Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Garda leaves the force.

• 24-11-2008 5:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭

A garda leaves the force one day.

He hands in hhis badge, signs whatever he has to sign, and leaves.

Gets a new job, but after a year decides it was the worst decision he's made, and he wants back in.

Can he just be a Garda again, by signing a few forms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭opti76

no he has to go through it all again ..

templmore etc .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Most jobs have a sabattical period.

Try this scenario. A guard decides to travel to Australia for a year and comes back, can he go back to work. ...........

The distinction you are making is in your head.

I'm sure when you start talking longer than a few years a refresher course will be required but I doubt you'd have to train again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Here if you leave the job you have to reapply, do an interview, submit references, do a medical and a fitness test and be vetted again. This is provided its within 4 years of you having left. On passing the assessments you then do a refresher course. Outside of 4 years its back to training school.

I would suggest you will have to reapply through publicjobs during a competition, and it will be a little bit more involved than filling in a few forms unfortunately, most likely Templemore again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭opti76

Try this scenario. A guard decides to travel to Australia for a year and comes back, can he go back to work. ...........

I'm sure when you start talking longer than a few years a refresher course will be required but I doubt you'd have to train again.

we have a career break for between 1-5 years..

based on educational requirements and domestic responsibilities..

nce you resign you have to go through it all again ..

applying ,aptitude test,interview, phase1-5 , probation etc.

i know a man in galway that has doen this .. never asked him about pension or years service etc???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭bryanmurr

Nope, if you quit then you have quit and have to do the training again. career breaks are available though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

Maybe I should have pointed out that it's one big hypothetical, and that it doesn't apply to me at all!

Was just interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

sunnyjim wrote: »
    Maybe I should have pointed out that it's one big hypothetical, and that it doesn't apply to me at all!

Was just interested.

That would've been handy alright!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

if you resign you resign just like any job. Taking a career break is something different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

The question of being granted that career break is another matter.

With recessive times ahead would it be a Government strategy/incentive to temporarily free up revenue?

/goes to pack bags just in case ;).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

For some reason I took it for granted you guys would by like the Defence Forces.

We get 90 days pre-retirement leave (P.D.L.) plus whatever annual leave you have to decide if civilian life is for you., which means if you work it out properly we can take up to four months paid leave while we work outside and if at the end of that time we decide to come back we walk straight back in.

But like you guys, if the day after we're dsicharged we change out mind, its back to the drawing board.

Is it difficult to have that 90 days sanctioned, Mairt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭jake59

sunnyjim wrote: »
    A garda leaves the force one day.

He hands in hhis badge, signs whatever he has to sign, and leaves.

Gets a new job, but after a year decides it was the worst decision he's made, and he wants back in.

Can he just be a Garda again, by signing a few forms?

Speaking from personal experience here lads.... each case is taken on its own merits. If a Garda was working in a specialised area he/she would find it easier to make a case for rejoining having had resigned. From my own experience I resigned and decided to come back in so I had to go through the whole process again (aptitude, medical etc.) but once accepted back in I just had to go through Phase 3 again, get attested and then I was back to work. I was gone 2 years from the job at this stage. At the end of the day the decision lies with the Commissioner.

You had to go through Phase 3 again..? Were you required to go through Phase 4 and the Dissertation malarchy a second time? How about the diary?

It's something that would put me off rejoining should I ever leave the job..

You had to go through Phase 3 again..? Were you required to go through Phase 4 and the Dissertation malarchy a second time? How about the diary?

It's something that would put me off rejoining should I ever leave the job..

no.. just phase 3. it was classed as a refamiliarisation course... just to get you back into the swing of things i suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Are you glad you came back to it jake?

metman wrote: »
    Are you glad you came back to it jake?

yes... still the same job but i am enjoying it more now because i am sure now that its what i want to do:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

jake59 wrote: »
    yes... still the same job but i am enjoying it more now because i am sure now that its what i want to do:D

fair play to you jake, must have taken a bit of guts to go looking for the job back. glad your enjoying it now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Jake,
    Did you join another force, travel or was it a case of just thinking it wasnt for you?

Jake,
    Did you join another force, travel or was it a case of just thinking it wasnt for you?

it was a big decision to leave and went to a job with better money, conditions etc etc but just felt there was something missing and I came to the conclusion that some of us are just made to be guards. it takes a certain type of person. I couldn't handle the slow pace of civvie street either.. i felt like i had retired

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

jake59 wrote: »
    it was a big decision to leave and went to a job with better money, conditions etc etc but just felt there was something missing and I came to the conclusion that some of us are just made to be guards. it takes a certain type of person. I couldn't handle the slow pace of civvie street either.. i felt like i had retired

I know what you are talking about but from the other way around. I have relatives in the job long before I joined so I kinda knew the life of a guard. Civvie life for me represented a long, slow and painful death until I joined that is!!!!!!

TheNog wrote: »
    I know what you are talking about but from the other way around. I have relatives in the job long before I joined so I kinda knew the life of a guard. Civvie life for me represented a long, slow and painful death until I joined that is!!!!!!

most of my family are in the guards on my mother's side but ye have to find out for yourself...