Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Iarnród Éireann - my commuter experience.

• 10-11-2008 2:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭

I want to rant about my travel experiences on Iarnród Éireann in the last couple of weeks and things I have observed :

- feet on seats (all ages, suits, non-suits, students, kids..). This is really annoying as I have to check every seat to avoid dog sh!te or mud.

- Headphones/music/mob phone music really loud (and really poor quality) - this is really annoying.

- People drunk and drinking from bottles wine, cider etc. In front of ticket collector. Thought this was illegal ?

- Scumbags who walk straight to the front of a queue pushing in. Usually young 'hard cases' who want to get on before the OAPs who have been queuing for over an hour.

- People (of all walks of life) swearing in front of young kids and other people - I dont want to listen to someone calling their friend a c*nt every other sentence.

- Women squirting perfume/deodorant in the carriage - all stink like a tart's hanky by the time we arrive with eyes stinging.

- Eating oranges and other smelly fruits that stinks out the whole carriage.

- Leaving rubbish on the table, coffee spills etc - no attempt to clean up.

- Chewing gum on seats/under tables - on new fecking trains !

- People sticking their elbows into my sides and invading my space.

- Really loud obnoxious people tryting to communicate to the whole carriage (last one was an annoying old English lady who kept saying how much she hated Ireland - wish I had the guts to tell her she was making me ashamed to belong to the same race as her).

- People opposite kicking my shins and crossing their legs so shoes rub against my trouser legs - despite me having my legs tucked in beneath the seat as much as possible.

- People coughing/sneezing without attempting to stop the spray coming my way.

- People brushing their hair on a train.

- People not leaving seats free even though train is clearly packed - and then grumpy when they have to move their coat.

- last week there were some junkies taking it in turns to go to the toilet in pairs and stumble their way back knocking into people. Not sure if they were shooting up or what. not pleasant anyway.

Maybe I'm just getting grumpy in my old age and/or maybe I am (as someone in the street once called me) a dry-arsed Brit, but are people never told how to behave on public transport ?

Am I alone in thinking the above is unsociable and inconsiderate behaviour ?

Thanks for listening - feel a bit better now !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

englander wrote: »
    - People drunk and drinking from bottles wine, cider etc. In front of ticket collector. Thought this was illegal ?
    Stopped reading your rant after this point.

It's not illegal.

Keep taking the tablets mate, deep breaths and plenty of fresh air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

I think the thread should be renamed "Irish People - My Commuter Experience"

Virtually none of what you list is the fault of IR but more the fault of your fellow commuter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

ye there really isnt anything there the company can do anything about

limerick to dublin direct train is always on time always has seats and even extra ones so i can take off my shoes and put the feet up.......great service

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Drax

Eating oranges and other smelly fruits that stinks out the whole carriage.

Ah now come on... I agree with some of your points but you are just trying to make the list look bigger. Sure all this could have happened on a bus aswell so its not really the fault of IR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭englander

I wasn't really aiming to have a go at Iarnrod Eireann .
    Although they could put a sign up or announce that some of this stuff is unacceptable (for people who dont know) - but then this is a civilised society and everyone should know that its just rude to put your feet on seats that other people have to sit on.
    The new trains will turn to crap soon enough.

I was asking the question whether i was right in thinking that it was illegal to be drunk on a train (not stating anything).
    Is a train not a public place ? If not illegal, is it acceptable to have drunk and disorderly people in your face when travelling by train ?

I just think people are really inconsiderate feckers and should think about the people around them.

It really puts me off travelling by train. Maybe its just not for me.

My wife suggested taking kids to Dublin zoo by train/bus. No chance of me subjecting them to some of the crap I've seen/heard on my train journeys (swearing, drunks, junkies, rude people..)

Yes you are right, I had similar experiences travelling by bus also.

Smelly fruit - personally cannot stand the smell of oranges (makes me want to vomit) and when someone starts peeling one and slobbing over it next to me I wish nothing but unpleasantness upon that person. What if I started eating garlic and breathed and belched over people next me - acceptable ?

I guess its just me ! (back to the car probably).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,858 ✭✭✭paulm17781

Englander, I am in total agreement with you. There is a thing with people here. If person A tells person B not to do something (where person B is wrong in the first place) then person A is a c**t for stating this and probably needs a beating so he is aware of this fact as no one tells person B not to do wrong. I see it every day with the sort of people you are talking about.

