Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boxing betting thread, tips etc..

• 14-11-2008 1:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭

I'll start it with the British title fight tonight between Kevin McIntyre and the present champ Kell Brook, im going with Kell Brook 1/2 on, he's 17 fights unbeaten and at 22 is fresh, Mcintyre lost the title by it been stripped due to injury but he's lost 5 of his 31 fights and still works as a post man but has a good punch so has a punchers chance as they say..

Anyway, he's 1/2 on which is not bad in my opinion..

Opinions welcome and if you want to add a fight to talk about add it at any time, please keep it with actual fights you will bet on though!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Potentially good thread.

I agree with Brook being a good pick. Just go for outright as it could be a late stoppage or clear points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

I did look at Kell Brook alright. Not bad odds.

What are the odds on Bika beating Manfredo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Sligobhoy Bika hammered Manfredo last night.

I fancy Kell Brook to win here, he's a little chinny and his stamina isn't great but at domestic level he's lightening quick and has good power.

McIntyre is a good technical fighter, not really that bad a hitter(despite what Cowzerp thinks ;)) and is pretty fragile. He beat Anderson because he absolutely schooled him both times. Had Anderson been able to land anything clean with any regularity he would of taken McIntyre out. Brook will be able to land, he'll get caught himself though. I just think it's more likely for Brook to get the knockout and with the odds on him he's not a bad bet.

Brook mid rounds tko

Big Ears wrote: »
    Sligobhoy Bika hammered Manfredo last night.

I fancy Kell Brook to win here, he's a little chinny and his stamina isn't great but at domestic level he's lightening quick and has good power.

McIntyre is a good technical fighter, not really that bad a hitter(despite what Cowzerp thinks ;)) and is pretty fragile. He beat Anderson because he absolutely schooled him both times. Had Anderson been able to land anything clean with any regularity he would of taken McIntyre out. Brook will be able to land, he'll get caught himself though. I just think it's more likely for Brook to get the knockout and with the odds on him he's not a bad bet.

Brook mid rounds tko

I'm good amint I!! I thought it was tomorrow night. :o

I doubt you're the only one around here who thought Bika would stop Manfredo.

However if it makes you feel any better, you're a prophet, tell us more all knowledgeable man from Sligo :rolleyes:.............;)

Big Ears wrote: »
    I doubt you're the only one around here who thought Bika would stop Manfredo.

However if it makes you feel any better, you're a prophet, tell us more all knowledgeable man from Sligo :rolleyes:.............;)

Vasyl Lomachenko to beat Araik Ambartsumov on points tomorrow!! :D

I'll try and get some photos for ye

Taylor to beat Lacy by decision/tech. dec. is 11/10 on Betfair right now. I think that's good value. Gonna have a go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭ODD-JOB

Ladcrooks giving 11/4 (3.75) for taylor to win by KO/tko/disqualification !

Thats a decent price,.... considering feather-fisted calzaghe had rocked lacy.
    Sorry, had to get that jibe in :)

Maybe, but I think that beating proved Lacy has an excellent chin, so there's a good possibility it will go the full 12.

Ada boy Taylor. €108 more in the account.

I think covering all the distance options in the Hatton/Malignaggi fight could be a strong option. Thinking seriously about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

I'd just do a straght out win bet in that fight, or not bet on it at all maybe! it is a genuine close call imo!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

That's my whole point though.

I think it will go the distance and amn't 100% certain on the outcome, so in instances like that I bet differing amounts on each to win on points and the draw. If it goes the full 12 you win regardless.

That's what I did with Cal/Hop, Valuev/Ruiz, Valuev/Chagaev and a number of others.

The only problem is cuts and with two white guys that's always a possibility.

Well, as for example in the Dunne fight , the results was settled as "Dunne on points" winner.

but should the cut have been caused by a punch , then its TKO .

I managed to back Dunne @ 1/3 whilst the debating went on with the doctor etc.
    People who arent too sure of the rules were desperate to lay Dunne on betfair.

Nice couple of quid for a few seconds work.

There's an option now on Betfair for either fighter to win by "decision or Technical Decision" which definitely helps in relation to the accidental headbutts.

And strangely enough the odds in that market are always slightly better than the straight points victory ??

yeah,.. thats true !
    Did you see there was a heap of money requesting 23/1 for the draw in the "Methods of victory" section.
    The draw in the "Match Odds" section was 30/1.

I layed €xxx worth at 23/1 , and having been getting 33/1 matched today to green up.

Boxing is good sport to trade on betfair, as you get all the drunks in willing to take any price on offer !!
    Im looking at hatton to win @ 1.50 today on Betfair , I know he'll be backed down to 1.40 by the time fight night arrives.

roughly 90% betfair customers live in UK / Ireland , and the lob-sided betting pattern will side with Hatton.
    Id say a 1/3 of all punters that night will never have heard of Paulie Malinaggi !!!

All drunken bets will be thrown on Hatton to win by K.O !
    which is very unlikely to happen. will be trying to snap 5.0 or anything over , and re-lay come fight hour.

Anyway a while back Ladbrkes were offering 50/1 on Malinaggi to win in rounds 10-12 inclusive.... Hatton always gasses out at the end . thought that might be worth a 5'er .

