Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deer poaching!!!

• 13-11-2008 6:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭

:mad: Their at it this year again here in Donegal gob****es out at night shooting deer leaving them laying there then, and some left laying in a field with no head and others shooting them at night and selling the deer to dog handlers across the border for dog food :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Deer Hunter DL

seen this on the IDS web site,

Reported in the Daily Star - Friday 07.11.2008

Anger over Illegal Deer Hunt Teens

People as young as 18 are illegally hunting wild deer - using high powered rifles - in Co. Donegal.

A National Parks and Wildlife spokesman has confirmed it received reports of illegal hunting and wounding of animals in the Ballybofey area and has informed the Gardai.

One legitimate hunter and licence holder form East Donegal told The Star;

"These boys are between 18-20 years old - they are shooting deer and leaving them to die a slow death.

The boys do not have licences for their guns, let alone licences for hunting deer.

The Gardai need to clamp down hard on these boys before it is too late"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Well if they have no licences for firearms we have to presume someone does. Therfore, the solution is simple to me. If someone 'lends' a "high-power" rifle to someone who is not licenced to have it then impound firearm and revoke licence. If the firearm is unlicenced then there is legislation there to deal with that too. And if the shooter isn't licenced to shoot deer there is legislation there to deal with that too.

Well if they have no licences for firearms we have to presume someone does. Therfore, the solution is simple to me. If someone 'lends' a "high-power" rifle to someone who is not licenced to have it then impound firearm and revoke licence. If the firearm is unlicenced then there is legislation there to deal with that too.

but its lads with licenced firearms that is at it too :mad:

Well get reg. numbers of vehicles, I reckon they have to drive and park somewhere. Then report 'em to Wildlife Service and Gardai. No no more you can do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

seen this on the IDS web site,

Reported in the Daily Star - Friday 07.11.2008

Anger over Illegal Deer Hunt Teens

People as young as 18 are illegally hunting wild deer - using high powered rifles - in Co. Donegal.

A National Parks and Wildlife spokesman has confirmed it received reports of illegal hunting and wounding of animals in the Ballybofey area and has informed the Gardai.

One legitimate hunter and licence holder form East Donegal told The Star;

"These boys are between 18-20 years old - they are shooting deer and leaving them to die a slow death.

The boys do not have licences for their guns, let alone licences for hunting deer.

The Gardai need to clamp down hard on these boys before it is too late"
    i heard that allrigrt DL ,but its nation wide .wicklow is a free for all no one gives a fxxk ,there is only a few care and its hard going .we have a few brilliant guards in wicklow who go out of there way to stop gun crime and poaching thats what it is gun crime .and the park lads are out as much as they can .i cant under stand why the hunters in wicklow put up with it .i think they dont see the big picture .or maybe more to the fact there dont care about the animals they hunt as long as they get a shot at the weekend after that who CARES .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

Poaching? In Ireland?
    It's more likely than you think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Nimrod69

Its just the same up here in fermanagh, although ive only come across 1 deer shot with what looked like .22 a few times. I cant uncerstand the mentality , im out walking the country totally legal and someone whos neither legal nor a FAC holders is shooting what every they like when ever they like spols it for every one.
    Another problem ive stumbbled on is the practice of signing up land and not shooting on it, stopping others from its possible use...naughty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

I do not agree with any form of poaching but you have to call a spade a spade. As long as serious game management structures are not being set up as a cooperation of NPWS, farmers and hunters and deer numbers keep spiraling this is only going to get worse.

As for the use of unlicensed rifles : that's a more serious issue. The illegal taking of game wouldn't even be a priority in my books in those cases. The circulation of illegal firearms is a lot worse than "say nothing" venison.

I do not agree with any form of poaching but you have to call a spade a spade. As long as serious game management structures are not being set up as a cooperation of NPWS, farmers and hunters and deer numbers keep spiraling this is only going to get worse.

