Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recruitment Policy RDF

• 27-11-2008 11:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭

Can anybody tell me if their sub unit operate a recruitment policy to ensure they can filter out those applicants they do not have space for?

I know of a sub unit who had wait or it 92 applicants for 20 recruit places its neighbouring company in same bn and county had 72 for same number of places.

How should they get down to the required 20?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Well, they could say Security Clearence is taking time to get back.

Interesting point though, Is it just me or are a helluva lot more people joining the RDF? I know my Sub-unit haad an entire Platoon of recruit last year! Some are not back but in Previous years they had feck all people joining. Now it is getting rediculous the amount of people joining!!!

We had at least 70 applicants last year and alot weren't gotten through in time. This year there are a good few new people up every week.

Last year we could have squeezed 17/18 people up on a tuesday night.

Last Tuesday we had 35+ up. Mostly 2/3*'s as well which is a nice change from having NCO's and Officer Numbers matching or exceeding the Gunners.
    Wow thats off topic but anyway.

I would think they should ask the people some questions and then judge if they might stay a bit longer than the average RDF person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,052 ✭✭✭trellheim

1. recession is on. There is a very high correlation between poor economic state and numbers joining the RDF

2. Take a roll. highest attenders on the induction course and best soldiers are the ones attested. Then have subs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭diverdriver

If lots are interested in joining then maybe they can be more selective in who gets in. People who are genuinely interested and who'll turn up regularly.

Years ago when I joined the FCA, we actually had two recruit platoons on our first camp. But the casualty rate was worse than Omaha beach. It was soon down to the hard core idiots like myself who didn't mind being shouted at, could get up on a Sunday morning and weren't afraid of the cold.

We didn't have a security clearance either or an id card or any evidence at all we were even a member.

Interestingly of the ones who stayed in a while. I would say the majority who stayed the course later ended up full time in the army, several went to the FF Legion, one to the Parachute Regiment others to the British Army, a couple got cadetships, pilots, Gardai and some security guards. Something about uniforms? I wonder if it's the same with the current crop of recruits?

As for me, well I could tell you but I'd have to kill you from embarrassment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭In my opinion

trellheim wrote: »
    1. recession is on. There is a very high correlation between poor economic state and numbers joining the RDF

2. Take a roll. highest attenders on the induction course and best soldiers are the ones attested. Then have subs.

No we have always had high numbers but an actual effort is being put in all around our large AO to recruit.

Just looking for policy used elsewhere, senior nco's and officers please reply.