Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

need self defence advice

• 27-11-2008 10:21am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭

Arpound September i had a road rage incident and kept note of the guy details etc. today i met the scum in a supermarket and he said remember me and i said yes and i have a note made of your threats and will bring them to garda if you start again. he said he would stab my neck if i went to the garda and made an advance and i stepped back aware of his balls open for a kick. he stepped back and said he did not care about garda and i asked his name and he gave me a false name

I would like opinions on:

I live alone and am concerned re being targeted if i prosecute him but no scum will bully me

2 I have done kung fu before but did not feel over confident in the situation tho i was aware of the way he was open it seemed to happen very fast and i think i may have been fast enough but not strong enough. Shoul i have made a pre emptive strike? I was aware of the legal situ plus it is probably on cctv and i did not want to be accused of assault

3 he said i was a rat to go to garda? What is that about? we should let scum bully us and we are rats if we stand up for ourselves

4 is there any weapon i can carry legally?

5 will any sd class prepare me to beat him if i have to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

Arpound September i had a road rage incident and kept note of the guy details etc. today i met the scum in a supermarket and he said remember me and i said yes and i have a note made of your threats and will bring them to garda if you start again. he said he would stab my neck if i went to the garda and made an advance and i stepped back aware of his balls open for a kick. he stepped back and said he did not care about garda and i asked his name and he gave me a false name

I live alone and am concerned re being targeted if i prosecute him but no scum will bully me

2 I have done kung fu before but did not feel over confident in the situation tho i was aware of the way he was open it seemed to happen very fast and i think i may have been fast enough but not strong enough. Shoul i have made a pre emptive strike? I was aware of the legal situ plus it is probably on cctv and i did not want to be accused of assault

3 he said i was a rat to go to garda? What is that about? we should let scum bully us and we are rats if we stand up for ourselves

My commiserations at having to put up with an idiot like this. Having scum intimidate you is extremely stressful and it already seems to be perforating your confidence.

You threatening him with the guards was an empty threat, though you might not have been aware of it, and seems to have only emboldened him. If you actually want the gardai to do anything then you would have to make a complaint three times about him. The likelihood is he is already known to them and any warning they give him will fall on deaf ears.

Your best method of self defence is to improve your confidence, effectively hardening yourself as a target. If he sees you as someone who is not concerned about him then he will leave you for greener pastures.

Get into a functional training program, boxing, judo, MMA, Full Contact Kickboxing or Thai Boxing would be my top five. Get used to sparring a lot and you won't worry about being hit at all, which is extremely unsettling for scumbags.

Carrying a weapon is illegal and will get you in trouble with the law assuming he doesn't just take it off you and use it against you which is the likely outcome at this point in time.

You should not have pre - empted him, had you done so he might have taken a dive, waited for the ambulance and then taken a hefty chunk out of your paychecks for the next year or two.

Stop giving yourself such a hard time about what you could have or should have done, that will only degrade your confidence further. Its done, forget about it and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭grizzly

Unfortunately if you'd kicked him in the balls you'd not be any safer from him now. I'd avoid him, he sounds like a nutcase.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭by8auj6csd3ioq

grizzly wrote: »
    Unfortunately if you'd kicked him in the balls you'd not be any safer from him now. I'd avoid him, he sounds like a nutcase.
    don't you think i would prefer avoid him if i could but i will not allow that as it may escalate

My commiserations at having to put up with an idiot like this. Having scum intimidate you is extremely stressful and it already seems to be perforating your confidence.
    thanks mark
    You threatening him with the guards was an empty threat, though you might not have been aware of it, and seems to have only emboldened him. If you actually want the gardai to do anything then you would have to make a complaint three times about him. The likelihood is he is already known to them and any warning they give him will fall on deaf ears.
    the garda said i could make a statement and have him prosecuted
    Your best method of self defence is to improve your confidence, effectively hardening yourself as a target. If he sees you as someone who is not concerned about him then he will leave you for greener pastures.
    I am not sure how i have made myself a soft target.?
    Get into a functional training program, boxing, judo, MMA, Full Contact Kickboxing or Thai Boxing would be my top five. Get used to sparring a lot and you won't worry about being hit at all, which is extremely unsettling for scumbags.
    I would like to but i have real trouble with back pain
    Carrying a weapon is illegal and will get you in trouble with the law assuming he doesn't just take it off you and use it against you which is the likely outcome at this point in time.
    understood
    You should not have pre - empted him, had you done so he might have taken a dive, waited for the ambulance and then taken a hefty chunk out of your paychecks for the next year or two.
    that is why i didn't plus it is on cctv and shows him advancing and me stepping back
    Stop giving yourself such a hard time about what you could have or should have done,
    apreciate that mark

