Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speeding

• 08-11-2008 9:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭

Was in the car with one of my mates during the week and as we came around the bend he was caught by one of them mobile speed check vans. He said he was doin about 125-130kph. It was a 100kph zone. Whats he lookin at? 4 penelty points and a fine or a court apperance for dangerous driving? cos 130 is pretty excessive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

ticket in the post, €80 + 2 points.. thats all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Can't you get done for dangerous driving or something if you're going more than a certain amount over the speed limit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭wicklaman83

Was in the car with one of my mates during the week and as we came around the bend he was caught by one of them mobile speed check vans. He said he was doin about 125-130kph. It was a 100kph zone. Whats he lookin at? 4 penelty points and a fine or a court apperance for dangerous driving? cos 130 is pretty excessive.

they are called GATSO vans and they dont stop so how is he 100% sure he was caught.they dont exactly stand out either so how is he 100% that it is a GATSO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Your friend will get the mandatory 2 points and €80 fine in the post. Thats all unless he doesn't pay it then it will go to court where the fine can be increased as well as the points.
    Random wrote: »
    Can't you get done for dangerous driving or something if you're going more than a certain amount over the speed limit?

Not entirely true. Dangerous driving is the manner of driving including speed which could put the safety of other road users at risk with all things considered.

Example would be say doing 160kph on a motorway would probably not consititute dangerous driving as the motorway is built of a very high standard and has two lanes. On a road with say 80 or 100kph and doing 160kph at 4am in the morning with no other traffic on the road again does not automatically mean dangerous driving either but if there was 2-3 cars that were overtaken, it would be dangerous driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭King Ludvig

darren254 wrote: »
    they are called GATSO vans and they dont stop so how is he 100% sure he was caught.they dont exactly stand out either so how is he 100% that it is a GATSO

It was a white van and had the garda crest on it aswell as the speed camera symbol. Cheers for the replys lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Loveless

TheNog wrote: »
    Example would be say doing 160kph on a motorway would probably not consititute dangerous driving as the motorway is built of a very high standard and has two lanes.
    got pulled over by an unmarked squad car on the M1 a few months ago doing 140kph. Got away with a verbal warning. Was very lucky!

Loveless wrote: »
    got pulled over by an unmarked squad car on the M1 a few months ago doing 140kph. Got away with a verbal warning. Was very lucky!

You were borderline but hey common sense policing at its best here. Take the advice and learn from from it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭wicklaman83

It was a white van and had the garda crest on it aswell as the speed camera symbol. Cheers for the replys lads.

never seen any of them like that.any of them i've seen were red or green transit with the back windows tinted except for the part in the middle for the camera to look through

darren254 wrote: »
    never seen any of them like that.any of them i've seen were red or green transit with the back windows tinted except for the part in the middle for the camera to look through

IT would have been one of the 8 new vans brought out a month or two ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭King Ludvig

Yea the creast was just in black, wasnt reflective or anything, no reflective lines running along the side of the van either. It had tinted windows at the back too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Yea the creast was just in black, wasnt reflective or anything, no reflective lines running along the side of the van either. It had tinted windows at the back too.
    Sneaky traffic [EMAIL="f@~$ers"]f@~$ers[/EMAIL] !
    ....fish...barrell....real criminals....decent workers....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

deadwood wrote: »
    Sneaky traffic [EMAIL="f@~$ers"]f@~$ers[/EMAIL] !
    ....fish...barrell....real criminals....decent workers....

Talivans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

revenue collectors!

If they would slow down they wouldnt get caught, no need for all that speed.

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Loveless wrote: »

I can beat that one.

A little story first. EArlier on this night I was out in town and told by a few people I looked like a cop, dark pants, blue shirt, fleece and black leather shoes etc.. So that sets the scene..

Cut to the chase (so to speak) that night I was coming home from work, just after 3am and decided the new car needed to stretch its legs. So I floored it on the M50.

Nothing ahead but a truck at maybe a mile away, 'Woo Hoo' I thought lets go for it.

At just over 130mph (yea I know, I was a right spa this night) I passed the truck but driving in front of him was a garda cop :eek:

I nearly sh*t myself, the guard put the lights on as I was braking like a cvnt.

Eventually I got the damned car pulled over onto the hard shoulder and thought 'You fvcktard Martin, your banned'..

I got out of the car and walked down to the garda car (sorry lads but I can't stand a guard standing over me, talking to me through the window).

So thinking, 'fvck it, no excuses I'll submit to anything he wants' (within reason of course) I approach the guard.

"In a hurray?" asks the policeman, looking me up and down..

"Yea, to be honest I wasn't watching my speed. Sorry about that"

Looking me over once more he says (and I swear on my life) "Ah, your a member - go ahead"..

I thank him, walk back to my car - have a few heart attacks and he pulls out, overtakes me, blows his horn and gives me a thumbs up!.

