Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

American Pool League in Cork

• 07-11-2008 1:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭

Starting up an American Pool League in Cork shortly, game will be 8 ball, played in the Mardyke Wednesday nights, some top players in Cork including myself and snooker champ Greg Casey among others, anybody interested give me a pm!

More details to follow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭vag77

Dave147 wrote: »
    Starting up an American Pool League in Cork shortly, game will be 8 ball, played in the Mardyke Wednesday nights, some top players in Cork including myself and snooker champ Greg Casey among others, anybody interested give me a pm!

More details to follow.
    not a pool player between ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

vag77 wrote: »
    not a pool player between ye

Really, money where your mouth is?

no bother any time has 2 b more than a grand dow doubles me and my partner u and urs

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭celticfc

vag77 wrote: »
    no bother any time has 2 b more than a grand dow doubles me and my partner u and urs

We speak english on this forum :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭SalthillGuy

imo American pool does not compare with the standard table you find in an Irish pub. The one with the small pockets.
    The margin for error is huge on the american table.

imo American pool does not compare with the standard table you find in an Irish pub. The one with the small pockets.
    The margin for error is huge on the american table.

True, they're completely different games, I played for UCC and Cork in reds and yellows and I play American pool for fun and on the irish tour, there are less tactics in american pool, you basically have to clear up when you get in.. Not as easy as you think.

Vag, either tell me who you are or stop trolling, I don't play doubles and I have backers that will cover whatever you want to play for. Pm me for details.

I've watched it a lot on TV and it seems to be a one chance game.
    I have not played it and possibly is a good game when you understand what it is about.

Yeah it is, 9 ball is actually a better game but can't get many people to play.. I prefer snooker to be honest but I'm probably a better pool player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

only after spotting this thread, i suppose this has started already?
    might be interested if it's still being set up?

staker wrote: »
    only after spotting this thread, i suppose this has started already?
    might be interested if it's still being set up?

Hasn't started yet bud, I'll get onto my buddy during the week and see if this is still going to go ahead. Where you based? I'm playing mainly snooker at the moment, hoping to be playing in Killarney next month so need to practice.

I'm in fermoy,yeah if it's going ahead i'd go up once a week or so for a game.
    used to play a bit of snooker a few years back but haven't made time recently. like the ol' 9 ball though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭thedini

True, they're completely different games, I played for UCC and Cork in reds and yellows and I play American pool for fun and on the irish tour, there are less tactics in american pool, you basically have to clear up when you get in.. Not as easy as you think.

Vag, either tell me who you are or stop trolling, I don't play doubles and I have backers that will cover whatever you want to play for. Pm me for details.
    hey Dave, do you play a lot of money matches. I know somebody that will play you for a few k and I am not trolling pm for details

Can we come and watch, or are those events behind closed doors.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭thedini

Can we come and watch, or are those events behind closed doors.?
    usually anybody can watch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭hotspur147

Hasn't started yet bud, I'll get onto my buddy during the week and see if this is still going to go ahead. Where you based? I'm playing mainly snooker at the moment, hoping to be playing in Killarney next month so need to practice.
    munster club championship?best snooker tournament in ireland imo

thedini wrote: »
    hey Dave, do you play a lot of money matches. I know somebody that will play you for a few k and I am not trolling pm for details
    HOWS THE FORM WHERE U BASED I KNOW A MAN LOOKING FOR A POOL GAME IF UR INTRESTED

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Tyko

Dave147 id beat ya with a brush handle...

Tyko wrote: »
    Dave147 id beat ya with a brush handle...
    that wouldnt be hard

Vag77 who are you? I'd probably know you if you pm your name, playing alot of snooker lately but if there was some games going on in Cork I'd get back into pool. You know Dave Larkin? Or any lads from Quinlans or Red Cove?

Dave147 ill be in Cork this Good Friday(playing in the Munster U-21 in youghal) if you would like to play for a few quid.... if you like.....

best of 11 for 500E....

only new to this boards craic..... so if u are up for it privately send me your details and i can meet ya in th city.... i only know of 2 clubs in the city Crucible & Victoria so if your up for it i can play in one of those.....

i'd go watch if i knew where it was.

staker wrote: »
    i'd go watch if i knew where it was.

