Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

External Hard Drives

Options
  • 04-11-2008 7:23pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭

Im a complete noob when it comes to ths kind of thing, but i am going on a spree updating my computer. Im running the G5 1.8 GH 17 inch imac with leopard, with all the standard specifications. And being honest, its all getting rather slow.

So i am upgrading. I am getting 2 CT407782 1GB, 184-pin DIMM memory things from crucial.com(if anyone has any feedback it would be great) And i also feel the need to upgrade my hard drive space, as the 70 odd Gigs i have at the moment just isnt cutting it. So i am basically looking for a hard drive that:

-Between 250 and 500 GB storage
    -Connects through firewire (only because i have herd this is the fastest)
    -Is as quiet as possible
    -Is fast enough to run my itunes library from(this isnt essential, but it would be nice)
    -Is as cheap as possible.
    -Size, as in dimensions, and style/appearance are completely irrelevant
    -they must deliver to ireland.(obviously:P)

If anyone has any suggestions i would be eternally grateful!

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭charlesD

Connects through firewire (only because i have herd this is the fastest)

Firewire is generally the fastest, but it does have the downside that a lot of non-macs don't have it.

This probably won't be a concern for you at home, but one of the nice things about an external drive is that it is not tied to one specific computer.