Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Two pretty random questions/scenarios

• 28-11-2008 10:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭

I'll start with the most recent one. Driving towards Dublin on the M1 during the week, road is pretty quiet, I'm doing 120 on the left hand lane, nothing really in front of me or behind me. I see a car rapidly approaching in my rear view mirror in the overtaking lane. Mention to my passenger "He's in a fierce hurry". Guy overtakes me, he must be doing somewhere in the region of 180 - I don't think I've ever seen anyone driving that fast before. He went by so fast I couldn't really make out any details, but from the glimpse I got, he had his hazards on and was randomly flicking his lights as well. No signs of blue lights. Myself and my passenger were both a bit gobsmacked and started guessing what was wrong - we decided woman going into labour, or child who'd stopped breathing. If that was the case, and if there'd been a garda on a speed checkpoint ahead, what would they do in that situation? Accompany them the rest of the way to hospital? Take the patient in the squad car themselves?

Second question from a million years ago. Not long after passing my test, was driving about 30 miles to home around 3am. Hadn't been drinking, was driving normally. An unmarked car was on the side of the road in a real country area (closest house at that point would be over a mile away), and two guys in yellow "Garda" jackets stepped out and pulled me in. The very first thing they did was one asked me to step out, while the other went to the passenger door and tried it. I had all the doors locked, and on that refused to get out of the car until they'd given me ID (this was in the days before mobile phones). They said they needed to breathalyse me, and I had to step out of the car, but wouldn't show me ID. I said to pass it through the window and I'd do it in the car and give it back to them. They were very aggressive and were swearing at me to get out of the car. The closest garda station was about 5 miles away, but it was a kind of 9-5 place. The closest one I knew that was open 24 hours was about 15 miles away. I offered to drive to the one 15 miles away with them either in front of me or behind me, driving at whatever speed they told me to, and I'd get out of the car at the station. After about 10 minutes of this (still hadn't shown me ID), I said I'm going now, and edged the car back onto the road slowly, then took off. When I got home I rang the garda station, they didn't say much, just took my details. Never heard anything about the whole matter again. Should the gardai have shown ID? Were they likely to be real police with just a bad manner, or two weirdos who'd got hold of the jackets? What should I have done in the situation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Thoie wrote: »
    I'll start with the most recent one. Driving towards Dublin on the M1 during the week, road is pretty quiet, I'm doing 120 on the left hand lane, nothing really in front of me or behind me. I see a car rapidly approaching in my rear view mirror in the overtaking lane. Mention to my passenger "He's in a fierce hurry". Guy overtakes me, he must be doing somewhere in the region of 180 - I don't think I've ever seen anyone driving that fast before. He went by so fast I couldn't really make out any details, but from the glimpse I got, he had his hazards on and was randomly flicking his lights as well. No signs of blue lights. Myself and my passenger were both a bit gobsmacked and started guessing what was wrong - we decided woman going into labour, or child who'd stopped breathing. If that was the case, and if there'd been a garda on a speed checkpoint ahead, what would they do in that situation? Accompany them the rest of the way to hospital? Take the patient in the squad car themselves?

Second question from a million years ago. Not long after passing my test, was driving about 30 miles to home around 3am. Hadn't been drinking, was driving normally. An unmarked car was on the side of the road in a real country area (closest house at that point would be over a mile away), and two guys in yellow "Garda" jackets stepped out and pulled me in. The very first thing they did was one asked me to step out, while the other went to the passenger door and tried it. I had all the doors locked, and on that refused to get out of the car until they'd given me ID (this was in the days before mobile phones). They said they needed to breathalyse me, and I had to step out of the car, but wouldn't show me ID. I said to pass it through the window and I'd do it in the car and give it back to them. They were very aggressive and were swearing at me to get out of the car. The closest garda station was about 5 miles away, but it was a kind of 9-5 place. The closest one I knew that was open 24 hours was about 15 miles away. I offered to drive to the one 15 miles away with them either in front of me or behind me, driving at whatever speed they told me to, and I'd get out of the car at the station. After about 10 minutes of this (still hadn't shown me ID), I said I'm going now, and edged the car back onto the road slowly, then took off. When I got home I rang the garda station, they didn't say much, just took my details. Never heard anything about the whole matter again. Should the gardai have shown ID? Were they likely to be real police with just a bad manner, or two weirdos who'd got hold of the jackets? What should I have done in the situation?

