Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheap crimbo pressies

• 28-11-2008 1:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭

This year, the other half and myself have decided to go cheap and then go on a short break in the new year.

We have set a pretty strict budget of 20e on each other for xmas, which in itself makes it a bit more fun in that its really not easy!

What would be your opinion on the best cheap (or even free!!!) xmas pressie?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

This year, the other half and myself have decided to go cheap and then go on a short break in the new year.

We have set a pretty strict budget of 20e on each other for xmas, which in itself makes it a bit more fun in that its really not easy!

What would be your opinion on the best cheap (or even free!!!) xmas pressie?????

Love?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Love?

Even on Leeson St. you'd be hard pressed to find 'love' for 20 euro...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Find the most unexpected/irrelevant book possible... that's what I did last year... laughs were had by all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

Love?
    Indeed. All you need is condoms. (at about €3.50)
    The only problem is that the pregnancy test costs something like €35, so you'd have to go all-in. Then you would have around €1.50 left to buy tissues when she does actually get pregnant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Are you male or Female?

If Male, Spend alot more than €20. Or you can expect her NY resolution to involve a lack of Sex for you.

If Female, Don't be a Biatch. Get him a Hooker for a test. Make sure she has Aids. If he uses her you know you can't trust him. If he doesn't he's Gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭allybhoy

Hmm...

How about some crotchless panties.

1. take some panties..
    2. take a scissors....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Luas tickets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

There's a lot of womens gift sets in boots, Along with cheap fragrances that are out because of the new range coming in, Less than 20 euro and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Buy her a memory stick and fill it up with pictures of previous holidays and music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Buy her a memory stick and fill it up with pictures of previous holidays and music.
    And naked pictures of herself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭shooter1978

make a video of yourself running naked through o connell street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Before Pigheads grandfather died in 2001, he would put his favourite grandchild on his knee and pass on the wisdom that he had gained over the years.

"Pighead" he said, "there is a recession coming and in roughly eight years time, there will be people on message boards begging for ideas for cheap Christmas presents in order that they shall save a few shillings. Here's what you shall tell them."

Go down the field and pick a potato , if you have no access to a field, go to your local shop and but a bag of them for they are cheap and plentiful. Ideally, pick out a heart-shaped potato, much like this one: http://slwa.files.wordpress.com/2008/05/potato_heart_mutation.jpg

Next get a knife and scrape the word LOVE onto the potato by peeling off the skin to form the letters. And that's it. You can now present to your darling the "Potato of Love"
    Cheap, cheerful and devastatingly romantic. Now get off my knee you little pup, it's time you went to work"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Spend more than the 20e on her.

You can be sure she'll get you something extra and saying something like "But we said it's just 20e", well, it just won't cut it.

Brooke: You never even buy me flowers.
    Gary: You said on our first date that you hate flowers, they are expensive and a waste of time.
    Brooke: Every girl likes flowers Gary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Then you would have around €1.50 left to buy tissues when she does actually get pregnant.

Who is to say they'll be upset and need tiss..... ahh, i see

And naked pictures of herself

....sleeping. For, you know, the surprise factor.

Naos wrote: »
    Spend more than the 20e on her.

You can be sure she'll get you something extra...
    Yeah. Women are bitches for stuff like that :mad:
    "Oh no no.We'll only spend this on each other. Somethin small" quickly turns to "I CAN'T BELIEVE THATS ALL YOU GOT ME!!!!!"
    Any girls wanna answer why you came up with your weird code where nothing means what it sounds like????:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Pighead wrote: »
    Go down the field and pick a potato , if you have no access to a field, go to your local shop and but a bag of them for they are cheap and plentiful. Ideally, pick out a heart-shaped potato, much like this one:
    Jaysus lad I wouldn't go eating any potatoes that came out of the ground at this time of year. Ho ho ho, ye dubs and ye're unfamiliarity of the ways of nature, next you'll be telling me the one tited cow gives sour milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

ScumLord wrote: »
    Ho ho ho, ye dubs and ye're unfamiliarity of the ways of nature, next you'll be telling me the one tited cow gives sour milk.
    Post reported.

ScumLord wrote: »
    next you'll be telling me the one tited cow gives sour milk.
    Only the ugly ones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

Any girls wanna answer why you came up with your weird code where nothing means what it sounds like????:confused:

You are supposed to suprise us by showing us how much you love us. But we can't tell you that, or it's not a suprise.

Neesa wrote: »
    You are supposed to suprise us by showing us how much you love us. But we can't tell you that, or it's not a suprise.
    That explains the christmas present part but not every other situation:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,638 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Get a block of Pink StickyNotes and fill out each and everyone of them with IOU's
    IOU a dinner for Two
    IOU a night out with your friends
    IOU a girly DVD night
    IOU a dance
    Then take your €20 to Mulligans and drink Guinness

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

OldGoat wrote: »
    Get a block of Pink StickyNotes and fill out each and everyone of them with IOU's
    IOU a dinner for Two
    IOU a night out with your friends
    IOU a girly DVD night
    IOU a dance
    Then take your €20 to Mulligans and drink Guinness
    Sir I would like to rob your idea and that I shall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

That explains the christmas present part but not every other situation:pac:

You're still thinking inside the box I'm afraid. It applies to everyday situations just as well. Don't ask her if she'd like a glass of water with dinner, give her a glass of water. This will show that you've anticipated her needs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

We're trying to fcuk with yer heads! seriously... you really wondered?

..and we make it so obvious.

Take the following as a rule for survival

I (the female) am always right, you will always be wrong.
    Black is always white.
    I am never tired or undesireable.
    I never spend enough money on clothes
    The house is never a pig sty
    I do not suffer from pmt
    My bum does not look big in this.
    You always deserve to be punished.
    You will pay for loving me for the rest of your life... sex is extra :p

Might have left a few out, the handbook our mothers give us goes on a bit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,638 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Sir I would like to rob your idea and that I shall
    [Mental image of Mulligans filled with men scribbling fevourishly on pink stickies whilst quaffing pints]
    See ya there about 5:30 :)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

themadchef wrote: »

Black is always white.
    I do not suffer from pmt

Might have left a few out, the handbook our mothers give us goes on a bit :D
    Pretty much what I always thought.
    If we ever get time travel, someone remind me to go back to the beginning and slap eve for that handbook.

OldGoat wrote: »
    [Mental image of Mulligans filled with men scribbling fevourishly on pink stickies whilst quaffing pints]
    See ya there about 5:30 :)
    [Mental image of about 2 million pissed off women xmas morning]:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

themadchef wrote: »

Black is always white.
    I do not suffer from pmt
    Yes dear. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

No Christmas threads until at least the first of December (the party cancelled one excluded).
    Go here: http://boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=853
    Grumble.