Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

O'Neill refuses medal

• 27-11-2008 8:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2008/1127/oneills.html

Tyrone star Stephen O'Neill has revealed that he will refuse to accept the All-Ireland medal that he won last September.
    O'Neill made a sensational comeback for the final against Kerry,
    having quit the squad in a stunning move at the start of the season.
    He came on as a sub in the decider following a first half injury to
    Colm McCullagh, and set up the Tommy McGuigan goal that eventually decided the tie and clinched Tyrone's third Sam Maguire Cup triumph in six seasons.

'I was only there for the two weeks before the final and I did not deserve to be going up those steps,' he said.
    O'Neill already has two All-Ireland medals, having been one of the
    star attackers on the 2003 and 2005 teams, winning the Footballer of the Year award in the latter season.
    He is now firmly back in the Red Hand fold, having committed to the squad for the 2009 season.
    In an interview with the BBC, O'Neill denied that a row with Mickey Harte had provoked his decision to quit the Tyrone squad last January.

'There was definitely no row with Mickey over training or anything else.

'I said to Mickey when I met him in August: "I can't go back now, it is too late, it will just upset the whole thing".

'If Tyrone had lost I was going to be hung out to dry.

'I knew I had to prove that I was fit enough to do it and wasn't just coming back for the glory as some people were saying.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Interesting.

Based on post-match interviews and the lack of any negative media coverage that might have stemmed from internal sources, the squad didn't seem to have any major issue with the timing of the comeback. So it's either (a) to make sure the public don't think he only returned for the glory or (b) because he genuinely feels he doesn't deserve it.

There doesn't seem to have been a major issue about it so I'm not really sure what to make of it - maybe it's just not that important to anyone bar Stephen O'Neill?

And maybe that's the way it should be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭Shmuck

Shame, I don't think anyone would begrudge him a medal, if only for his efforts in the 2003 and 2005 all ireland wins. Plus he did play his part by giving a great pass to set up the goal in the 2008 final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Supermanscat

Ah its his choice and i say fair play to him. He understands the true value of All Ireland medals and thus feels he did not do enough to deserve a medal. Its a bit like when Roy Keane saying he never won a European Cup. I mean its all about the effort you make from the start to the end of the campaign.
    I feel the same about being sub when the team have won certain titles.
    Im rambling now....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

If he didn't have two in his arse pocket would he be making the same gesture I wonder...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

If he didn't have two in his arse pocket would he be making the same gesture I wonder...........

Probably not but if he dodn't have two in his arse pocket he would not have been called up.
    Fair play to him anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

A superb gesture from a superbly talented footballer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

He probably would have done the same. He is a classy guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭faulk28

Probably not but if he dodn't have two in his arse pocket he would not have been called up.
    Fair play to him anyway.
    I agree, but why did he feel the need to tell everyone one about it? Could he not just have said nothing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

faulk28 wrote: »
    I agree, but why did he feel the need to tell everyone one about it? Could he not just have said nothing?

Jaysus theres no pleasing some people, well i for one think its a marvellous gesture from a marvellous footballer and if there were more genuine players like him in our games (cork hurlers take note) we'd be in a far better position, I for one will be cheering on Tyrone next year hoping than Mr. O'Neill gets he's third AI medal that he deserves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭faulk28

Jaysus theres no pleasing some people, well i for one think its a marvellous gesture from a marvellous footballer and if there were more genuine players like him in our games (cork hurlers take note) we'd be in a far better position, I for one will be cheering on Tyrone next year hoping than Mr. O'Neill gets he's third AI medal that he deserves.
    Yeah, I agree and depending on who they're playing I'll be cheering him on as well. A fantastic footballer and nice gesture. I'm just wondering why he publicised it? If someone else done it on his behlf, then fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

I'm just wondering why he publicised it?
    People always say this but I don't get it - why shouldn't he publicise it? It's like when a company donates to charity - it's about maintaining/cultivating a good reputation.

It also means there's no secrecy and no confusion and that anyone who wants to judge his motives for returning to the Tyrone squad can do so with the full facts at their disposal... it's be hugely unfair on the guy if he'd made this gesture in private and some people were still labelling him a glory-hunter (not that I think this perception is widespread, as I said in my first post).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Supermanscat

Im sure he was approached and asked. I cant see the lad ringin the papers and saying " Here lads, Stpehen O here, just to say im not picking up a medal ok? Dont deserve. Spread the words! Bye"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭news for you

There was an interview on bbc newsline about his return to the Tyrone team. It lasted about ten minutes (well, on the website), and the last question asked was whether he kept the medal. Took up literally about 15 seconds out of a ten-minute interview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Sportsmanship at its finest. Fair paly to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭dartsfan

Because maybe he wanted to prove it to those that doubted him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

I think it' a good thing what he's doing. I think everyone was suspicious when he didn't want to play all season and then all of a sudden did when they got to the final. So rejecting the medal is the right thing to do in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭connacht100

his choice i suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭cmcsoft

Hats off to him in my opinion, I was a bit surprised when he came back for the final but he's a fantastic footballer and you have to admire him for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

I think he should take his medal. Kerry would have all the medals if it wasn't for his superb vision in setting up the goal in the final - he more than deserves it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

A real gesture of sportsmanship - but I'm left wondering: what is going to happen to the medal now, will it be given to another member of the squad, or.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

A real gesture of sportsmanship - but I'm left wondering: what is going to happen to the medal now, will it be given to another member of the squad, or.............
    One guy in a local paper up here suggested Mickey Harte should give him the medal as a wedding present next year. People generally don't refuse wedding presents. :D