Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

so the recession is here to stay,post your cheap guitar GAS!!

• 11-11-2008 8:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭

o.k folks,i'm sure some like me will have to cut on the spending abit,but i'm pretty sure that on a budget there's still cool gear to be had :pac:

here's my current objects of GAS!

0303050589_xl.jpg

or maybe this

34405_800.jpg

so folks show us what ye want!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I've been thinking of trying out that Squire down in Xmusic.
    I looks lovely if nothing else.

I bloody love this case...
    To much like.
    182474.jpg
    And i love this.
    The colour makes me melt.
    170210.jpg

Now at €499, its not exactly cheap, but compared to what i ussualy spend on guitars...

I think i will treat myself to the two of them at some stage. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

The squier classic vibe 50's

0303000503_xl.jpg

I'm heading down to xmusic to check her out on thursday!
    Damn GAS. Damn you to hell! That and my never ending need for more strats.
    Oh, and a set of gfs lipstick tubes (for strats) to go into said squier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭11811

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

punchdrunk wrote: »
    here's my current objects of GAS!

0303050589_xl.jpg

+1 Played it in X-music and fell in love. I really want it.

Also thinking bout selling my practice amp and getting a micro cube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

sweet how much was it in xmusic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭fish-head

One of those Dano '59s would tickle me pink.

fish-head wrote: »
    One of those Dano '59s would tickle me pink.

yeah i've been thinking of getting one,i played one in norway and it was amazing! really great neck pickups for black keys type stuff

i'd love to put a baritone neck on one :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

same here, was about to get a 59 Dano about 2 weeks ago but only just opted for a tele instead! theres a 12 string 59' for not much dearer at all, wonder how it plays!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭BarryCreed

yeah, those danos are cool.

I was half thinking of one of those rickenbacker copies with the P90s from rondomusic

http://www.rondomusic.com/harm1semifg.html

or this

http://www.rondomusic.com/as280blkchhw.html

or a cheap electric 6 string lapsteel,....

until i have enough saved for a jazzmaster!

P90's are yum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

http://us.st12.yimg.com/us.st.yimg.com/I/yhst-50206111187217_2027_1469748

Headstock is a bit ugly but my other 2 Xavaires are fookin beautiful to play, the tele plays better then alot of the american fenders I've played. They're coming out with an ES-335 copy that I'm prolly gonna pick up for the craic. Best value for money you can get...

The grounding on them are ****e tho, needs to be resoldered....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

Nevermind the recession, even if I won the lotto I'd buy this (assuming it plays and sounds as good as it looks).
    Schecter Diamond Stiletto Custom. €549 from Thomann.

3023267955_6d24b3cd38.jpg?v=0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

They've a few 63 Denelectros in the music shop in Clonmel which I have also found myself strangely attracted to :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

sweet how much was it in xmusic?

I think they are about 320 or 300. It was on the stage area beside the stairs to the drum room at the weekend. Should still be there. I'll be heading out on Saterday and I'll let you know then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭OK-Cancel-Apply

I think I'll make my first visit to X-Music on Saturday. Will probably see a few of you there. :P

Wear name tags
    boards name:
    ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭OK-Cancel-Apply

Wear name tags
    boards name:
    ha

lol I think it would more fun trying to guess. I'll come back on here when I get home and say, "Hey, were you the guy in the blue hoody noodling with the Squier?" or "I bet you were the homeless-looking man testing out bass amps". :p

well ill either be playing a ridiculously expensive lowden 12 string or a squier cv 50!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭felim

Here's a fairly inexpensive but cool guitar (I have one and it's the best bang for buck axe I've come across), a Michael Kelly Patriot Q:

397054.jpg

It's discontinued now but there's still some stock to be had and they have a range of other Patriots that are cool too ( I just love the natural finish quilt top on the Q, it's a pity it's discontinued). All recession friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

A wee mandocaster for about 200 yoyo's :)

440801-649719.jpg

dagnamit. Went out to xmusic to buy my squier and the damn thing had been sold...have to wait a few days till they get one in. Ah well...

Sooooooo tempted... :o

Danelectro-Dano-63-460-80.jpg

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Do it. You need one.

I second Fey there,the dano is cool!

i kinda want one of these as my first bass hmmm...

bass_Orange-classic4.jpg

something i had never thought about before but i played a mates travel acoustic the other day and it was gorgeous to play, he said he got it in the music shop in tallaght, like 10 times easier to play thatn my own and i thought mine was ok! he said he got it for 200, its semi electric too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭ArthurGuinness

I recently bought a brand new 2008 American Standard Strat from a guy who ony owned it for two weeks and still had the reciept from musicians inc for 500euro. Its true what they say one mans recssion is anothers opportunity. Also a friend of mine bought a 2006 Les Paul Stand Tab Sunburst 60's neck for 800euro froma guy in cork!!! Fecker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭Creeping-Death

First ever guitar, never strayed from it save to upgrade to a Gibson....

some great stuff so far fellas!

I have my eye on this Reverend!

jetstream_390_blu_big.jpg

Is that the one yer man from the Stooges is using?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Darkstrike

One of these wouldn't go astray. :)

693032_800.jpg

The 51 P in x-music certainly tickled my fancy but the price really doesn't qualify as a recession beater

00973.JPG

story doc yeah i thin Ron uses one in orange and a black reverend V too!
    those retro 50's P bases are savage!

Doctor J wrote: »
    The 51 P in x-music certainly tickled my fancy but the price really doesn't qualify as a recession beater

00973.JPG
    Yes, that one would do the trick too.:eek:

As would the Bacchus one I saw on Talkbass, I bet it was a beast of awesome.

Ah ****e, yer man is selling it?

0303050589_xl.jpg
    I've actually played this, I just realised, nice guitar.

Ah ****e, yer man is selling it?
    Not that I know of, but he might, he prefers split coils, can't think of his username off hand, think it was Savit, but there was numbers after his name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

OLP MM1 in this kind of finish. Not as good, but damn good all the same. Should never have sold it. Had a standard trem. Had to go to make way for G&L. Oh well. I'll get one again.
    MM%20Purple%20Flame%2087730%20-%20top%202.jpg

Darkstrike wrote: »
    Not that I know of, but he might, he prefers split coils, can't think of his username off hand, think it was Savit, but there was numbers after his name.

Yeah savit260, he mentioned he was thinking of selling it a while back, I thought maybe you'd seen it in an ad.

They pop up on ebay from time to time, usually for about €500 or so. I bagsy the first one, right ;)

Yeah savit260, he mentioned he was thinking of selling it a while back, I thought maybe you'd seen it in an ad.

They pop up on ebay from time to time, usually for about €500 or so. I bagsy the first one, right ;)
    Yeah, thats the dude, no ad, just mentioning that he was unhappy with the single coil sound.

500 bucks, even 2nd hand you gotta be kiddin' me!

If I spot one on the bay, I'll give ya a holler.

Not played a Bacchus yet, I'm quiet afraid of the GAS that could ensue.