Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Queenstown

Options
  • 25-11-2008 6:24pm
    Registered Users Posts: 691 ✭✭✭

My girlfriend and i have decided that we are gonna move to NZ for a year at least. Having done a small bit of research into the various cities we have decided that Queenstown is the place for us. Flights booked for Febuary. Can anyone enlighten us on what to expect here. Will it be hard to get work? i have a degree in Civil Engineering while she has a nursing qualification.
    any information regarding the general standard of life out there will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Cmol

Queenstown is the most amazing city in the world! I absolutely love it, would live there if I could!

I don't know much about living there, but I know it has a high cost of living in relation to the rest of New Zealand and not neccesarily the wages to match.

I would say dont put all your eggs in the same basket at this point, go over in Feb, suss things out, see if it really is the city for you and what the work situation is like - www.trademe.co.nz or www.monster.co.nz for jobs would be your best bet, try trademe for apartments too, maybe have a look at kiwicareers.co.nz for average wages to give yourself a vague idea.

Don't know how much help this is but best of luck and I might see ya there next year :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 132 ✭✭88show

PaddyCar wrote: »