Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

tikka tactical

• 25-11-2008 11:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭

hello all ,just picked up my new .223 t3 tactical in kilkenny today with all the mod cons ,got my license amended from a .22 to the .223 with no hassle from the guards at all ,which was very surprising fair play to them only waaiting week and a half ,im fecking delighted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭sfakiaman

endasmail wrote: »
    hello all ,just picked up my new .223 t3 tactical in kilkenny today with all the mod cons ,got my license amended from a .22 to the .223 with no hassle from the guards at all ,which was very surprising fair play to them only waaiting week and a half ,im fecking delighted

Congratulations I'm sure you'll enjoy it. Kudos for remarks on Guards, in my neck of the woods the guards are slow, but I've never been treated with anything but respect. It's the politicians we have to beware of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

Best of luck Enda. I have one myself. I've got a heap of ammo for it - 40gr nosler, 50 gr nosler, 50 gr AE hollo point, 52 gr HPBT Hornady and 40gr BT Hornady.

I've only had a chance to really fire the 50gr AE hollow point and they are good for the price. Best shot was 232yds at a fox at night and he only went 2 or 3 steps. Not bad at all.

I've fired the 40gr BT Hornady and got good results for groups sub 1" @ 100yds. I used acetone to remove the moly coat as I wouldn't be too fond of it in the bore.

Above all enjoy it, and don't be afraid to shoot it - rifles like the tactical are for more than just looking at!!!

Out of curiosity, what glass are you going to mount on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭endasmail

had it out today ,my ear still ringing from the shot,absolutely brilliant gun to fire i have a swift 6-24x 50 glass on it ,was zeroing in today with the cheap remington rounds ,the 45 grain ones ,took me 20 rounds to get the zero right on it,am going out tonight see can i see any foxes

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

endasmail wrote: »
    had it out today ,my ear still ringing from the shot

Get yourself some ear protection before you permanently damage your hearing. It doesn't take much to cause irreversible damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

+1 to IRLConor, imagine what the 223 is like on a still night. BTW ya know what the thready bit on the end of the barrel is for.......??:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭endasmail

ha ha yea wont be making that mistake twice