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 moxiah

My commiserations that this is happening to you, I'm afraid there really aren't any simple solutions to this issue.
    The way the law operates, you have an onus to retreat and/or extricate yourself at first opportunity; there is no justifiable/reasonable force if retreat is an option so if you had booted him in the groin he would have been within his legal right to have you arrested for assault and battery (ironic, I know).
    Having said that, the threats he made to you constitute assault (laying a hand on you is battery) so you're within your rights to report him and have him charged for that, particularly if you're in fear for your life...which I would be if I was threatened with being stabbed in the neck!

Weapons are illegal to carry at all in Ireland. Period. Not only that but if you use something to attack/hurt someone, that thing becomes regarded as a weapon so more severe charges can be levelled against you even if you only hit someone with your umbrella…the most ludicrous case (anecdotal) I ever heard about was a guy charged for assault with a deadly weapon after hitting someone with a battered cod!

Re: defending yourself, no one martial art intrinsically is more combative than any other; it entirely depends on what you find suits you best, who’s teaching it, and how much work you put into your combative application training. I could tell you that Jiu-Jitsu is best because it compensates to some degree for differences in size and strength. I could tell you Kenpo is the way to go because its emphasis on efficient striking and elimination of superfluous movement will give you a good bang for your buck. I could tell you that Eskrima is the answer to your prayers because of its full integration of weapons into the core system and its emphasis on combat. Ultimately, though, I’d be being disingenuous; all I can tell you is that I find Jiu-Jitsu, Eskrima, and Kenpo to be a good combination for me and that the best thing to do is find an art that suits you best. Ed Parker drew the comparison between buying a suit and learning a martial art; you wouldn’t go and try a suit on, find it didn’t fit, go away and change your body shape and then come back to buy it and similarly, why put in all that effort in a style that simply doesn’t fit you? The sheer mind-boggling diversity of martial arts and fighting systems out there illustrates the broad range of combat environment, human aptitude, etc. to the point that trying to generalise too much becomes a little self-defeating. Better to find something that you’ll enjoy and that provides you with room to excel.

My personal advice, now that I’m done proselytising, is to report him to the Gardai and go from there if at all possible. Alternatively, if you choose violence as a course of action, do so in full knowledge of the consequences and implications of your actions; is some scummer really worth going to prison for?

Just my €0.02,

Mox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

my view on it;

do a few kenpo classes (there are plenty around but I can suggest a very good one if you are interested)- it's all about self defence & street fighting. We have a rhyme; Rabadabadee, kick him in the knee. Rabadabadollix - kick him in the other knee. Go for a shin or knee to start and then take 'em down.. many people are aware of a potential kick in the scrote and will endeavour to protect the jewels - however it takes only 7 pounds of pressure to pop that knee cap off if u hit it from the side :)

in terms of weapons - no you can't carry a weapon, but you can have a pocket full of change (if you are holding coins it increases the hardness and weight of your fist & punch). You can have several ball point pens in a shirt pocket - and have at least one steel pen in the mix - a ball point pen (especially steel) in the knuckles, the eye, the neck or any other number of soft spots is going to seriously halt an attacker. If you have a bicycle, you can have a "lock" aka a big heavy chain. I have a motorcycle, so I have a helmet with me constantly.. in a car boot you could have any number of innofensive things which could be a weapon - a hurley, a baseball bat - or hell just a big iron bar, which could be acquired quickly at need. I would avoid edged weapons, that will only end up with you in jail

There is a legally acceptable defense known as "pre-emptive strike" - if you are certain that a person behaving in an aggressive manner is about to attack you - you can get your defence in first by attacking. Of course it is a defence that can be used in court - however that does not guarantee that the judge would accept that explanation. he would of course be more likely to do so had you reported this fool to the gards first, and especially if this scumbag is "known" to the police.
    Finally I said it up a bit before - kenpo is good for the street, I'm in a class taught by a 7th degree black belt, Shay McNamee - the man is about the toughest dude I have ever met in my life & he is old, short & happy - but I don't think I've met the man who could beat him. His classes are to the point & it's all about defending yourself in a very serious situation.. If you want to go to a class, he lets people sit in and have a look at whats going on if they are interested - PM me if you want contact, this is in Dublin though & I don't know where abouts the country u are! :)
    Anyway I wish you luck in this & hope it doesn't come to a physical confrontation, but if it does go for the soft spots - knee, groin, instep, throat, eyes, floating ribs, kidneys - anything u can get & have a few pens on you the whole time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭lottodrink

How long has this been going on?? By the sounds of it he's all talk, if he didnt care about the garda he would have done something there and then! He's just been a clown thinking you won't go to the garda if he threatens you...

Think the only legal weapon you can carry is pepper spray? Very affective by the way!!

jim o doom wrote: »
    my view on it;

do a few kenpo classes (there are plenty around but I can suggest a very good one if you are interested)- it's all about self defence & street fighting. We have a rhyme; Rabadabadee, kick him in the knee. Rabadabadollix - kick him in the other knee. Go for a shin or knee to start and then take 'em down.. many people are aware of a potential kick in the scrote and will endeavour to protect the jewels - however it takes only 7 pounds of pressure to pop that knee cap off if u hit it from the side :)

in terms of weapons - no you can't carry a weapon, but you can have a pocket full of change (if you are holding coins it increases the hardness and weight of your fist & punch). You can have several ball point pens in a shirt pocket - and have at least one steel pen in the mix - a ball point pen (especially steel) in the knuckles, the eye, the neck or any other number of soft spots is going to seriously halt an attacker. If you have a bicycle, you can have a "lock" aka a big heavy chain. I have a motorcycle, so I have a helmet with me constantly.. in a car boot you could have any number of innofensive things which could be a weapon - a hurley, a baseball bat - or hell just a big iron bar, which could be acquired quickly at need. I would avoid edged weapons, that will only end up with you in jail

There is a legally acceptable defense known as "pre-emptive strike" - if you are certain that a person behaving in an aggressive manner is about to attack you - you can get your defence in first by attacking. Of course it is a defence that can be used in court - however that does not guarantee that the judge would accept that explanation. he would of course be more likely to do so had you reported this fool to the gards first, and especially if this scumbag is "known" to the police.
    Finally I said it up a bit before - kenpo is good for the street, I'm in a class taught by a 7th degree black belt, Shay McNamee - the man is about the toughest dude I have ever met in my life & he is old, short & happy - but I don't think I've met the man who could beat him. His classes are to the point & it's all about defending yourself in a very serious situation.. If you want to go to a class, he lets people sit in and have a look at whats going on if they are interested - PM me if you want contact, this is in Dublin though & I don't know where abouts the country u are! :)
    Anyway I wish you luck in this & hope it doesn't come to a physical confrontation, but if it does go for the soft spots - knee, groin, instep, throat, eyes, floating ribs, kidneys - anything u can get & have a few pens on you the whole time!
    thanks for your input i always do carry a pen. i am not used to fighting with it tho. good idea re the car boot but i was in a supermarket.alos i know there is a possible legal defense of pre emptive but as you say it is a gray area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

I'd reiterate what Mark said about sparring (or possibly even competition). The most street effective thing I've learned from doing Thai boxing is that I'm not made of china and the prospect of a few thumps in the head isn't going to bother me in the slightest.
    do a few kenpo classes (there are plenty around but I can suggest a very good one if you are interested)- it's all about self defence & street fighting.

IMO there are more effective disciplines for self defence than kenpo.
    We have a rhyme; Rabadabadee, kick him in the knee. Rabadabadollix - kick him in the other knee.

HAHAHAHA. :D:D:D

lottodrink wrote: »
    Think the only legal weapon you can carry is pepper spray? Very affective by the way!!
    where do you get pepper spray?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭lottodrink

where do you get pepper spray?
    try this site, iv never seen it in shops http://www.pepper-spray-shop.eu/

The way the law operates, you have an onus to retreat and/or extricate yourself at first opportunity; there is no justifiable/reasonable force if retreat is an option so if you had booted him in the groin he would have been within his legal right to have you arrested for assault and battery
    i know that is why i retreated and watched his balls

Having said that, the threats he made to you constitute assault (laying a hand on you is battery) so you're within your rights to report him and have him charged for that, particularly if you're in fear for your life...which I would be if I was threatened with being stabbed in the neck!

