

Just wondering does any1 know what or where would i go to mod my evo 7.I bought it completely standard. Iv been readin up on mods and a turbo timer is recommended to extend the turbos life. Where could i get one and where or who would fit it for me. Id like it professionally done.

Also a dump valve of some sort. I think this would help the turbo2.

Any1 any ideas for me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

buy the MR bodykit, hks universal waste gate, straight threw exhuast, filter and then maybe work on making her lighter ?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,546 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

right the first thing you need to decide on is what power you want from the car. standard is approx 300 bhp so thats your starting point, as the mods you do now will have an impact on future mods so to speak.

lets just say you would be happy with 350-360 bhp then you dont need to change internals or anything.

although the evo 7 is supposed to be one of the weakest out there, seemly there was an engine internal change halfway through the build so some have weak pistons, and some dont.

we will start weith basic mods to get you to 350-360 bhp easily, but if you want to go further, you need to talk to a professional so you start with mods that will compliment the future, ie no point spending 800 euro on an exhaust now, then having to upgrade to a bigger system in a year etc etc

1 - get your turbo timer, it will increase your turbos life as in letting the oil circulating the turbo leave it before cooling down and going hard, although you can do this yourself by staying off boost for the last 10 mins on the way home.

2 - get a boost controller, not just to up the boost but to keep an eye on it so you know that your not over boosting, which is the main problem.

3 - full exhaust system, including turbo elbow, down pipe, decat, and cat back. 3 inch system witll future proof the car but can be very loud, a good balance imo is some HKS systems which are 3.5-2.75 inch with some baffles in there to damping the noise.

4 - good induction system, best bet is to pick an induction kit but make sure it fits correctly to the front of the engine bay to attract the coler air if possible.

5 - REMAP, REMAP, REMAP to make sure your not running lean, and to set the car up to run safely on 95 ron or maxol E5, whatever you want basically.

6 - i would recommend getting in touch with Ai Autosport in Belfast. 2 hour drive but well worth it, he is the best evo specialist in the country by a country mile imo

http://www.aiautosport.co.uk/findus.html

http://www.lancerregister.com/

http://www.irishmoc.org/phpBB2/index.php

http://www.dtdirl.com/forums/index.php

best of luck mate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn!

kceire wrote: »
    right the first thing you need to decide on is what power you want from the car. standard is approx 300 bhp so thats your starting point, as the mods you do now will have an impact on future mods so to speak.

lets just say you would be happy with 350-360 bhp then you dont need to change internals or anything.

although the evo 7 is supposed to be one of the weakest out there, seemly there was an engine internal change halfway through the build so some have weak pistons, and some dont.

we will start weith basic mods to get you to 350-360 bhp easily, but if you want to go further, you need to talk to a professional so you start with mods that will compliment the future, ie no point spending 800 euro on an exhaust now, then having to upgrade to a bigger system in a year etc etc

1 - get your turbo timer, it will increase your turbos life as in letting the oil circulating the turbo leave it before cooling down and going hard, although you can do this yourself by staying off boost for the last 10 mins on the way home.

2 - get a boost controller, not just to up the boost but to keep an eye on it so you know that your not over boosting, which is the main problem.

3 - full exhaust system, including turbo elbow, down pipe, decat, and cat back. 3 inch system witll future proof the car but can be very loud, a good balance imo is some HKS systems which are 3.5-2.75 inch with some baffles in there to damping the noise.

4 - good induction system, best bet is to pick an induction kit but make sure it fits correctly to the front of the engine bay to attract the coler air if possible.

5 - REMAP, REMAP, REMAP to make sure your not running lean, and to set the car up to run safely on 95 ron or maxol E5, whatever you want basically.