As for the use of unlicensed rifles : that's a more serious issue. The illegal taking of game wouldn't even be a priority in my books in those cases. The circulation of illegal firearms is a lot worse than "say nothing" venison.
    you are ALL WRONG here your looking for the npws and the guards to stop poaching ,get up off your holes and keep a eye on your ground .stop it your self .if you have a group hunting a area get a rota going and look after your own ,a well shot deer is worth 1.50 euro a kg on the market thats a lot of money ,a trophy stag is worth 1000 bucks plus to a client is this not theft ?.if your having a problem and every one has one ring the guards and the npws tell whats going on ..tell them your out on patrol and ask them to help .it is gun crime .the likes of the nargc should be shouting about this .i had the nargc s top man out for a stalk a few years ago and we seen two guys lamping the field beside my woods .he could not have cared less, maybe its time to change the guys looking after our interests as i think there only looking after them selves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Don't get me wrong JW, I do believe we as hunters have a responsibility giving the NPWS and Gardai all possible assistance in combatting poaching. If the Rangers and the Gardai aren't given information you can hardly expect them to act on something they aren't aware of. They can't be everywhere all the time.

I often go for a little spin around my area, mind you it's small game only, and some of our guys in the club are devils for lamping foxes so they're out and about at night quite often.
    Something unbecoming wouldn't be going on for too long before the club gets wind of it and the local Gardai would be brought up to speed.

An added bonus of keeping an eye on your area is the fact that you not only see hunting related problems. Farmers appreciate the fact that someone they know has a regular roam around their land and keeps an eye out for them as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭tiny-nioclas

To be honest poaching deer with lamps is absolutely rampant around my area, il leave it at that for now though, its obvious the resouces arent there to stop it or even put a curb in it, i think alot of this would stop if before people get granted their license they should have to do an induction day or something to learn proper herd management, deer biology, the laws etc and im sure if alot of them knew there was thousands to be made out of trophy stags they would stop it and try get a few handy euro on the side to bring rich folk trophy hunting . its all about educating people, for example, i got a deer licence and high powered rifle before i knew much about deer at all, is that right? i could lamp deer away to my hearts content if i wanted,risk free!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭sixpointfive

HCAP should be mandatory to get stalking licence and there should be a limit on how many deer a private person can sell to a game dealer, not all but alot of the lamping is driven by money, if venison wasnt worth the paper it was written on then alot of those lads wouldnt bother but with so many out of work the situation will only get worse. i have been at game dealer on a sunday eve and there would be jeeps rolling up with animals still steaming and mouthing about how many animals they have dropped in that week or month. I have also rolled up to a lease i was on not a million miles from glenmalure very early one frosty morn and watched a white hiace patrol around the outskirts of the wood lamping, got the reg and when i got to the gate i could see tyre tracks in the frost where a vehicle had driven in the gate not long before me, got up the track to the clearfell and a fresh gralloch steaming on the side of the track, so he/they had a key, rang everybody i could about it and nothing ever came of it. its a load of crap but what more could i have done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

This made it into Drivetime earlier as well. "Teenagers shooting at anything that moved with high-powered rifles in Donegal" was the actual quote...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

The circulation of illegal firearms is a lot worse than "say nothing" venison.

The thing that's bothering me most is that there is no mention of the meat being used at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭J. Ramone

Nimrod69 wrote: »
    Another problem ive stumbbled on is the practice of signing up land and not shooting on it, stopping others from its possible use...naughty

Are multiple permissions for centrefire not permitted over the border?

Something we need to be on our guard against:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭John Griffin

Legally speaking if you a have the permission of the landowner to hunt on his lands, anybody else you encounter hunting on the same lands are legally obliged to give you their name and address. Failure to do so is an offence under the wildlife act. You must be non-threatening, cool, composed and unemotional no matter how annoyed you are. A hostile approach is often met with hostility and violence. If possible call the Gardai or a Ranger. Be factual and explain the law and the consequences of any action they take. If they do not have permission then they have committed an offence and you should take note of their details and report to the landowner and ask their permission to take a prosecution.

