Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crankshaft fell off, and loose again :/

Options
  • 26-11-2008 9:30am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭

Hi,

got a bike six or seven weeks ago. Everything was grand until about thee weeks in, when I started feeling a "wobble" on the left pedal. When I looked at it, I saw that the left "crank arm" (I think that's what its called - its the bit that connects the place you put your foot to the circle bit in the frame) was about half an inch out from where it connects to the "crank" (the circle bit in the frame? Sorry if I'm not using the right terms, I'm a total newbie when it comes to bikes).

I was pretty sure it used to be flush against the crank, but couldn't see any way to screw it back in closer. The day after I noticed this, I was cycling to work and the left crankshaft just -fell off the bike-.

I brought it back to the store, they "ordered in a part" to repair it, and a week later I had it back in working order.

Now this morning, I cycled to the train station and felt the exact same wobble. Checked where the crankshaft meets the crank and again, about half an inch out. I havent had any crashes, or come off the bike at all. Never threw it on the ground or did anything except cycle it to and from work. I don't want the thing to fall off again in traffic, so I'm thinking of bringing it back to the store -again- before that happens.

Has anybody else had this happen to them? Is it common? I've never even heard of the entire crankshaft just falling off before. Is there a way for me to repair it without being without my bike for a week? :/

Comments