Example: I once asked a bloke (younger than I am) to stop leaning on me on the Luas. He started shouting and moaning at me about this and eventually stopped. Now, the Luas wasn't that full, he easily had room stand up straight, there was no need for him to lean on me. However since I asked him not to do so, I am clearly a c**t. See?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭ITMissy

I agree with you. and it is becoming more and more common everywhere. No manners or respect for anyone but themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

I want to rant about my travel experiences on Iarnród Éireann in the last couple of weeks and things I have observed :

- feet on seats (all ages, suits, non-suits, students, kids..). This is really annoying as I have to check every seat to avoid dog sh!te or mud.

fair complaint, but if noone did this, you'd still need to check for gum, chocolate or other dirt not from feet.
    - Headphones/music/mob phone music really loud (and really poor quality) - this is really annoying.
    Either get your own headphones, or ear plugs. not really an issue
    Being drunk and disroderly is legal. Being or getting drunk isn't.

- Scumbags who walk straight to the front of a queue pushing in. Usually young 'hard cases' who want to get on before the OAPs who have been queuing for over an hour.
    While queue jumping is despicable, I fail to see why pensioners should have to queue for over an hour. this is definitely an issue with irish rail
    - People (of all walks of life) swearing in front of young kids and other people - I dont want to listen to someone calling their friend a c*nt every other sentence.
    see my point about buying headphones. Could be worse - could be parents swearing at their young children - an all too common thing in Ireland
    - Women squirting perfume/deodorant in the carriage - all stink like a tart's hanky by the time we arrive with eyes stinging.
    Boo hoo.
    - Eating oranges and other smelly fruits that stinks out the whole carriage.
    What next, people breathing?
    - Leaving rubbish on the table, coffee spills etc - no attempt to clean up.
    Many of the commuter trains have no bins. Others aren't emptied, yep Irish rail's fault.
    - Chewing gum on seats/under tables - on new fecking trains !
    see point 1
    - People sticking their elbows into my sides and invading my space.
    In Japan, people are employed to push people into the trains so the doors can close. commuter trains worldwide are full at rush hour. It would not make economic sense to get enough carriages and staff to have a seat for everyone at rush hour. the rest of the day the staff and trains would be idle.
    - Really loud obnoxious people tryting to communicate to the whole carriage (last one was an annoying old English lady who kept saying how much she hated Ireland - wish I had the guts to tell her she was making me ashamed to belong to the same race as her).
    There's no accounting for Psycos
    - People opposite kicking my shins and crossing their legs so shoes rub against my trouser legs - despite me having my legs tucked in beneath the seat as much as possible.
    Imagine crossing your legs while sitting on a seat train. Hang 'em high.
    - People coughing/sneezing without attempting to stop the spray coming my way.
    - People brushing their hair on a train.
    Draw them and quarter them. Stick their heads on a pike at the station gates
    - People not leaving seats free even though train is clearly packed - and then grumpy when they have to move their coat.
    people being too timid to ask to sit on a free seat???
    - last week there were some junkies taking it in turns to go to the toilet in pairs and stumble their way back knocking into people. Not sure if they were shooting up or what. not pleasant anyway.
    Who did you complain to about that? how could that have been stopped by Irish rail if they weren't told about it.
    Maybe I'm just getting grumpy in my old age and/or maybe I am (as someone in the street once called me) a dry-arsed Brit, but are people never told how to behave on public transport ?

Am I alone in thinking the above is unsociable and inconsiderate behaviour ?

Thanks for listening - feel a bit better now !

Ah no, In Fairness you're not in the league of the man who wrote to the irish times complaining about his Theatre experience being ruined by young people attending while not getting dressed properly for the occasion. I thought He meat pyjama wearing but he was appalled by theatre-goers wearing denim jeans. Thats a grumpy auld baxtard....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭burgess1

Bluetonic wrote: »
    Stopped reading your rant after this point.

It's not illegal.

Keep taking the tablets mate, deep breaths and plenty of fresh air.

Consumption of Alcohol is banned on the Dart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

I rarely use public transport, but when I do, I notice a much higher percentage of scumbags on trains than on the bus. Obviously the route makes a difference, but just going from grand canal to connelly you see loads of them.
    Also, I use trains about 4 times a year, and the journey never goes with out a delay. I hate that ad on the radio that tries to makes them out to be fantastic and stress free.
    One thing is, they're expensive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

ah jasus :rolleyes:

was going to but decided pictures speak louder than words
    :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac: