Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ques on shooting near res areas.

• 05-11-2008 10:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭

How close to a residential estate are you permitted to shoot? ie pheasant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

The recommended distance is 60 feet. However, its good practice to be farther away so as not to make a public nuisance of yourself. For example, its possible to be 100yds away and somebody take offence and be charged with wreckless discharge of a firearm. It all depends.

I presume its noise is your concern and not how far pellets travel.

The point I'm trying to make is don't be cheeky!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

I was just a bit concerned to look out my window and see guys shooting in the field next to me...

I have no problem with the noise... But a stray bullet, now that is another story!!:eek:

I presume they know what they are doing!! Plenty of pheasant in there to keep them busy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Its not so much the shooting but the direction you fire in I.e away from the estate. I wouldn't shoot within 100 yrds of a house but that's me.
    I also know pluckers who would shoot a pheasant in a garden and not worry about the neighbours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Quality wrote: »
    I have no problem with the noise... But a stray bullet, now that is another story!!:eek:

They shouldn't be using "bullets" to shoot pheasant. Cartridges which throw out pellets are the legal way to shoot pheasant.
    Quality wrote: »
    I presume they know what they are doing!!

Never presume when firearms are the issue.

If you are not happy with these shooters contact the landowner or Gardai and state your case.

Stray pellets can be just as dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Trojan911 wrote: »

If you are not happy with these shooters contact the landowner or Gardai and state your case.

Agree wholeheartedly

Trojan911 wrote: »
    They shouldn't be using "bullets" to shoot pheasant. Cartridges which throw out pellets are the legal way to shoot pheasant.

Please contact the landowner first if you have vehicle regs or descriptions of the people involved and voice your concerns. Just because they let off a couple of shots 100yds from your house doesn't mean they fired over/at your house.

The Gardai can get the wrong end of the stick very easily and make life uncomfortable for the shooters (even if they are legit) involved as they would naturally take a dim view on discharging a weapon close to a house.

Have you actually seen them discharge a shot? This is a key point.

If you heard a shot and didn't see anybody for a few minutes they could easily have been farther away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Jonty wrote: »
    The Gardai can get the wrong end of the stick very easily and make life uncomfortable for the shooters (even if they are legit) involved as they would naturally take a dim view on discharging a weapon close to a house.
    And who wouldn't?

Not just a house, an estate, where kids run around and would be naturally curious at hearing gunshots so close and would go and investigate, where these shooters may not spot kids hiding in a ditch watching them etc.

These shooters are muppets for attracting this attention to themselves. Anyone who behaves this way deserves to have a visit from plod.

OP, as stated if you are not happy with this then run it by the local Gardai. They would more than likely know the landowner anyway. Always better to be safe than later sorry.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

Have you actually seen them discharge a shot?
    This is a key point.
    If you heard a shot and didn't see anybody for a few minutes they could easily have been farther away.

Good point. No sense in getting legitimate hunters into trouble just because they have guns near a housing estate.
    If they did fire, then how far away and what direction they fired in is important.

We have had problems with fellas shooting around livestock. The auld fella went into the guards, we knew full well who it was shooting as we had met them on the road in their car and according to the guards "because we didn't see a shot discharged there was nothing they could do".

Now in fairness,

We did not see the person in question discharge a firearm, so we cannot say that they didn't exit their vehicle proceed into a field to a safe distance and shoot, but it was strange, the auld fella found 3 cases (shotgun) on the edge of the road (fresh brass - not tarnished) and the person in the vehicle we knew had an automatic.

So in my dad goes to the guards again and produced the spent cases and yer wan who he was dealing with looked at him as if he had 2 heads. Nothing was ever done. Our livestock was hurt as the horse ran through a gate and chipped a bone and devalued by approx €2000. So if the ar$eholes that did this are reading this all I can say is, thanks d1ckheads.

Rant over. Apologies to Quality for hijacking thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭k_d

Our livestock was hurt as the horse ran through a gate and chipped a bone and devalued by approx €2000. So if the ar$eholes that did this are reading this all I can say is, thanks d1ckheads.

muppets, keep horses myself. have them in a field beside a nice spud crop, was down on saturday morning and met a few guys in the crop with dogs.
    they had brains, they only brought there dogs,left guns in cars, and flushed the couple of birds that were there out and on somewhere else where the could hunt them without disturbing the horses.
    fair play,they earned themselves a pint on saturday night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭BryanL

Quality, seems to have a more sensible approach than some people on here.

with the amount of new houses and estates in the country if people were to never shoot within a field of them ,there wouldn't be a whole lot of country left.

a stray pellet can't be compared to a stray bullet.

Calling Gardai as a first option? who on here has had or would like to have the gardai stop their days shooting?
    Bryan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

We have had problems with fellas shooting around livestock.
    Thats just not done or certainly shoudnt be. We always steer well clear of horses and i mean fields away. Even cows can be heavily in calf this time of year and should not be upset. If any livestock seem spooked call dogs and out of there. No bird is worth causing damage or bad feeling over.
    You should contact the local gunclub and see about compensation. Those guys should have insurance to cover this kind of thing.
    Also put up signs and let the guys know they are not to come back.
    **** like this give many of us who know better a bad name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

Sorry, you will have to excuse my ignorance when it comes to shooting... I dont really have a clue about the ins and outs... Ie bullets pellets, safe ranges etc.

I often see the pheasants in the fields beside the house , but just wasnt aware that shooting was permitted so close. I am not usually at home during the day. My daughter noticed the two guys in the field while I was bringing her down to school this morning. I just wanted to make sure it was legitimate.

Shots were definitely discharged, and there is either an abundance of Pheasant or someone with a bad eye!!!

Chuileog wrote: »
    Thats just not done or certainly shoudnt be. We always steer well clear of horses and i mean fields away. Even cows can be heavily in calf this time of year and should not be upset. If any livestock seem spooked call dogs and out of there. No bird is worth causing damage or bad feeling over.
    You should contact the local gunclub and see about compensation. Those guys should have insurance to cover this kind of thing.
    Also put up signs and let the guys know they are not to come back.
    **** like this give many of us who know better a bad name.

We tried that about the compo. The fellas were approached and asked just to admit it to the GC of which they were members so we could make a claim but they wouldn't budge, if fairness we didn't want the law involved. I suppose it helps when 1 of them was related to a local guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

i steer clear of houses and livestock .I mean in all fairness who wants an irate farmer or a herd of cattle following him around a field and as for sheep ohh i dont even want to go there.