1. Good call on your part, probable a lunatic (and I have come across people doing over 200) but we never know who were dealing with or why they are speeding like that. Could be genuine and in that case, radio ambulance but escort to the hospital or at least to meet the ambulance enroute. Thats what I would do anyway.

2. That sounds like too bloody nutters, if they were real you were not simple driving away and they would have (should have) shown ID. Did you get a reg number?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

1. Could've been a Garda in his/her personal car en route to an emergency. Saw it before, fella flashing his headlights and bipping the horn. He was putting his ID against the windscreen too. I knew he was a Garda as the station was about 600m up the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

2. That sounds like too bloody nutters, if they were real you were not simple driving away and they would have (should have) shown ID. Did you get a reg number?

Nah, I was very young at the time and too scared to think of things like that. I was more concerned about whether I was going to be murdered on the side of a main road. If they had been real, presumably they'd have shown some ID, but if you ask for ID are they likely to get a bit annoyed with you? What is the procedure for the breathalyser anyway - can you do it through the car window, or do you have to get out?

I see no harm in asking for ID, nor do I see any reason to become annoyed if your in plain clothes. Fulltime plain clothes may just be used to saying they are Gardai and thats that so forget to show their badges but when your in plain clothes for a week or two its standard practice.

I dont know the breath test, never used one. If I thought you were drinking I just arrested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭wicklaman83

I see no harm in asking for ID, nor do I see any reason to become annoyed if your in plain clothes. Fulltime plain clothes may just be used to saying they are Gardai and thats that so forget to show their badges but when your in plain clothes for a week or two its standard practice.

I dont know the breath test, never used one. If I thought you were drinking I just arrested

and you've been a guard for how long.surely you know the law covering a breathalyser.:rolleyes:

yes you can be breathalysed through the window.i've come across a MAT checkpoint at least once a week-end and its always through the window

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

You can be breathylized while sitting in your car. There is no need for you to get out. There is also a safety issue too cos if you are drunk behind the wheel, the last thing we want is you falling all over the road and getting knock down or worse still US getting hit by a passing car.

As for your original post:

1. Any medical emergency is treated as it should be. Everything else is secondary. If I had stopped a car doing way over the speed limit I certainly would not giving the driver a hard time for it. Simply put the injured person into the patrol car and either meet an ambulance enroute or straight to the hospital.

2. If in doubt, don't get out. Simply open the window just enough for a conversation and if you feel you need ID, then ask for it. No need to be stroppy nor is there any need for a guard to be stroppy either. However if I was in full uniform and standing beside a marked patrol car with lights/sirens on then I suppose I would be thinking its a bit strange. Also if you are driving late at night and see blue lights behind you and you feel uncomfortable then wait for the sirens or you could also ring the nearest Garda Station who can then verify via radio that the car behind you is indeed a patrol car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

TheNog wrote: »

Also if you are driving late at night and see blue lights behind you and you feel uncomfortable then wait for the sirens or you could also ring the nearest Garda Station who can then verify via radio that the car behind you is indeed a patrol car.

One of the reasons I bought my first mobile phone - mobiles can be irritating at times, but fab for that sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

darren254 wrote: »
    and you've been a guard for how long.surely you know the law covering a breathalyser.:rolleyes:
    Karlitosway knows the law on breathalysers, do you?

(They're not compulsory)

The alcolyser is purely another aid to determine if a person has been drinking but can not determine if a person is over the limit. Some guards will use it at times to help them form an opinion that a person has taken alcohol or not.

I would assume that Gardai in a city station would use the alcolyser far less than say a Garda from a country station and even at that we wouldn't use it that often either except at MAT checkpoints

deadwood wrote: »
    Karlitosway knows the law on breathalysers, do you?

(They're not compulsory)

no but im not a guard.he just said he didnt know about breathalysers because he never used them

Ah Jaysus lads, whats the point putting him on my ignore list if your gonna be quoting him???? :P

no but im not a guard.he just said he didnt know about breathalysers because he never used them

Training (along with written instructions) was provided to all members when they were rolled but again as Deadwood pointed out it is not compulsory to use it. I have never used one because I do not wish to but if I was assigned to MAT checkpoint duty I would simply read up on it again and use it.

There is no biggy here. Also you should know that Irish law that we operate under along with procedures runs into 100;s upon 100's of pages and couple that with cases stated we are talking about 1,000's. We are not computers so cannot remember every single detail.

Ah Jaysus lads, whats the point putting him on my ignore list if your gonna be quoting him???? :P

Just so you can keep up to date!!!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

Try not to use them.... alot less to put in your statement!

aww im heart-broken:mad: