Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Finding out the truth about Santa...

• 26-11-2008 5:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭

Can you remember how, when and how you felt when you found out!! I still feel pretty bitter about the whole thing. The feeling of betrayal!! :o
    I think I copped it when I was about 10 and the carrots I left out for Rudolph where in the bin when I went to throw stuff in it the next morning...
    One of my friends had to go looking for their presents on Christmas morning(the parents made it a game!...). The parents admitted to them a few years later that they were drunk and forgot to put them under the tree!!!!:eek::eek:
    Anyone got any tales?!!...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I was disappointed, but I still understood that the existence of Santa Claus then appeared to have no bearing on whether I would get presents or not so it wasnt a disaster. I was 5, and when I woke up around midnight to scope out the tree, the door leading upstairs to the living room had been locked out, and I deduced what I needed to from that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭buynow

What truth? there is a truth???????

He is really a she?

The beard is fake?

Rudolph is his secret love child? - would explain the nose.

What truth????????????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Big Knox

Wait lets just back up a minute here...

What exactly are you trying to say??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I knew from an early enough age but just kept ignoring it (my much older neighbour telling me that Santa was my Mam and Dad). There were a few shocked faces in 6th class though when the teacher told us "not to mention anything about Santa not being real to the little ones" so some people might have still been believing. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Like most people I found out from the older kids who already knew and thought it would be fun to ruin Christmas for the younger kids. I never quite had to heart to tell my parents that I knew though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I found out the truth that Santa was an asshole... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Gandalf23

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Actually, I was rather relieved when I found out.
    I'd been sick in hospital and didn't get my letter to Santa written, so I got upset because I didn't think I'd be getting any presents. So my Mam told me the truth to reassure me that I would still be getting presents!

I was either 7 or 8 at the time, can't remember exactly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

I'm a robot so I was never programmed to believe in Santa.
    What a lost childhood :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Big Knox

WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON????? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Cop on to yourselves , he's real l tells ya..;)
    There is no get out clause in his contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

The Easter bunny told me. the bastard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

I found out the truth that Santa was an asshole... :(

one of the funniest films ever made

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

one of the funniest films ever made

You accidentally linked to a clip from Bad Santa. If you're quick enough you can ninja edit it and nobody will notice. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭jane86

My mother left prices on some toys and then the next year I caught my dad with the bag of toys when I was going to the bathroom :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

This thread needs spoiler tags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I was 8 or 9 when my father gave me my first atlas.
    When I grasped the actual size of the planet and the amount of people on it, I realised that there was no way that dude was getting around the whole world in one night.

There was a few bits about the solar system and the universe in it and that was the beginning of the end in the whole god thing too.

Terry wrote: »
    When I grasped the actual size of the planet and the amount of people on it, I realised that there was no way that dude was getting around the whole world in one night.

There was a few bits about the solar system and the universe in it and that was the beginning of the end in the whole god thing too.
    What if santa claus is an alien? He could just project a holographic image of himself in through your chimney, and then have scotty beam down your pressies. The cookies were abducted for further analysis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

getting the same presents for christmas that i had found in my parents bedroom let me know for 100%.

i was always suspicious because i asked for a playstation every year and never got one, even though the bold boys in school got them :mad:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Terry wrote: »

So, did you take this big hint and leave home?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭somethingwitty

In Primary school too a teacher took a nervous break down and told all the little infants "SORRY TO BURST YOUR BUBBLE... BUT THERE IS NO SANTA!!!". She sat and cried then for a few hours. Nobody knew what to do...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I don't remember what my reaction was when I found out there was no Santa, but I know it was better than this kid's:

http://www.chick.com/reading/tracts/1033/1033_01.asp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Climbing under my grandparents' bed, I found several boxes. I figured that these must be my surprise b'day gift (my b'day is a coupla weeks after xmas) and said nothing...I mentioned it later to my mum who turned around and laid out the facts. I was pretty pissed off but not surprised. I was 10.
    I've always wondered if lying to your kids about sh*t like this during the formative years of their lives is entirely a good thing...but then all the dishonesty is offset with presents so I suppose it's all good.

^just in case we have any youngsters reading :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

I don't remember what my reaction was when I found out there was no Santa, but I know it was better than this kid's:

http://www.chick.com/reading/tracts/1033/1033_01.asp

he's trying to convert you. don't fall for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I still believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Santa down here in Limerick drives around in a honda civic with weed smoke blowing out the windows and 2pac up full blast...

I believed in him until I grew up to be exactly the same....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I cant remember when i found out or how. But i do remember when my bro and his wife split up the cow told my 6yr old niece there was no santa. Why would you do that to a poor child? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

was about 9 or 10, became suspect when he still managed to find the right house, even when were on holiday and i wouldn't know which realatives house we would be in until a night or two before

milked it for another year, when still got what i wanted without even writting,

some of my older cousins tried spolling it for me a year or two ealier when they kept eating the cookies i was leaving out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

ejmaztec wrote: »
    So, did you take this big hint and leave home?
    Wasn't actually living with him at the time. I think the hint was for me to come home. :)

Kiera wrote: »
    I cant remember when i found out or how. But i do remember when my bro and his wife split up the cow told my 6yr old niece there was no santa. Why would you do that to a poor child? :mad:
    That reminds me of something one of the Smods wrote on the banlist a few months ago:
    shilling. worthless shilling. And by the way, theres a spelling error on your website, but im not telling you where.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Finding out the truth about Santa...

.......and the [url=https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/23565/48860.gif[/url] :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Kiera wrote: »
    But i do remember when my bro and his wife split up the cow told my 6yr old niece there was no santa. Why would you do that to a poor child? :mad:

Wow, I hope you slapped that bitch hard. What a bitter ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

jane86 wrote: »
    My mother left prices on some toys and then the next year I caught my dad with the bag of toys when I was going to the bathroom :rolleyes:

So you were on the bog and your dad was outside holding his sack?....and you bought his lame Santa line?.....Your dad sounds creepy and awesome all at once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭jane86

So you were on the bog and your dad was outside holding his sack?....and you bought his lame Santa line?.....Your dad sounds creepy and awesome all at once.

What? No. I caught him with the presents in the hall way when I was on the way to the bathroom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

The noise of drunken parents bring down the presents down stairs. O and the time i was bold so santa put my present in my parents room:rolleyes: About ten years later it clicked :pac:

Still tho does anyone else wish santa was real Christmas was so more exciting when you didnt know. Now all i got to look forward to is a big feed and a few bottles on the couch and falling asleep ah the good times:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Vain , he is real dammit!/stamps foot...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Vain , he is real dammit!/stamps foot...

I would hope so or else i wasted my time sending a letter looking for lego:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

I was about 9/10 and was packin the shoppin with my mam in dunnes in portmarnock and she asked "where can i get a cabbage patch doll" to the cash register girl. Its what my younger sis wanted "off santy". Was actually gutted. It was a long chin wobbling drive home :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Punchy07

I was about 8/9.Alot of the lads in school were telling me he didnt exist so I said to hell with it I'm gonna put an end to this once and for all!Went home,went straight up to my mam and asked her outright if he was real.She asked if I really wanted to know,to which I replied "yes 100%"

So she told me but the news didn't go down well and all hell broke loose,I totally lost the plot,"what ya tell me for???"called her every name under the sun lol.Difficult,difficult time:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Ah-Watch

Punchy07 wrote: »
    I was about 8/9.Alot of the lads in school were telling me he didnt exist so I said to hell with it I'm gonna put an end to this once and for all!Went home,went straight up to my mam and asked her outright if he was real.She asked if I really wanted to know,to which I replied "yes 100%"

So she told me but the news didn't go down well and all hell broke loose,I totally lost the plot,"what ya tell me for???"called her every name under the sun lol.Difficult,difficult time:o

i'm in knots laughing at this :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Groe

Well i found out just by asking my parents when i was about 11 and they knew I was old enough to know, didn't bother me too much as I had been putting the pieces together for a while.
    My sister on the other hand is 10, still beieves. She asked my mum why she wasn't allowed ask for all the things she wanted so she decided to question his existance and my mum wasn't thinking and said no he's not real. Then when my sister broke out into tears she realised what she had said and said she wasn't thinking and he was real. Then me sister asked the usual questions how does he buy all the presents etc etc. And my parents said they gave him money to buy the presents. I have been asked is he real by her a few times and I reply with " Yeah he is" and walk of to avoid any further questions. That excuse has done us good so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

It was the day my innocence died. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭BobTheBeat

Groe wrote: »
    Well i found out just by asking my parents when i was about 11 and they knew I was old enough to know, didn't bother me too much as I had been putting the pieces together for a while.
    My sister on the other hand is 10, still beieves. She asked my mum why she wasn't allowed ask for all the things she wanted so she decided to question his existance and my mum wasn't thinking and said no he's not real. Then when my sister broke out into tears she realised what she had said and said she wasn't thinking and he was real. Then me sister asked the usual questions how does he buy all the presents etc etc. And my parents said they gave him money to buy the presents. I have been asked is he real by her a few times and I reply with " Yeah he is" and walk of to avoid any further questions. That excuse has done us good so far.

I think that could be a new generation of non believer. The non believer who believes in public but in the privacy of the mind, they dont. Plawmausing your parents etc. Excellent business ethic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Found out at age 6, saw my dad carrying in the bike I asked Santa for, I tried to keep the Santa idea alive in my sister for as long as possible because its a fecking great idea and nothing beats Christmas morning when your a kid. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

We used to setup a camera to try and catch santa coming down the chimney, every year we did it and every year we missed him! Crafty old bastard I thought to myself! We always left a pint of guinness and a carrot in the shot to lure him in but every year the pint would magically be empty and the carrot half eaten (remember kids, never drink and fly reindeer!)

One year we caught santa on camera! Turns out my da used to sneak into the room behind the camera, pause the recording and place all the presents out before putting the recording back on.

We watched the video back xmas morning to see my da hammered stumbling into the room, downing the guinness and falling asleep on the chair while eating a carrot. In retrospect it was ****in hilarious but at the time not so much :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭JackieChan

Zangetsu wrote: »

We watched the video back xmas morning to see my da hammered stumbling into the room, downing the guinness and falling asleep on the chair while eating a carrot. In retrospect it was ****in hilarious but at the time not so much :P

Now that is funny.