6 - i would recommend getting in touch with Ai Autosport in Belfast. 2 hour drive but well worth it, he is the best evo specialist in the country by a country mile imo

best of luck mate

Very very sensible advise above. +1

ps we dont believe you have an evo 7 until you shows up pics!!! :D
    get it cleaned and post up pics over the weekend man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Duff

best of luck mate

Couldn't have said it better myself! Yet more sound advice from a DTD head.:D

Duff wrote: »
    Couldn't have said it better myself! Yet more sound advice from a DTD head.:D

LOL trying to spread the bug!
    i just hope he listens, shame to see a good car go to waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭jackblack99

I didnt realise that these were one of the weaker evos out there.

Thanks for the advice kceire. You seem to know your stuff about this car.

With regards to putting up pics of it I was told not to do this by a mod for a couple of reasons 1 was because some people have slow connections and it fu*ks with there page when it loads up.

I didnt realise that these were one of the weaker evos out there.

Thanks for the advice kceire. You seem to know your stuff about this car.

With regards to putting up pics of it I was told not to do this by a mod for a couple of reasons 1 was because some people have slow connections and it fu*ks with there page when it loads up.

just put up one pic, it wont slow down anybody with that!
    sure theres loads of pics in the motors section!!!

no probs with the advice mate, keep us informed on how you get on.

well need to start saving first m8. might sell it either. Just wondering if i was to modify it ya no

nice, very nice! :D

I still cant come too terms that its one of the weakest evos.

its really buggin me that comment:mad::mad:

Im giving out about you like, just cant believe i bought the worst evo coz i think its fantastic.

Iv never drove a diff evo so cant compare.

Im giving out about you like, just cant believe i bought the worst evo coz i think its fantastic.

Just because some have had weak pistons doesnt mean yours will. It could be the strongest stock one produced for all you know! If you like it thats all that matters! Its a stunning car btw, looks really mean in black!

how would you know if the pistons were weak in your car. would it dramatically effected the performance or does it just mean the performance is not affected just that your more likely to encounter engine problems. What would be the long term solution:confused::confused:

You could do a compression check, you would definatly feel a loss in peformance. Maybe take it to a Mitsubishi garage for peace of mind. A long term solution would be new/forged pistons etc..

Duff wrote: »
    You could do a compression check, you would definatly feel a loss in peformance. Maybe take it to a Mitsubishi garage for peace of mind. A long term solution would be new/forged pistons etc..

Sounds like id be getting into serious stuff with that. Prob cost a bomb to get that done would it????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭jmck87

If its not broke...dont fix it.

You shouldnt run into any problems if you stay sub 360bhp.

And cant see a compression test showing up much...they couldnt be that weak...

giving out about me after the advice i gave you ha ha :D

it should be grand, its just a know thing in evo world, i wouldnt be too concerned about it as my next evo will more than likely be a 7 too.

as i said, make you have it mapped for irish petrol, even if you dont mod it at all get it "ecutek" mapped to ensure its running perfect on 95 ron or whatever fuel your using.

giving out about me after the advice i gave you ha ha :Dquote]

No No sorry bout that i ment to say im not givin out about you sorry, my bad. Is there must diff to what fuel i remap it for.

Why should i choose 95 ron over maxol E5 im not very much into the technical stuff i know, I just like driving it:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭pmcf

Lovely looking evo mate and as jmck87 says i wouldnt worry to much about the weak engine unless your thinking of running big bhp

giving out about me after the advice i gave you ha ha :Dquote]

No No sorry bout that i ment to say im not givin out about you sorry, my bad. Is there must diff to what fuel i remap it for.