Then with the assistance of the Gardai or NPWS you make a statement and ask to have a case brought against them. You are then the witness when the case comes to court, if they plead guilty then you need never speak in court, if they plead innocent you will be asked to give evidence. This has been done many times and i actually did similar myself when i was only 18 and won a major case against salmon poachers. Most people don't want the hassle of this, but will still complain about all the poaching and expect others to do it for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Item on deer poaching on Morning Ireland (RTE Radio 1) right now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭Sikamick

HCAP should be mandatory to get stalking licence.

(Do you really think this will stop the poaching, I don't think so)enforced HCAP it will only turn into another money spinner for the chosen few)
    And there should be a limit on how many deer a private person can sell to a game dealer,

( I have seen people arriving to the game dealer with 7,8 , 9 deer in their trailer all freshly killed, should the game dealer not be asking the question how one could shoot this number of deer in a day)
    if venison wasn't worth the paper it was written on then a lot of those lads wouldn't bother

(I totally agree)

Sikamick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Here's the item on this morning's (Tuesday November 18th) Morning Ireland-
    Deer targetted for commercial reasons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭whitser

article in the daily mail about it today. says its mostly young lads with illegal rifles poaching for profit.

"(Do you really think this will stop the poaching, I don't think so)enforced HCAP it will only turn into another money spinner for the chosen few)"

No i dont think it will stop poaching what i was getting at with that was i think it should be more difficult to get a deer hunting licence and there should be more accountability on the shooter as to how many animals and where they went, i think it would thin out the serious hunters from the yahoos giving all of us a bad name and making it harder for everyone,

"( I have seen people arriving to the game dealer with 7,8 , 9 deer in their trailer all freshly killed, should the game dealer not be asking the question how one could shoot this number of deer in a day)"

i dont think game dealer gives a flying fcuk where they come from, all he sees are €€€€€€€ signs in the trailer, not his problem how they got there.

" says its mostly young lads with illegal rifles poaching for profit. "

i know where this came from, the young lads with no licence bit, i came across an individual in donegal this year when i was up there, driving along the road in a van with a lamp out each window not giving a swiss who saw him, i made some enquiry to local farmer and he say "ah thats so ans so, he out every night with his fathers or brothers rifle banging away," any thing unfortunate enough to be within sight of the road get fired on and im sure alot gets left where it drops as you know how much work is involved in moving a red deer and id say some take bullets and run only to die elsewhere,

Liam did not tell us something that we did not know already, all he was at was pushing his hcap under the guises of stopping poaching,come to think of it i have never met him out on a poaching patrol, all poachers are hunters they have the hcap a deer hunting license and the neck to do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Downwind

jwshooter wrote: »
    Liam did not tell us something that we did not know already, all he was at was pushing his hcap under the guises of stopping poaching,come to think of it i have never met him out on a poaching patrol, all poachers are hunters they have the hcap a deer hunting license and the neck to do it

Reading all the views its hard to find fault with any one . May be Liam is pushing product , or may be Liam's trying to get some professionalism into a field sport before the anti blood sport people get it banned using the boys up the country as a very strong reason to ban it and make it impossible to own a center fire .

I was lucky to be taken in buy a guy who made his living out of hunting and it brought me on and knocked ten years of grind off my hunting training. That being said I learned to bring it home by all manner and means, i was taught to respect my game and enjoy it at the table.

In Sweden you need to attend an evening class once a week during the winter months for three years , keep a log and pass exams before the older members of the club will sign off on your license application . Your have to reach a certain standard of marksmanship also . There are a number of reasons for this the primary one being that in a state of emergency the Swedes , Norwegians and Finns can mobilize home guard troops(open to correction but i think i remember it being 250000 in 3 hours )
    who will be able to drive the tacks!

Ive been out there and theres a good population of fronteers men and women out there just like us but there organised and respected and their rights to hunt and hold fire arms is treated with respect because they make the effort , they train and teach the young and hand down good solid practice.

For me its a way of life its part of who I am and I treat it with respect and Im greatful that our laws allow me to live this way and to be honest Liam Nolan is a Hunts man and we should support him , and weed out the people who watch a film , get a gun and this time next year sell it second hand and take up some other activity , having causeD the damage and left you and me carrying the can .

We dont know how lucky we are in this country have a think about a situation where we have no right to hunt OR own a sporting gun like in the UK .

