Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

J-1

• 17-11-2008 9:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭

jaysus. is that what its like goin away with people ur own age? **** that im stayin with my parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

They do not represent me as a student.:mad: And one of them seems like an unstable human being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Ok show so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭camel toe

well im not hating on the show just the people in it. like wtf are they doin?

its defo interestin in ways

lmao jellys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Load of crap tbh. Tabloid TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I already dislike that dude who wrecked his heel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Bond-007 wrote: »
    Load of crap tbh. Tabloid TV.

And we were expecting what exactly? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭decob

Well when you compare it with the other crap that is shown on tv presently - colin and jim jim... i'm a celeb blah blah... It's actually quite good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,108 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

I'm surprised RTE allowed so much bad language, nudity, binge drinking etc
    Expect to hear calls into Joe Duffy tomorrow with people saying this is disgraceful stuff :rolleyes:
    Besides that I think its mildly entertaining, pretty much the same kind of stuff I got up to on a J1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭beanyb

I worked in Rock Island (the 50's diner with the dancing) when I was in Hawaii in 2007. Feckin gas seeing it on the telly! I'm pretty glad I didnt have RTE filming me doing that dance.

I only watched it because I saw Rock Island on the ad. But it actually wasnt as bad as I expected!

Expect to hear calls into Joe Duffy tomorrow with people saying this is disgraceful stuff :rolleyes:
    Besides that I think its mildly entertaining, pretty much the same kind of stuff I got up to on a J1

Plus they told a Diana joke and a story about some woman who died after having sex with a horse (while they were chatting up some girls :rolleyes:).

The binge drinking and that is hardly bad - as long as they don't glorify it or show them drink driving then RTE won't have a problem with it I wouldn't think.

Jumping off balcony's and fracturing your heel?:pac:

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    Jumping off balcony's and fracturing your heel?:pac:

I know at least 3 people who have done that on J1 summers or down in Australia.

When are they going to show them living in squalor and wrecking apartments and then sloping off home as if nothing happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

That guy with the heel is ever so gay. The guy who got the job in the comic book store seemed the coolest. Either way, I probably won't be tuning in again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭2fivers

decob wrote: »
    Well when you compare it with the other crap that is shown on tv presently - colin and jim jim... i'm a celeb blah blah... It's actually quite good.

:D Faint praise indeed. "A mildly painful bowel infection is better than a very painful bowel infection".

I Didn't like it, but to be fair, the programme wasn't aimed at me. I have a job, and good taste. :D

m83 wrote: »
    That guy with the heel is ever so gay. The guy who got the job in the comic book store seemed the coolest. Either way, I probably won't be tuning in again.

that chap was a goon. i bullied people like him in skool.

the soundest was the ginger and the girl working in that place didnt do anything that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

m83 wrote: »
    The guy who got the job in the comic book store seemed the coolest. Either way, I probably won't be tuning in again.
    I'm not sure. That comic store owner looked like he was eying him up, and he liked it.

camel toe wrote: »
    i bullied people like him in skool.

Weren't you the big man? :rolleyes:

episode_03.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭jane86

Holsten wrote: »
    I already dislike that dude who wrecked his heel.

Well, his own friends seemed to be getting a bit annoyed with him.

i think i remember him from the tute.

camel toe wrote: »
    that chap was a goon. i bullied people like him in skool.

the soundest was the ginger and the girl working in that place didnt do anything that bad.

Wasn't he the one who said "we're not going to wreck the place, we're not Liverpool fans like".:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Todays episode of Seasame Street was brought to you by the letter J and the number 1 and featured a whole load of muppets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

Pure sh*te is what it was. That guy who jumped off the balcony was just a spoilt little rich kid throwing a temper tantrum. Hate f***ers like him. :mad: The lads in San Diego are all really immature. I did a J1 a few years ago and we were all 19/20 but we didn't go around acting like retards. They just give students/J1ers a bad name.

The other gang in hawaii seem much more normal. They should be fairly entertaining

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Edlemming

I thought it was pretty good to be honest, I know I was worse on mine.

The guys next week seem interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭phenomenon

I thought it was a great show! The Dublin lads are the exact kind of people I like to hang out with. They know how to have a laugh!

Now the other group look like a bunch of boring bastards. The type that spend their whole J1 concentrating on work. "Lets get pissed tonight and ride dirty prostitutes!" - "I can't I've got work tommorrow." Eh kinda missing the pont of going abroad for the summer.
    I even doubht they're from Dundalk...some of the group had strong Northern Irish accents.

I'll be tuning in next week to see what the Galway gang are like :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Edlemming

I heard the D4 heads on spin fm yesterday and one dude said he worked all year to pay for the trip.

Its supposed to be a ****in' holiday, no? Give them a break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭coillcam

I was thinking a few years ago while I was in college that this would have been a fantastic idea for Irish reality TV.

I'm annoyed I missed the first episode myself but I was thinking though that there would be a certain level of acting up to the camera and some staged scenes but then again isn't that what reality TV is all about......

Night give it a bash next week.

phenomenon wrote: »
    I thought it was a great show! The Dublin lads are the exact kind of people I like to hang out with. They know how to have a laugh!

Now the other group look like a bunch of boring bastards. The type that spend their whole J1 concentrating on work. "Lets get pissed tonight and ride dirty prostitutes!" - "I can't I've got work tommorrow." Eh kinda missing the pont of going abroad for the summer.
    I even doubht they're from Dundalk...some of the group had strong Northern Irish accents.

I'll be tuning in next week to see what the Galway gang are like :D

ok i agree and dont agree.

the other group were boring in ways but working adds to the crack i would think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Not a good show, it could be good with the right people.

I have to laugh due to the fact that there is about 2000 Irish that go to San Diego every summer and they choose to follow four unlikeable 'Tute' lads that are living out in the sticks of San Diego. I was out in SD in 2006 for the summer and there is only two places to you should live...In Mission/Pacific beach or In the city. It's completely apparent that these fellows did not do any preplanning whatsoever and now live, 2 and a half hours from the beach or close to it. Which also begs the question of what we will see them do for the rest of the series.

Week 1 - Oh, drink in the house...have a bitch fight

Week 2 - drink in the house...have a bitch fight

Week 3 - drink in the house...have a bitch fight, cause damage to the house, ring Mummy and Daddy to send money to fix the mess.

Not quite.
    Week 3 - drink in the house...have a bitch fight, cause damage to the house, ring Mummy and Daddy to send money to fix the mess.
    Should be:
    Week 3 - drink in the house...have a bitch fight, cause damage to the house, leg it back to Ireland before the cops catch you.