Why should i choose 95 ron over maxol E5 im not very much into the technical stuff i know, I just like driving it:D:D:D

i know mate, just having a laugh too :p

no reason at all, just depends on what you can get your hands on easily.
    ie no point mapping for E5 if the nearest maxol station is a 30 min round trip if you know what i mean, you'll end up saying feck it, i'll top up with 95 for just today!

i had my V mapped for 95 as there was no E5 around when i got mine done, but i would get it mapped for E5 myself if i was doing it again. i wouldnt get sucked into the booster malarky, dont have any belief in them imo.

i'd say you will want to mod it soon enough, its like a bug.

induction 150 euro
    exhaust 800 euro approx
    walbro 255l/h fuel pump 150 euro
    upgraded plugs to take the increased boost 100 euro
    ecutek remap of existing ecu with Ai Autosport 750 euro approx

total = approx 2k and 1.5-1.6 bar of dafe boost and 360 bhp and roughly the same torques and believe me, a totally different animal!! :eek:

ps all of the above can be bought and fitted by Ai and im sure you would get a decent discount.

pss im sorry to waffle on about Ai, but they are genuinely the only guys i would allow to mess around with my evo.

general serviceing i have no probs with the likes of the tuning factory doing, or other things with CDA, but anything major, Ai it is.

best of luck mate

dont you have to relocate the battery for the induction kits to fit.... i belive i heard that but being a evo fan who never got the pleasure of mending one i wouldnt know..

S.I.R wrote: »
    dont you have to relocate the battery for the induction kits to fit.... i belive i heard that but being a evo fan who never got the pleasure of mending one i wouldnt know..

Ye i heard bout this before. Id have to get a relocation kit which usually has the intake behind the head light. I quite possibly could be wrong here though

S.I.R wrote: »

only on the evo 1-6 you have to get a relocation kit, from the 7 onwards the filter is already at the front of the engine bay, behind the headlight.

as per this pic http://www.barryelysportscars.co.uk/images/EVO%20Engine.JPG

on my V, i had to get the relocation kit.

only on the evo 1-6 you have to get a relocation kit, from the 7 onwards the filter is already at the front of the engine bay, behind the headlight.

as per this pic http://www.barryelysportscars.co.uk/images/EVO%20Engine.JPG

on my V, i had to get the relocation kit.

weheey im halfway right...

djmurt911 wrote: »
    Hi Pal Ive a evo 7.im not sure if im gettin used to the speed or not but its seem to get low power etc.. Like sluggy if u understand me..

can u tell me What will it do if i got the E.C.U looked at?? Will that do much..
    Ive got dump val etc but that dont do much for BHP in fact it dont do anything.. BHP Stander in car is 276.. im looking to bring it up to 350-360 but im on low budget.. whats best without buyin a loud pipe etc im not into them.

Go to the owners club
    http://www.lancerregister.com

I cant recommend specialist owners clubs enough. There is nothing better than being able to pick someone's brain who has done it all before and found the pitfalls.

I cant give you a definite answer but I bet they can.
    They will also be a good source for second hand parts advise.
    Second hand go faster bits may save your budget as long as you know what to expect power wise.

Also don't forget we have E85 in Ireland which is as close to a 1960s race fuel as you can get with a government tax break. If its available in your area id seriously consider it as it is ideal for turbo motors. Will more than likely require larger injectors and a full remap(not just a power run).

Hi Pal Ive a evo 7.im not sure if im gettin used to the speed or not but its seem to get low power etc.. Like sluggy if u understand me..

can u tell me What will it do if i got the E.C.U looked at?? Will that do much..
    Ive got dump val etc but that dont do much for BHP in fact it dont do anything.. BHP Stander in car is 276.. im looking to bring it up to 350-360 but im on low budget.. whats best without buyin a loud pipe etc im not into them.

read my first post in this thread mate.

Go to the owners club
    http://www.lancerregister.com

I cant recommend specialist owners clubs enough. There is nothing better than being able to pick someone's brain who has done it all before and found the pitfalls.

I cant give you a definite answer but I bet they can.
    They will also be a good source for second hand parts advise.
    Second hand go faster bits may save your budget as long as you know what to expect power wise.