In a funny way it was a perverse way to learn a lession. Now I'm usually the guy who rarely drives above the speed limit or even close to it, I brake for amber lights etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

The guard must have been a bit of an eejit, a)letting you walk to his car, b) thinkin you were a guard. knowin you mairt, you could have had the whole irish army short range automatic rifle arsenal in the back seat...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Mairt wrote: »
    I got out of the car and walked down to the garda car (sorry lads but I can't stand a guard standing over me, talking to me through the window).

I would suggest you dont do that TBH, if you want to speak eye to eye get out of the car when the Garda is there but stopping and getting straight out will result in the Garda thinking your either aggressive or trying to avoid something.

130? What do you drive? My car would shake apart of I even tried that speed. And yes, that was a spa thing to do. Personally at that speed I wouldnt care what your a member of.

I would suggest you dont do that TBH, if you want to speak eye to eye get out of the car when the Garda is there but stopping and getting straight out will result in the Garda thinking your either aggressive or trying to avoid something.

130? What do you drive? My car would shake apart of I even tried that speed. And yes, that was a spa thing to do. Personally at that speed I wouldnt care what your a member of.

Yea, it was very silly indeed. I'm glad it wasn't you in the garda car so!.

But in fairness to the guard, he was driving in front of the truck so could only have known that I was travelling exceptionally fast.

But dammit, everytime I pass the same section of road I think of my lucky escape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

But dammit, everytime I pass the same section of road I think of my lucky escape.

When you say 'lucky escape', do you mean the fact you didn't get the book thrown at you? Or the fact you weren't killed by your actions, and thankfully no one else was either?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Yea, it was very silly indeed. I'm glad it wasn't you in the garda car so!.

But in fairness to the guard, he was driving in front of the truck so could only have known that I was travelling exceptionally fast.

Im not suggesting he would draw on you like the US guys but I think most, not just me, would be a little more weary and suspicious of someone doing it.

Anyway, you were silly and on this occasion lesson learnt without anyone getting hurt so all is well.

Im not suggesting he would draw on you like the US guys but I think most, not just me, would be a little more weary and suspicious of someone doing it.

Yea, I never even thought of that - sure ye do mad things after a few gargles!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Please tell me you didn't have drink on board!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

...So I floored it on the M50.

Nothing ahead but a truck at maybe a mile away, 'Woo Hoo' I thought lets go for it.

At just over 130mph (yea I know, I was a right spa this night) I passed the truck but driving in front of him was a garda cop :eek:
    eroo wrote: »
    When you say 'lucky escape', do you mean the fact you didn't get the book thrown at you? Or the fact you weren't killed by your actions, and thankfully no one else was either?
    eroo wrote: »
    Please tell me you didn't have drink on board!?

Mairt i have to ask: Did you post your original statement quoted here to raise reactions? Did you seriously have "gargles" in you? Or are you just after posting this to start a debate? Or was it posted in seriously sour taste?

Haven been in a car accident (& needing medical assistance) caused by someone who used your exact words "Nothing ahead but a truck" (not obviously seeing my car in-front of said truck) I can't help but wonder are you for real here Mairt?

You said their was nothing ahead but a truck and haven clearly not seen the Garda car i can't help but wonder what if something had crossed your path, or as Eroo posted was your so-called lucky escape lucky because nobody was injured in this instance!

Jeez man are you for real here :confused:

kerry4sam wrote: »
    You said their was nothing ahead but a truck and haven clearly not seen the Garda car i can't help but wonder what if something had crossed your path, or as Eroo posted was your so-called lucky escape lucky because nobody was injured in this instance!

Jeez man are you for real here :confused:

I won't multi qoute the entire thing..

If that had happened.. I'd be dead, the other driver would be dead. And no, I wasn't gargled - I'm surprised someone took me serious on that one!.

Now, like I said earlier. It was a spa thing to do, older and wiser now (and slower). Now lets move along here folks..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

I won't multi qoute the entire thing..

If that had happened.. I'd be dead, the other driver would be dead. And no, I wasn't gargled - I'm surprised someone took me serious on that one!.

Now, like I said earlier. It was a spa thing to do, older and wiser now (and slower). Now lets move along here folks..

Tis a crazy speed alright, of course when I bought my first audi I took her down from Belfast at 130mph also.. For about 4 seconds, then I slowed right back down again, curiosity sometimes gets the better of us, maybe your judgement of testing the car where you were wasn't the best but it's done now.

Tbh, I don't think Mairt is trying to start any debate or wind anyone up..

(Felt good didn't it Mairt? :P)

Dave147 wrote: »
    Tbh, I don't think Mairt is trying to start any debate or wind anyone up..

(Felt good didn't it Mairt? :P)

Debate, nah I couldn't be arsed. I related a story from years ago in keeping with the thread.

Thank god I didn't tell the one about the GSXR1100 clocking one hu... nah best leave that one alone ;)