Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need advice

• 23-11-2008 11:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭

Ok so I've a big problem.

Got stopped for speeding two days ago and had stupidly taken my licence as ID two days beforehand so didn't have it on me. The guard told me I need to produce it with my insurance cert at the garda station. All fine.
    I have a provisional since the last day they were issued last year. The thing is, when I got home that day and found it, it's actually out of date since the end of October. I had totally forgotten about even checking the expiry date on it. It didn't even cross my mind recently. What do I do now? Do I go and get a new learners permit and hope they don't notice that it's new? Or take my provisional to the station and hope they don't notice it's out of date? Or what?

I can't believe this is after happening. I've never been caught speeding before or pulled on anything and it happens now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

The only thing you can do is go in and explain your situation. It's a dodgey enough topic to be discussing on a forum. You might not have been covered for insurance etc. etc.

I wouldn't advise driving until you get your licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭gowayouttadat

I know. I haven't driven all weekend since obviously I couldn't get a new licence over the weekend. But if I get a new licence first thing in the morning they'll take the old one off me so I really need to decide what to do before doing that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

It's no big deal really, just go in and explain your case.

Do you think it'll make a difference that it's a provisional/learners permit?

It all depends. You'll have to wait and see when you go in. Did you have a full licence driver?

Yes, but the guard didn't ask at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Don't loose sleep over it anyway, remember worrying never solved anything and considering half the country is driving on L plates, they'll probably just write in in a book and that will be that, probably will get penalty points though.

junkyard wrote: »
    Don't loose sleep over it anyway, remember worrying never solved anything and considering half the country is driving on L plates, they'll probably just write in in a book and that will be that, probably will get penalty points though.

I have been losing sleep over it. So bloody worried. I don't mind the points too much, just don't want anything more serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭oddone

I have been losing sleep over it. So bloody worried. I don't mind the points too much, just don't want anything more serious.

You were just asked to present your license, that's all, so don't worry about it.
    They might keep a record of it as stated above but nothing more.

oddone wrote: »
    You were just asked to present your license, that's all, so don't worry about it.
    They might keep a record of it as stated above but nothing more.

What I want to know really is do people think I should come straight out and say it to them that it's expired and I hadn't noticed? Or should I just say nothing and see if something is said?

To be honest, i'm sure they know everything. If you lie and they find out, it'll be alot worse. Although you could white lie, and just hand in your licence, "unknown" that it's out of date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

From personal experience a good few years back in similar circumstances involving an expired license, do the following:

Don't lie, or try to cover up the fact it's expired.

Go to the station and present your expired provisional tomorrow morning, or as soon as possible. Get them to write it up in the book anyway, even if it's out of date. Let the Garda on the desk know you'll be back with the replacement as soon as you get it. Then go to the motor tax office and apply for the replacement. Go and produce it as soon as you receive it, usually around a week later.

It's worth following up on this with the Garda who actually stopped you, as they'll be the one filling in the details on Pulse for what exactly you've done wrong. If you've sorted a replacement quickly, they'll most likely leave it be, as they'll arguably only waste the courts time otherwise.

You'll get the points and fine in the post....Pay it up immediately, and don't argue it.

*If* you're summoned for not having a valid license, as may occur if the Garda has already put the prosecution in motion by the time you speak with him/her, simply go to court having paid the fine promptly, and advise the judge that you presented the expired license immediately at the station and applied for the renewal same day etc.

The Garda will in all likelihood request it to be struck out anyway, as long as you take care of it as soon as you can and don't be an arse. ;)

And relax, it's not the end of the world. We all forget these things from time to time, and the Gardaí understand that.

Gil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

OP as Gil has said its no big deal at all if the licence is expired. Just get a renewal soon as. If its a case that you won't get the new licence back before the 10 days and you know which station the guard is from, get in touch with him or her and let them know the story.

Also an expired licence does not invalidate your insurance so you have no worry there at all.

TBH I have seen this happened to so many people but its no big deal. As long as you make it known that you are doing something about it and as quick as possible then you should be grand.

Thanks everyone. Will try and get it sorted today. I'll bring the expired one and completed application form to the guards so they can see I'm getting a new one.
    I don't know where the guard that stopped me was from or his name or anything.

Just an update incase anyone is in a similar position. Called to the garda station today. The two guards I was dealing with were both really nice. Said it happens to everyone. I need to bring back in my insurance cert with the licence and they'll look up what guard stopped me, give me his name and let me contact him.
    Still not sure what the outcome will be, it depends on what the garda who stopped me decides to do but hopefully it'll be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Questquery

Hi, in a similar situation, stopped and couldnt find licence but was in a real tizzy and didnt mention that I am on a provisional licence.
    Garda tole me to present the licence at a station within ten days so I have done that but now worried as it is a provisional licence - will he follow up or issue summons? Could you let me know how your situation turned out?