Weapons are illegal to carry at all in Ireland. Period. Not only that but if you use something to attack/hurt someone, that thing becomes regarded as a weapon so more severe charges can be levelled against you even if you only hit someone with your umbrella…the most ludicrous case (anecdotal) I ever heard about was a guy charged for assault with a deadly weapon after hitting someone with a battered cod!

Re: defending yourself, no one martial art intrinsically is more combative than any other; it entirely depends on what you find suits you best, who’s teaching it, and how much work you put into your combative application training. I could tell you that Jiu-Jitsu is best because it compensates to some degree for differences in size and strength. I could tell you Kenpo is the way to go because its emphasis on efficient striking and elimination of superfluous movement will give you a good bang for your buck. I could tell you that Eskrima is the answer to your prayers because of its full integration of weapons into the core system and its emphasis on combat. Ultimately, though, I’d be being disingenuous; all I can tell you is that I find Jiu-Jitsu, Eskrima, and Kenpo to be a good combination for me and that the best thing to do is find an art that suits you best. Ed Parker drew the comparison between buying a suit and learning a martial art; you wouldn’t go and try a suit on, find it didn’t fit, go away and change your body shape and then come back to buy it and similarly, why put in all that effort in a style that simply doesn’t fit you? The sheer mind-boggling diversity of martial arts and fighting systems out there illustrates the broad range of combat environment, human aptitude, etc. to the point that trying to generalise too much becomes a little self-defeating. Better to find something that you’ll enjoy and that provides you with room to excel.
    My personal advice, now that I’m done proselytising, is to report him to the Gardai and go from there if at all possible. Alternatively, if you choose violence as a course of action, do so in full knowledge of the consequences and implications of your actions; is some scummer really worth going to prison for?
    have done and will prosecute if necessary. my house is nice and clean and warm and i would not swap for some dirty prison cell for a piece of dirt like him. my question re self deefence is just in case there is ever a no choice scenario
    Just my €0.02,

Khannie wrote: »
    I'd reiterate what Mark said about sparring (or possibly even competition). The most street effective thing I've learned from doing Thai boxing is that I'm not made of china and the prospect of a few thumps in the head isn't going to bother me in the slightest.

IMO there are more effective disciplines for self defence than kenpo.

HAHAHAHA. :D:D:D

Yeah khannies spot on about sparring & fighting - it's great for strength, cardio & helps you become a lot more resistant to taking hits.. Thai boxing would be good for that - serious conditioning involved in that.. I've a bogey knee & shin from a motorbike crash & my other leg ain't great, so I'm not good material for a thai boxer. Loving the kenpo though :))- khannie, just out of interest which ones do you think are better for self defense? not looking to have a discussion, just wondering :) - personally it's kenpo for me until black & then I will probably branch out and try different stuff with kenpo as the base.. going for brown next month :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Furious-Dave

I agree with Khannie. Although I believe Kenpo has a lot of potential, the general method in which it's trained is unrealistic. I do think that MMA is the best base system for self defense, but if this is not an option then perhaps take a look www.ucireland.com.
    For MMA take a look at the link in my signarture. We're based in Drumcondra if that's of any use to you.

Good Luck.

one last point! :) as well as self defence, one thing that will help your confidence level is if you start doing basic regular calisthenics to build up strength.. just push ups, clapping push ups, bull dog push ups (etc etc etc), various types of sit ups, squats.. stuff that increases your basic level body strength.. it may not increase your ability to fight, but you will punch that bit harder if your are physically fit, there would be a corresponding increase in your confidence. One thing that can help stop a confrontation escalating into a fight (unnecessarily) is your own level of confidence, your body language, etc.. many bullies are exactly that, and when they feel they are confronting someone who might just trounce them, they tend to back down, in my own personal experience. I ain't very tall & am a wee bit overweight, but I am an angry man when confronted & a stocky build & 99% of the time the level of aggression thrown out seems to stop any actualy fight occuring, which suits me down to the ground :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pearsquasher

Reality check. Moxiah has it spot on - read his post again.

Martial arts training is not the solution to this problem as it takes a long time to actually get good at it both in terms of physiclaly handling someone and mentally preparing for agression. And even then luck will play a part!

First and foremost it sounds like this guys anger and determination is going to walk through your fear. He's intimdating you and has technically assaulted you. The gardai are the best solution. Start a martial art by all means but forget ANY martial art helping you within the next few years.

I explain this to everyone in my dojo from day 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭Martin25

The guy seems to be a coward and a bully.
    Make a complaint to the Guards and get some basic self defence.
    Avoid him if possibe.

Reality check. Moxiah has it spot on - read his post again.

Martial arts training is not the solution to this problem as it takes a long time to actually get good at it both in terms of physiclaly handling someone and mentally preparing for agression. And even then luck will play a part!

First and foremost it sounds like this guys anger and determination is going to walk through your fear. He's intimdating you and has technically assaulted you. The gardai are the best solution. Start a martial art by all means but forget ANY martial art helping you within the next few years.

You are dead right - but that is not to say he shouldn't begin training in martial arts - god only knows what other situations down the line which could occur & he would be wishing then in the future, that he had decided now to begin training. But this dudes "anger & determination" don't sound like much form the OP's post - the character made an empty threat and when the OP stepped back as he stepped forward, then he too stepped back. These are not the actions of a an angry and determined attacker.. those dude just attack.

. But this dudes "anger & determination" don't sound like much form the OP's post - the character made an empty threat and when the OP stepped back as he stepped forward, then he too stepped back. These are not the actions of a an angry and determined attacker.. those dude just attack.
    jim o doom tell me the signifance of his stepping back when i stepped back. if he had anger and determination would he have followed me? Parlty i stepped back as i explained above but also to see if he would follow me or to make him have to if he was going to do anything. as i look back i seem to have been much more aware of what was happening than at them time i realised.?

I forgot to mention there was 2 people with him but they did not involve themselves in any way i had my vision on him but was aware of them to my peripheray

Start a martial art by all means but forget ANY martial art helping you within the next few years.

I've seen complete beginners develop decent Kickboxing skills within 6 - 8 months. Add to this the confidence boost that starts about a week or so into training.

thanks everyone i have severe trouble with my back and that is why i have not yet taken up a ma

I've seen complete beginners develop decent Kickboxing skills within 6 - 8 months. Add to this the confidence boost that starts about a week or so into training.
    that makes sense

thanks everyone i have severe trouble with my back and that is why i have not yet taken up a ma

Have you tried a chiropractor? If not the guy in Stillorgan SC is really good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

so I'm not good material for a thai boxer

great stuff bstone lads would love ya then :) go on khannie take the bait

Jim just out of interest where do you live, what age are you and what age is the fella in question?

pay some e blocker to bash him :)

paddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Dont be giving him links to buy pepper spray, that stuff is useless. You should do MMA training, you said you had a bad back, heal it up and start asap. Training is great for posture and will improve your physical appearance, confidence and skill set within 6-9 months. I have a bad temper, I would be in jail if I was in your situation, probably on a manslaughter charge. But through training I have learned to control my anger better.
    My 2 cents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Mate, you have my sympathy for having to put up with a class A knob jockey.

I don't have much useful to say on the matter that hasn't been said already except to say forget about weapons and the like-

You CAN'T win with this fella in a conflict. You sound like a decent person, and he doesn't, which immediately puts you on the back foot. He'll ALWAYS be willing to sink lower than you, and engaging in any battle with him will only degrade you. If something should happen between them and then the cops show up, he'll lie through his teeth and you'll try to be honest. If you show up with pepper spray or otherwise that will be used against you.

My advice is use the cops. They get flak but they do as good a job as they're allowed most of the time. A friend of mine had a similar issue to yours some time back, except she's a girl and the guy was stalking her. Nothing could be proved, nothing could be done officially but the informal route taken by the 2 gardaí at the time was really well handled and I was well impressed, especially considering the next step involved me and her brother showing up on the guy's doorstep armed with colouful language... we would have let the blowtorch and pliers at home.

I would be in jail if I was in your situation, probably on a manslaughter charge.
    assuming you won maybe you would

jim o doom tell me the signifance of his stepping back when i stepped back. if he had anger and determination would he have followed me? Parlty i stepped back as i explained above but also to see if he would follow me or to make him have to if he was going to do anything. as i look back i seem to have been much more aware of what was happening than at them time i realised.?

