Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girlfriend going away

• 24-11-2008 11:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

My girlfriend of 9 months has gone away to work in the Alps for the winter. I’m at uni but would go home and see her usually most weekends. Basically I love her to bits! And I know she feels the same about me. She is everything to me and (as much as I hate admitting it) my days would revolve around her, in that I used to love getting calls and texts and whatnot, they’d make my day. Now she’s gone away I know things will change.

I’ve been told by some friends that over the summer I didn’t pay enough attention to them and I know it’s true because lately I’ve been left out of activities etc. I’m worried that things are going to get very lonely and I won’t be able to handle that. My girlfriend and I have decided to try and make it work but being a student it’ll be very very expensive to go out and visit her and she hasn’t planned on coming home till nearer March.

I’m not normally one to moan and complain but I feel I’ve worked so hard on this relationship and I’m not willing to give up on it. She has been my life the last few months and I don’t want that to change. Maybe I’m being silly and should just accept it but it’s very difficult. It’d be different I suppose if we she had left on bad terms or that the relationship was fading out but we still love each other as much as ever (if not more) and the week before she went was fantastic. I’m not looking for any answers but just a word from a few people who may have gone through something similar.

Sorry for the rant.

Original post:

hi all. not used to doing this kind of thing but here goes. my girlfriend of 9 months has gone away to work in the alps for the winter. im at uni but would go home and see her usually most weekends. basically i love her to bits! and i know she feels the same about me. she is everything to me and (as much as i hate admitting it ) my days would revolve around her. in that i used to love getting calls and texts and whatnot, theyd make my day. now shes gone away i know things will change. iv been told by some friends that over the summer i didnt pay enough attention to them and i know its true because lately iv been left out of activites etc.. im worried that things are going to get very lonely and i wont be able to handle that. my girlfriend and i have decided to try and make it work but being a student itl be very very expensive to go out and visit her and she hasnt planned on coming home till nearer march. im not normally one to moan and complain but i feel iv worked so hard on this relationship and im not willing to give up on it. she has been my life the last few months and i dont want that to change. maybe im being silly and should just accept it but its very difficult. itd be different i suppose if we she had left on bad terms or that the relationship was fadeing out but we still love eachother as much as ever (if not more) and the week before she went was fantastic. im not looking for any answers but just a word from a few people who may have gone through something similar. sorry for the rant.
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭crazzzzy

It's harder being the one left at home than the one going away. Try not make your gf feel guilty over leaving because this is an exciting experience for her.

Now is the time to apologise to those mates you've been neglecting & catch up with them. What did you do with your spare time before you met your gf? Its very easy to drop your friends/hobbies when you meet someone new but hopefully this will teach you that you shouldn't rely on one person too much.

Of course the relationship will change cause ye won't see eachother much or at all until march but it's only a few months & you have college & exams to focus on aswell.

I had a long distance relationship a few years ago but I was young & we ended up breaking up after he came home but not because of the distance. While he was away we would write & phone eachother all the time....infact it was much more exciting than having him close by cause we would really look forward to whenever we could talk/see eachother. The letters were great cause when we left lonely & couldn't talk, we could re-read the letters.

If the relationship is strong enough, then ye will survive....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

just be glad you have such a great relationship! and if you love her so much a few months wont be too bad, its not the whole year be grateful for that.

it'll be tough but not half as tough if you guys had broken up or something. you'll still be in contact with her, and this could make you both realise how much you love each other. so its not so bad at all really!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭napapa

I spent 9 months away from my girl, done two semesters away with college, was probably the best thing that happened to us, came home and still together 4 years on. Wish her all the best and get yourself on the beer with the lads,whats meant to be will be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

distance can sometimes do amazing things for a relationship, just imagine how good it will be when she comes home and you see her for the first time in 3 months. its one of the best feelings in the world!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

If you love her and she loves you it will all work out. We're practically into Decembr now so you only have a 3 months wait and the xmas period goes very quickly.

Who knows she might even surprise you with a visit herself, but don't push it.

You made a rookie mistake by not keeping up contact with your friends, but friends are friends and they'll include you if you make a real effort.

Just make sure that you don't drop them again when your girl come back from the Alps or it will be more difficult should something like this happen again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

thanks for all the replys. i guess things just feel different ya know? im still always thinking about her and what she might be up to and silly things like that but at the same time i know not to be constantly texting her and to give her space.otherwise that would drive her away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭Slaygal

I went away twice with Uni leaving my boyfriend behind,. The trick is to keep yourself busy. Text or call your mates and make an effort to keep in touch with them. 3 months will fly by for you both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

You'll be grand. It's not far away at all, the time will fly past and you have a chance to start sessioning with your mates again.