Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

nu bar?

• 05-11-2008 10:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭

has the nu bar opened this year? just spotted a pic on life.dcu.ie & was wondering if it was this year or an old pic resurfacing.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Apparently it was open this year once or twice while balls were on in the Hub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Evangelion

has the nu bar opened this year? just spotted a pic on life.dcu.ie & was wondering if it was this year or an old pic resurfacing.

Don't tempt them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Evangelion wrote: »
    Don't tempt them

lol

Don't know if you're a first year or not Cactus Jack but last year the Nu Bar was the main bar i.e. like the Old Bar is this year open all the time. The Old bar last year was only opened for the balls and special events. They've just swapped it around in an attempt to get more business.

I'm more old school :D. I'm not sure if the new bar was there when I started :D. Old bar was great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

Adamcp898 wrote: »
    lol

Don't know if you're a first year or not Cactus Jack but last year the Nu Bar was the main bar i.e. like the Old Bar is this year open all the time. The Old bar last year was only opened for the balls and special events. They've just swapped it around in an attempt to get more business.
    It just seems that there is little or no interest in the running of the student bar this year.
    Perhaps its complaints from local residents about noise levels etc that is reducing the eagerness to have a buzzing social scene within the college grounds. Hence the Halloween Ball going into town, and perhaps the xmas one will follow suit.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Perhaps it the students? The SU have quizzes and other bits on ever week or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

It just seems that there is little or no interest in the running of the student bar this year.
    Perhaps its complaints from local residents about noise levels etc that is reducing the eagerness to have a buzzing social scene within the college grounds. Hence the Halloween Ball going into town, and perhaps the xmas one will follow suit.

Well the Xmas ball was off campus last year too iirc, I think it's just pricing, plain and simple that the bar fails, it was no coincidence that the only day it was buzzin was €3 Tuesdays. Why pay €4.50 a pint when you can buy 6 cans or a naggin of vodka for €7ish and have the craic with your friends in a house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Katniss everMean

I loved when both the nu bar and the old bar where both open.. Lunch / breakfast in the nu bar. Chill out during a break in class then to the old bar to get pissed :D

Angelkat7 wrote: »
    I loved when both the nu bar and the old bar where both open.. Lunch / breakfast in the nu bar. Chill out during a break in class then to the old bar to get pissed :D

The Halloween Ball is often off campus from what i remember, so I wouldn't base everything on that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Cy_Revenant

Evangelion wrote: »
    I'm more old school :D. I'm not sure if the new bar was there when I started :D. Old bar was great
    The New Bar was open while you were about. They had it open in the morning until around 6, serving food. It was quite the nice.

Then management changed, the Old Bar closed, the renamed the New Bar to the nuBar and had it open all the time. Even spent money installing big oul yokes to keep the rain of the heads of people outside.

Seems a bit of a waste not to use it, but it's not like they're getting crowds to the bar these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭public_enemy

The food in the New Bar was decent enough and it meant there was somewhere on campus that you could a meal after the canteen closed.

As a bar it was horrible and I'd gladly take full price drinking in the Old Bar over 3 euro drink in the New Bar any day. It's a shame they haven't revived 3 euro drinks this year though, especially as the Slipper now seems to be doing it on a Tuesday night and taking away plenty of business from the Old Bar.

The New Bar was open while you were about. They had it open in the morning until around 6, serving food. It was quite the nice.

Then management changed, the Old Bar closed, the renamed the New Bar to the nuBar and had it open all the time. Even spent money installing big oul yokes to keep the rain of the heads of people outside.

Seems a bit of a waste not to use it, but it's not like they're getting crowds to the bar these days.

It was, but I don't think it was in my 1st year, either that or just opened.
    They used to be Old, New and Venue, then to the less popular Alpha, Beta and Gamma....the in the same vein Beta became Nu

I only ate the once, but was nice, but isn't much in terms of a bar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭Diarmaid07

Hence the Halloween Ball going into town

Hallowe'en ball was held in town for a change of venue, as the SU do every now and again. It wasn't because of any lack of social scene or anything - shure during the freshers and super balls the places were fair packed.