Odd-Job, you sure are on the ball. I only pop into Betfair occasionally to do a quick check on what I fancy, but certainly what you're saying is very true and if I put my mind to it there could be some easy money to be made.

Keep up the tips, you've got me interested now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

paddy powers odds on the Hatton fight has paulie at 80/1 to stop the fight in a particular round.
    I know the guy doesnt have a knockout punch but its got to be worth a tenner and a lucky guess.

raven136 wrote: »
    paddy powers odds on the Hatton fight has paulie at 80/1 to stop the fight in a particular round.
    I know the guy doesnt have a knockout punch but its got to be worth a tenner and a lucky guess.

He has a small chance of stopping Hatton on cuts(very small), but no chance of legitimately stopping him. He's as feather fisted as a guy gets.

I hear you Big-Ears...... this one's going the distance !

I do think he's(P.M.) a little stronger than his reputation. He has re-occuring problems with one of his hands , and thats partly responsible for his slick point scoring style.
    Paulie did however land some big shots on Cotto, as I remember.
    He may not Knock him out as such , but im just thinking more along the lines of Hatton exhausting by round 11 or 12.
    Will this be at 140lbs or 147 ?

It's 140 and what's with all this recent questioning of Hatton's stamina ?

As I said, barring cuts, this has 12 rounds written all over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

ODD-JOB wrote: »
    I hear you Big-Ears...... this one's going the distance !

I do think he's(P.M.) a little stronger than his reputation. He has re-occuring problems with one of his hands , and thats partly responsible for his slick point scoring style.
    Paulie did however land some big shots on Cotto, as I remember.
    He may not Knock him out as such , but im just thinking more along the lines of Hatton exhausting by round 11 or 12.
    Will this be at 140lbs or 147 ?

Malignaggi isn't as physicially strong as Mayweather neither has he any power so he won't be able to keep Hatton at bay. Billy Graham was against Hatton fighting at 147 because he knew he struggled at this weight. There is no way stamina will be an issue for Hatton at 140. This fight come down to whether Malignaggi is slick enough off the backfoot to counter Hatton's relentless agression. Also, it will be interesting to see if Mayweather snr has thought the old dog new tricks about defensive fighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I think a DRAW could be a distinct possibility with Hatton ad Mal. I have wagered
    50 Euro at 25-1 on this. I figure that both men are tough and both are fit and both will take each others shots. This one looks like a distance fight, even though my prediction in the poll is for Mal by TKO late.

It's too difficult to predict a RD win, and a DRAW gives back the most money by far.
    The other thing is that see a lot of the rds being very even and hard to score.

^^
    Which is exactly why I think covering all the distance options is a good tactic.

Sorry to change subject slightly,.... but Betfair has a market in the boxing section : Boxing Specials

"Will Amir Khan be a World Champion by 1st Jan 2009 at 12:00:00pm GMT?
    This market will be settled as Yes if Amir Khan wins a World Title belt under the following governing bodies: WBC, WBA, IBF, IBO and WBO, before the above date and time."

http://sports.betfair.com/Index.do?mi=20511472&ex=1&origin=MRL

Anyway , Im getting matched @ 1.10 or 1/10 that he wont be !
    People are clearly not reading the rules here, as the market is being phrased :
    Khan to be world champion ?

Every day over the last while there's been a fair few quid traded at that price.

Khan fights Oisin Fagan on 6th of december or something like that . He's talking about his following fight to be staged in 2009 in the U.S.

What a great interest rate for 6 weeks !!

Yeah, I've seen that market but was unsure of the time parameters.
    Where did you get the definitive rules of this market ?

click the link i posted ,... and on the upper right side of the page there is a tab for "Rules".

still getting more matched @ 1/9 today .... all my money is being tied up though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 891 ✭✭✭conceited

James Kirkland v Brian Vera
    Vera's 40-1 on paddypower to win from rounds 1-10.
    I put a fiver on vera to tko in round 8 smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

ODD-JOB wrote: »
    Sorry to change subject slightly,.... but Betfair has a market in the boxing section : Boxing Specials

"Will Amir Khan be a World Champion by 1st Jan 2009 at 12:00:00pm GMT?
    This market will be settled as Yes if Amir Khan wins a World Title belt under the following governing bodies: WBC, WBA, IBF, IBO and WBO, before the above date and time."

http://sports.betfair.com/Index.do?mi=20511472&ex=1&origin=MRL

Anyway , Im getting matched @ 1.10 or 1/10 that he wont be !
    QUOTE]

So if you go on betfair and basically say "€100 says khan wont be world champ by the end of the year" at 1/10 chances are someone will take you up on that and you are a tenner up?

and how does betfair work? people betting against each other?

Yeah,... exactly joe-penguin.
    You can also sell aswell as back.
    It's very complicated at first , but well worth attending .

its stock + shares for sports !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭Bernard Hopkins

B Vera 12/1 to win by ko/tko/disq .(Iadbrokes)

Vera's the heavier man , cest possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

nice of you to drop by Bernard. tell us are you going to fight Kessler

Goddamn you Buddy McGirt !
    Lost a packet on it being stopped, but have to say I had a feeling from about the 9th that he was going to do that. Should have gone with my instinct and covered that angle, but...