Also don't forget we have E85 in Ireland which is as close to a 1960s race fuel as you can get with a government tax break. If its available in your area id seriously consider it as it is ideal for turbo motors. Will more than likely require larger injectors and a full remap(not just a power run).

evos will have to be converted to use E85 fuel, just like 99% of cars on the roads, but im sure your talking about maxol's E5;)

dont want an evo owner filling up with E85 anytime soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭pmcf

check out http://www.irishmoc.org great guys and you get all the advice you need also some good bargain parts that where i get all my parts from hope it helps lad

evos will have to be converted to use E85 fuel, just like 99% of cars on the roads, but im sure your talking about maxol's E5;)

dont want an evo owner filling up with E85 anytime soon.

Needs a complete remap but E85 will work fine. Without a remap and youll be rebuilding an engine.

do not put e85 in and drive the car without a remap! your car will die!

E85 is getting very popular with 200sx owners due to its knock resistance and colder burning among other advantages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭jagged

best of luck mate

Without a doubt the best advice you will recieve.....
    And if you do exactly what he says you will turn your car inside out..
    Your rods and pistons should be fine at that power...
    Im sure Ai wont put you wrong

Hello im new to this boards thing nso im not sure how to do reply but hope this works lol..
    Ive a Evo 7 Nice car But i was on N7 last weekend and was late at nite so i said ill put foot down BUT then Something Stop my Power when i hit A little over the 180Kh it would not let me go any faster :eek::eek: and i still had more head room on RpM and still had 5th gear to hit. I called my mate to tell him what happen and he said they come into ireland Restricked. He said as far as he knows its only a wire to cut and it takes it off!! Can anyone help me on this?? Thanks.

you.ve hit the 180kmph limiter.
    you have a few options to remove it.

you obsiously (sp) havent got the car remapped, as the remap will remove the restriction, so i would strongly advice you to get an ecutek remap from Ai Autosport. this will map the car safe for irish fuel.

have you got any mods on the car? ie exhaust, induction etc etc?

NO Notting like that because ive a young kid and dont want a loud pipe or anything like that. But would love to because i was told that ya get more BHP/ Tork be sweet.
    Just want to see how i could take off that limit its kinda silly because a nissan or a fiat can go faster well not as quick getting to the speed of the evo but over all wit evo being held back silly..

So its not a D.I.Y Job of cuttin a wire? Ive to get it map?? Thanks 4 the reply.

i would still recommend a remap to make sure the knock/detonation is ok on our fuel! if you dont you will learn the hard/expensive way!

when i had my evo 5 completely standard, i got it remapped while i was saving for the mods, that way you know your running safe and you can still get a bit of power out of it using standard parts.

then if you do ever mod it, its just a matter of getting your remap tweeked to adjust it for the mods done, only costing about 100 quid!

and with the sterling the way it is now, you should get your ecutek done initially for about 550-600 euro iirc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭BobTheBeat

Theres another option in terms of a remap, which is an ECUFlash, and is slightly cheaper than ECUTek.

I have had my 8 down with CW performance in Wexford, and these guys are the doggs danglies when it comes to evo's in southern Ireland. I cant recommend them enough. Check them out here.

AI in the north or CW in wexford, whatever's handiest for you really. Both highly recommend companies.

bobmeaney wrote: »
    Theres another option in terms of a remap, which is an ECUFlash, and is slightly cheaper than ECUTek.

I have had my 8 down with CW performance in Wexford, and these guys are the doggs danglies when it comes to evo's in southern Ireland. I cant recommend them enough. Check them out here.

AI in the north or CW in wexford, whatever's handiest for you really. Both highly recommend companies.

is one of the owners there todd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭BobTheBeat

is one of the owners there todd?

Yep, the main man himself ;)

bobmeaney wrote: »
    Yep, the main man himself ;)

cool, yeah then i would highly recommend CW performance in Wexford.
    i know todd through the MLR and DTD, i knew he done alot of work on evos but didnt realise he set up a proper company!

OP, whatever is the handy option, i would have no hesitation with either CW or Ai.