Keep it real

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Downwind

"(Do you really think this will stop the poaching, I don't think so)enforced HCAP it will only turn into another money spinner for the chosen few)"

No i dont think it will stop poaching what i was getting at with that was i think it should be more difficult to get a deer hunting licence and there should be more accountability on the shooter as to how many animals and where they went, i think it would thin out the serious hunters from the yahoos giving all of us a bad name and making it harder for everyone,

"( I have seen people arriving to the game dealer with 7,8 , 9 deer in their trailer all freshly killed, should the game dealer not be asking the question how one could shoot this number of deer in a day)"

i dont think game dealer gives a flying fcuk where they come from, all he sees are €€€€€€€ signs in the trailer, not his problem how they got there.

" says its mostly young lads with illegal rifles poaching for profit. "

i know where this came from, the young lads with no licence bit, i came across an individual in donegal this year when i was up there, driving along the road in a van with a lamp out each window not giving a swiss who saw him, i made some enquiry to local farmer and he say "ah thats so ans so, he out every night with his fathers or brothers rifle banging away," any thing unfortunate enough to be within sight of the road get fired on and im sure alot gets left where it drops as you know how much work is involved in moving a red deer and id say some take bullets and run only to die elsewhere,

6.5 agreed , make it harder and they'll stick to 22 shooting or get into something else . Hunting is more than blinding deer on the side of the road theres a certain level of respect involved.

From the Bray People:
    Deer poaching on the rise in Wicklow

cce762ce-be20-44c4-_234937c.jpg

By Elizabeth LEE

Wednesday November 19 2008

THE ECONOMIC downturn has prompted an increase in dangerous and illegal deer hunting in the Wicklow hills. So called 'lamping' where poachers use the lights of cars and jeeps to target the unsuspecting deer, is now more popular than ever.

And with the festive period looming, venison is fetching premium prices.

According to Liam Nolan, Secretary of the Deer Alliance, such activities are widespread across the county.

'It could be a sign of straitened economic circumstances, but if these fellas think that they can make up to €100 per carcass, then they will,' he told the Wicklow People. 'They operate under the cover of darkness so all they can see are the eyes of the deer. The poacher will then shoot towards the eyes, but no matter how good a shot he has, this is a very dangerous form of shooting.'

Deer also suffer horribly when a poacher misses a shot, with animals sustaining blown off jaws or other brutal injuries.

'The animals can die a lingering and very traumatic death,' Mr. Nolan continued.

Legal deer hunting is strictly regulated as deer are a highly protected species. Deer stalkers need special licenses as do landowners who have deer on their property. Under Irish law, when venison is traded, either the buyer or the seller must also have a Wildlife Dealer license.

'It's not like people can just decide to go deer hunting,' he concluded. 'Deer are fully protected with strict hunting seasons for both the male and females.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭BryanL

I think this whole issue is going to be a bit of a headache for people.
    you can "lamp" deer with a section 42 licence.

But most people are lamping rabbits and foxes either with fast dogs or guns. Myself and my friend rarely shoot on the lamp but for shooting people from the deer alliance to say lamping is dangerous and leads to lingering deaths is a bit dangerous.
    I bet the same people shoot foxes on the lamp. But they are informing the public that anyone out with a lamp is making 100's of euro's a night shooting and injuring deer is a bit off the mark, for the vast majority.
    Pity Gormley is spending NPWS funds hunting a legal hunt rather than putting pressure on poachers.
    Bryan

"Deer stalkers need special licenses as do landowners who have deer on their property."

I wonder how you go about getting a special licence to have deer on your property? and do you turn them away if you dont have said licence?? the deer that is,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

"Deer stalkers need special licenses as do landowners who have deer on their property."

I wonder how you go about getting a special licence to have deer on your property? and do you turn them away if you dont have said licence?? the deer that is,

Well if the super won't renew your deer license you should turn all your legal deer in at the garda station before they become illegal deer

Jonty wrote: »
    Well if the super won't renew your deer license you should turn all your legal deer in at the garda station before they become illegal deer
    I don't think local stations would have secure storage for them, so you'd probably have to bring them to your local deer dealer instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

BryanL wrote: »
    I think this whole issue is going to be a bit of a headache for people.
    you can "lamp" deer with a section 42 licence.

But most people are lamping rabbits and foxes either with fast dogs or guns. Myself and my friend rarely shoot on the lamp but for shooting people from the deer alliance to say lamping is dangerous and leads to lingering deaths is a bit dangerous.
    I bet the same people shoot foxes on the lamp. But they are informing the public that anyone out with a lamp is making 100's of euro's a night shooting and injuring deer is a bit off the mark, for the vast majority.
    Pity Gormley is spending NPWS funds hunting a legal hunt rather than putting pressure on poachers.
    Bryan

I do quite a bit of Lamping for foxes, The guy from deer alliance to come out with that statement is quite absurd and a deliberate attempt to imply that anyone with a lamp is a poacher, up to no good and a danger..... He should cop on and think before he speaks that sort of statement can lead to trouble brewing between groups and resentment

Like wise I do quite a bit of Lamping for foxes myself and it was very silly thing for your man from deer alliance to say , once some people see a lamp now they`ll be ringing the guards :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭patrickdt10

To be honest poaching deer with lamps is absolutely rampant around my area, il leave it at that for now though, its obvious the resouces arent there to stop it or even put a curb in it, i think alot of this would stop if before people get granted their license they should have to do an induction day or something to learn proper herd management, deer biology, the laws etc and im sure if alot of them knew there was thousands to be made out of trophy stags they would stop it and try get a few handy euro on the side to bring rich folk trophy hunting . its all about educating people, for example, i got a deer licence and high powered rifle before i knew much about deer at all, is that right? i could lamp deer away to my hearts content if i wanted,risk free!
    but why should ertain people be profitting from trophy heads, tourist shooting(i despise it) when they would not be putting money back into management of the deer etc??

i would think you know noting about ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭kakashka

i was out one sunday morning a while back,observed a group of hunters on land (coilte property)ajoining my land,recognised one from group who proceeded to hunt while several hikers passed within 200m,their cars parked within 300m in coilte car park,NOT A SINGLE WARNING NOTICE ERECTED,following tuesday i caught tail end of radio program and recognised the same man talking about hunting/ safety etc,i could go on with regard to hypocracy of so called game conservationists but what's the point..ppl have always poached deer and i've yet to meet one who has made money doing it,as for safety,as far as i can recall two ppl from above club involved in serious incidents in past resulting in death..

i would think you know noting about ,

JW you "sell" shooting to "tourists" as far as I recall ? Deer stalking friends of mine have lost Coilte lettings to people "selling" shooting to "tourists" as they are willing to pay excessively more money to Coilte for the lettings.

In time if this keeps up locals will be priced out of their own areas for "tourists" to come in and shoot what were once the preserves of the local shooter.

And there are people shooting stags on the Galtee Mountains and only taking heads to be mounted and then selling them to pubs, hotels etc.

JW you "sell" shooting to "tourists" as far as I recall ? Deer stalking friends of mine have lost Coilte lettings to people "selling" shooting to "tourists" as they are willing to pay excessively more money to Coilte for the lettings.

In time if this keeps up locals will be priced out of their own areas for "tourists" to come in and shoot what were once the preserves of the local shooter.

And there are people shooting stags on the Galtee Mountains and only taking heads to be mounted and then selling them to pubs, hotels etc.

the fallow in the galtee mountains have little or no commercial value for client stalking as the trophys are poor ,give me the reason for this? ..most of the ground i stalk in wicklow is private , well looked after and managed to the highest standard. i have stalked and seen some monster stags this year all down to management. i have a lot of coillte ground myself with a few friends for the last 15 years i only shoot a few stags of the bounds early in the season there was some very good stags shot on this year i think one of our better years .the building boom fxxked the stalking to many fat lazy pxxxks driving around in jeeps shooting every thing they see out through the window ,wicklow is full of them now .woods shot 4 and 5 times a week ,noting to do with management just greed .i have also seen stags with there heads cut off and left too lazy to drag it .money talks with coillte simple as that .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭Sika_Stalker

commercial hunting is only viable when the ground being hunted is private ground.
    it is impossible to properly manage anything other then private ground.
    In a coillte letting after the 5 year lease you are only just starting to see the results of good deer management and by that time there will be other people with more money who will take advantage of your work. After their 5 year lease all your work is gone.
    more money then sense.
    And by private ground i mean some thing with large acreage, otherwise its pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Keelan

the building boom fxxked the stalking to many fat lazy pxxxks driving around in jeeps shooting every thing they see out through the window ,wicklow is full of them now .woods shot 4 and 5 times a week ,noting to do with management just greed .i have also seen stags with there heads cut off and left too lazy to drag it .money talks with coillte simple as that .

You have hit the nail on the head their JS..
    Hopefully, this recession , will see the end of that for a while... :(

Keelan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

the building boom fxxked the stalking to many fat lazy pxxxks driving around in jeeps shooting every thing they see out through the window ,wicklow is full of them now .woods shot 4 and 5 times a week ,noting to do with management just greed .i have also seen stags with there heads cut off and left too lazy to drag it .

I think we all know that kind of fella, probably wear's a broad brimmed hat,and break's out ina sweat when he think's about walking.

the fallow in the galtee mountains have little or no commercial value for client stalking as the trophys are poor ,give me the reason for this? ..most of the ground i stalk in wicklow is private , well looked after and managed to the highest standard. i have stalked and seen some monster stags this year all down to management. i have a lot of coillte ground myself with a few friends for the last 15 years i only shoot a few stags of the bounds early in the season there was some very good stags shot on this year i think one of our better years .the building boom fxxked the stalking to many fat lazy pxxxks driving around in jeeps shooting every thing they see out through the window ,wicklow is full of them now .woods shot 4 and 5 times a week ,noting to do with management just greed .i have also seen stags with there heads cut off and left too lazy to drag it .money talks with coillte simple as that .

Very true John. Without tourist and private shooting there would be very little deer management worth talking about in this country. As for the local boys getting a shot, it's usually a case of anything that steps out will do. Thats a major problem with the Galtees. No hope of a fallow buck reaching maturity at 9-10 years. I've yet to see or hear of a medal class buck from the Galtees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭thetl

talking about greed were you not the one advertising a leases in aughrim area 2 saturdays a month or 12 days a year or if hunting stags only works out at 8 days stalking a year mornings only ,for 1250 EUROS chargeing excessive money and good management dont have to go hand in hand .Most hunters i know are of the finest calibre live for deer and hunting/shooting even if some of them work in the building or own jeeps look at what you charge and pay coillte before getting on your high horse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Da Frog

I don't understand your post Thetl. We all agree here that Shooting from a jeep is not a behaviour to have and once killed, the animal needs to be treated with respect and not let beheaded lying as he dropped dead.

Concerning prices, i am not shocked. You should have a glance on tarifications in Europe.

thetl wrote: »
    talking about greed were you not the one advertising a leases in aughrim area 2 saturdays a month or 12 days a year or if hunting stags only works out at 8 days stalking a year mornings only ,for 1250 EUROS chargeing excessive money and good management dont have to go hand in hand .Most hunters i know are of the finest calibre live for deer and hunting/shooting even if some of them work in the building or own jeeps look at what you charge and pay coillte before getting on your high horse

JW sells his stag shooting and manages the hinds himself, I see it as a clever way of getting decent shooting without it costing the earth. I do not consider this to be greedy. As a matter of fact 12 days stalking with trophy animals included for €1250 is great value. Have a look at the prices in the UK and Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭fathersymes

Check out trophy prices throughout the UK and Europe and you'll be shocked! Irish stalking costs relatively little, if you play golf I'm sure the club dues or green fees are comparable if not more.

thetl wrote: »
    1250 euros dont know where you got that figure,i charge more keep the group small ,it works very well . my ground is only hunted 2 mornings a week or less my ground is hind ground we only see stags in the rut .maybe you will pm me with your phone number and name as i would like to know who you are and have a chat about you putting my information on boards