I forgot to mention there was 2 people with him but they did not involve themselves in any way i had my vision on him but was aware of them to my peripheray

The significance of it in my mind - is that in most cases, a person who is really going to attack you doesn't step back, or in fact do much talking for that matter. They tend to do what they have in mind - which is attack. Someone mouthing off, who makes a forward movement & then steps back when you look ready for them, is someone who doesn't really want to tangle. Now of course I could be SERIOUSLY wrong about this - but the few tims I have been unlucky enough to be attacked, the person attacking really didn't say much at all and just went for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

assuming you won maybe you would

Of course I'd win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

Of course I'd win.
    :) ah the confidence of youth! Its not that easy in the real world though, remember you can't predict the outcome with any certainty when so many elements of the situation can vary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pearsquasher

To the OP.. have a good long read of everything in this website. Nothing in it contradicts my view of martial arts training and it will help you stand back and view the situation in a clearer manner. I feel it exposes a lot of the flaws of the "just learn martial arts for short-term self-defence" brigade ... and its also quite entertaining! I read it periodically myself.

http://www.nononsenseselfdefense.com

The significance of it in my mind - is that in most cases, a person who is really going to attack you doesn't step back, or in fact do much talking for that matter. They tend to do what they have in mind - which is attack. Someone mouthing off, who makes a forward movement & then steps back when you look ready for them, is someone who doesn't really want to tangle. Now of course I could be SERIOUSLY wrong about this - but the few tims I have been unlucky enough to be attacked, the person attacking really didn't say much at all and just went for it.
    interesting thanks, maybe he thought my step back was preperation to defend myself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

paddyc wrote: »
    great stuff bstone lads would love ya then :) go on khannie take the bait

No way bud. :p My days of taking bait are over. I've learned that lesson the hard way. :pac:
    khannie, just out of interest which ones do you think are better for self defense?

If I were training purely for self defence, I'd look at MMA (first) and combatives (second).

Like yourself, I love my martial art and wouldn't consider switching just to gain a self defence advantage. I think there's a very good chance I'll make it through the rest of my life only getting hit in the ring. :)

interesting thanks, maybe he thought my step back was preperation to defend myself?

That's what I was thinking - stepping back creates a bit of space for you to be ready, plus you could be stepping back onto your favour food to give more power to whichever hand you punch most with! :)

never though of it like that but i am sure he is a coward really, that does not mean i would beat him. anyway i prefr the garda approach not getting into any fights i can avoid

I remember years ago being in a disco where there was a guy trying to start a fight with another and continued outside for about 10 mins shouting and threatening the other guy. Then the other guy gave him one slap in the mouth and he went crying to his gf to bring him to the hospital with his split lip..I swear it was so funny;)

To the OP.. have a good long read of everything in this website. Nothing in it contradicts my view of martial arts training and it will help you stand back and view the situation in a clearer manner. I feel it exposes a lot of the flaws of the "just learn martial arts for short-term self-defence" brigade ... and its also quite entertaining! I read it periodically myself.

http://www.nononsenseselfdefense.com
    Ok thanks and thanks all for the support

Roper wrote: »
    nothing could be done officially but the informal route taken by the 2 gardaí at the time was really well handled and I was well impressed, .
    informal route? I hope i am reasonably decent dont abuse folk but won't be bullied by scum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭Martin25

I agree with Mark. Guys like this are well able to sink lower than a decent person so take the route to the Guards and learn some real world skills in case you need them.

I have to make a statement to the garda as a result re above

Am I allowed to have a copy?
    Am I allowed to have a copy of the notes of the previous encounter which I gave to the garda today - forgot to keep a copy?
    Can I write it myself or do i have to tell him and he write it?
    Anything else i should know?

Could stepping back be a form of 'fence' as advised by Geoff Thompson?Has anyone read his fighting without fighting book, does it really tell how to end a situation without a physical fight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭deegs

What your looking for is to stop getting involved in road rage in the first place.

Learning a martial art will help you become a better person (and maybe ignore road rage incidents as they happen), not to start fights in supermarkets!

Thats my opinion anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭grizzly

deegs wrote: »
    What your looking for is to stop getting involved in road rage in the first place.

Learning a martial art will help you become a better person (and maybe ignore road rage incidents as they happen), not to start fights in supermarkets!

Thats my opinion anyway.

Exactly my thoughts.

deegs wrote: »

Thats my opinion anyway.
    read my first post again. I was not the instigator of the road rage and did not react in any way and did not 'start a fight in a supermarket'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 EDPK-Kenpo

**spam**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

EDPK-Kenpo banned for spamming all over the forum