Knew where what was....? sorry vague info u gave me....?

and Vag77 u seem to know Dave147 and wouldnt one of his best fans.... so if he wants to increase the wager and you want a few quid on it and come and watch your more than welcome..... he seems to be challenging alot of folk in alot of threads on this site lol so if he wants a challenge im after offering
    date, location in his own county etc:):) and if he wants an increase in the wager ill leave that up to him........

ye organise a game, if ye want to let it be known where ye're playing,i'd go for a look.
    i'm not a betting man,i just love pool.
    no need to be so antagonistic, dave 147 is constantly being addled.
    what's he gonna do? stay schtum???

well keep looking at this thread for further info......

and its snooker mate not pool.....

ill play in any snooker club in Cork City as i will be located there..... so ill keep ya posted if i get acceptance..... time, date, place, wager, etc!!!!!!

Tyko wrote: »
    well keep looking at this thread for further info......

and its snooker mate not pool.....

ill play in any snooker club in Cork City as i will be located there..... so ill keep ya posted if i get acceptance..... time, date, place, wager, etc!!!!!!
    shoulb b good game ill back you tyko let me know if it goes ahead cheers

Alright Tyko, sorry didn't look at this thread for a few days, wasn't around Good Friday anyway, the girlfriend had other plans for me.

It's not fair to say I'm constantly making challenges on this forum, I'm not.. I said in one thread, maybe two that I'd be up for a few games, I played with Cork juniors, got to the Semi's in the Inter varsities where I was beaten by Graham Baitson 3-2, who I think is number one now on the pool main tour. I won a few small tournaments but never really got into it too serious, I'm trying now but struggling with my cueing. Tyko give me a PM when you can with your full name and I'll do the same, next time you're in Cork I'll take you to my snooker club, members only - 3 tables which are the best in Cork and 50c a frame.

Don't be so cocky about your wagers online, as I can see you're playing U-21 and unless you're better than Greg Casey and Vincent Muldoon you're probably not better than me. Look forward to hearing from you, and vag77 I'm still waiting on that PM.

Alright Tyko, sorry didn't look at this thread for a few days, wasn't around Good Friday anyway, the girlfriend had other plans for me.

It's not fair to say I'm constantly making challenges on this forum, I'm not.. I said in one thread, maybe two that I'd be up for a few games, I played with Cork juniors, got to the Semi's in the Inter varsities where I was beaten by Graham Baitson 3-2, who I think is number one now on the pool main tour. I won a few small tournaments but never really got into it too serious, I'm trying now but struggling with my cueing. Tyko give me a PM when you can with your full name and I'll do the same, next time you're in Cork I'll take you to my snooker club, members only - 3 tables which are the best in Cork and 50c a frame.

Don't be so cocky about your wagers online, as I can see you're playing U-21 and unless you're better than Greg Casey and Vincent Muldoon you're probably not better than me. Look forward to hearing from you, and vag77 I'm still waiting on that PM.
    theres your challenge tyko lets reply to dave now ill referee for the 2 of ye if ye want

Ill be in Cork in the next few weeks the weekend starting May1st - May3rd

my GF attends college in Cork and stays in Bishopstown thats why ill be down......

are you saying so you are of th same standard of Greg Casey because i was onto him and asked him does he know a Dave from Cork playing snooker and he told me only one Cremin...... would he be right in telling me that thats who you are...?? and he doesnt think you are of standard to compare with him.......

and if the rankings are anythin to go by i would be over Greg but we wont go into that as i will be percieved as "Cocky" and as for playing you im not bothering my ass unless there is a wager.... min 500E

and again not being offensive... why havent i heard of you on the circuit growing up????? because greg said you of 22 - 23 yrs and im 21 this yr.......?

but on getting back to me..... i dont want to hear anything other than whether you'll be playing me for a wager on May1st - May3rd in Cork... enough of the small talk.....

looking forward to hearing a reply.......:cool:

Yeah, Greg is right, I'm not at his standard, I was close to his standard when I was younger but I only played a few tournaments, mainly in Celbridge. At the moment I wouldn't play a blind cripple for 500 quid but I would like to give you a game regardless, as soon as I know who you are.. Pm me your name and stuff there and we'll organise something if you want. If you're above Greg then you're obviously going to be better than me at snooker, but I'm no lamb and Greg knows that :)