Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What happened to the "Irish" Girl? (S2/3 Spoilers)

• 03-11-2008 7:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,792 ✭✭✭

This has been bothering me since I started watching season 3 (I'm up to ep 7).
    From what I remember, in season 2, Peter and the Irish girl (Caitlin, is it?) end up in the future, where Peter sees the effect of the virus and accidently goes back in time leaving her there. Thing is, I dont remember him ever going back to get her once he regained his powers. Has he (and by he, I of course mean the writers) just forgot about her? Did they drop her character because that ass-knawingly irritating accent?

In the event that she has just been fired from the show or something like that, and the writers are going to pretend her character never existed, then, hypothetically, what do you think would of happened to a character in her position? Once the future she was in was changed, would she stop existing? Is she still in that future, but is it a parrallel universe? Or is she in S3s future, wondering what the hells going on and when is Peter going to save her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Has he (and by he, I of course mean the writers) just forgot about her?
    I hope so. I know I had.

But now that you've reminded me... yeah, did they just leave her in [one possible version of] the future?

And isn't that future no longer a possibility anyway?

Gods, what an awful show this is :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

A wizard went forward and saved her. Then she tripped and broke her neck. Alls well that ends well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Mr. K

I had completely forgotten about her! I imagine most have, I'm not too fussed if she doesn't get saved...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,792 ✭✭✭Mark Hamill

Mr. K wrote: »
    I had completely forgotten about her! I imagine most have, I'm not too fussed if she doesn't get saved...

tbh, unless she turns out to have the poower of changing that damn accent I wouldn't really want her to be save deither, I just thought it was a pretty big mistake in the plot to forget her.

I think I shall mentally insert her into episode 4 of season 3:
    in the scene where Sylars son is killed. Have her running in the room, just as Peter leaves, screaming "PETAR, PETAR, (bejasus gemorrah) take me back to the past! and then Sylar goes nuclear. I'd be happy with that :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

She's gone. Forever and ever and ever. Now be quiet before the writers hear you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Goodshape wrote: »
    I hope so. I know I had.

But now that you've reminded me... yeah, did they just leave her in [one possible version of] the future?

And isn't that future no longer a possibility anyway?

I think the main problem here is that the writers strike cut season 2 short. That vial containing the virus was originally supposed to break and release the virus, the scene was even shot apparently. But that plot had to be abandoned and I guess the Irish girl went along with it.

Although not a very good character or plot strand... it is irritating to just have it abandoned without it being given any sort of conclusion.

There was an interesting plot in season one of Sarah Connor Chronicles that has just been abandoned in the same way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

like all the cast from S2 she is gone (except ell) ... thank god ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

It was originally intended for Peter to return to (that version of) the future to rescue Cailtlin in Season 2 but since the volume was cut short (cos of the writer's strike), that whole version of the future (and hence, plot-line) was abandoned. Fair enough, she was annoying. The only irritating thing about her disappearance is Peter's complacency about it. Though I guess finding out a future version of yourself shot your brother, getting thrown into the body of a convict, flashing forward to yet another doomed future and *episode 6 spoiler* having your (believed dead) father steal all your powers would probably prove quite distracting........ Yep.... I'm happy with that vague justification....... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

tbh, unless she turns out to have the poower of changing that damn accent I wouldn't really want her to be save either,

that accent was muck, why o why didn't they just get Irish actors to play the Irish characters??????????

Have you any idea how bad the Japanese accents are? And they're in it every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

Have you any idea how bad the Japanese accents are? And they're in it every week.
    but atleast Masi Oka IS japanese

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭The Don

Ya and the Korean ones in Lost.

The whole Caitlin thing has been bothering me since the end of season 2. Like Nervous Wreck said its Peter's whole complacency that bothers me the most. That and the writers ineptitude to not have plot holes everywhere. All they have to do is have Someone ask Peter what happened and he says that he rescued her and she's alive and well in bonnie old eire in this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,792 ✭✭✭Mark Hamill

I heard that Claires Texan accent is supposed to be awful too.

Mohinder sounds pretty damn awesome with his accent.

Doesn't sound Indian though... but it does sound good.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I heard that Claires Texan accent is supposed to be awful too.
    Everything about Claire is awful. Well, except her body and face. :p
    There was an interesting plot in season one of Sarah Connor Chronicles that has just been abandoned in the same way.
    Was that the whole black door thing?

Kiith wrote: »
    Was that the whole black door thing?

Yeah... in the high school with the strange graffiti, the girl who commits suicide, the councilor with something to hide and the odd girl that John kept trying to talk to.

They all seemed to be connected... but they all seem to have been completely abandoned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Maybe she got kidnapped by a fiddle-playing leprechaun and is tied up in Blarney castle! Diddley-eye!

The only crappy Japanese accent I've noticed is George Takei's (although I haven't been watching since S2).

Mohinder sounds pretty damn awesome with his accent.

Doesn't sound Indian though... but it does sound good.

Compare Mohinder's accent in any episode to his accent in the pilot. Hilarious.

Indeed... and then there is his real accent:

That's fairly impressive accent change! The bad irish accent is the reason I stopped watching Burn Notice. No matter how much fun it was, it always just nagged at me.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

The bad irish accent is the reason I stopped watching Burn Notice. No matter how much fun it was, it always just nagged at me.
    She dropped her "Oirish" accent after 3 weeks, presumably because the writers knew how dreadful it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

FruitLover wrote: »
    Maybe she got kidnapped by a fiddle-playing leprechaun and is tied up in Blarney castle! Diddley-eye!

Make that a fiddle playing leprechaun wizard and I think we have the answer!

From this link posted by Fysh:

This also means the character of Caitlin, Peter Petrelli’s love interest in the second season, will be lost in a dead timeline. Kring thinks too much time has gone by to return to the character. “There’s a few people out there who might be asking what happened to her, but for the majority of people, it would feel like a hard left turn,” Kring remarked. If Season Two had been completed as planned, Caitlin’s fate would have been revealed in the fifteenth episode of the year. Now she is a “casualty of an act of God.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭presotrader

I fear we are the only ones remembering this character after all - writers' strike or financial crisis, there is always someone crying "follow that car".
    As a matter of fact, do you think the show explained in a compelling manner the apparition of Peter in Cork?
    With all do respect to boards readers - in Cork? A container of iPODs? Hitting a bookie's shop for *big* money? Too many stories about the pot of gold, me thinks....

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Regarding the Cork thing, a sizeable volume of shipping trade goes through the city's port, and there's a fairly large Apple campus in Cork that as far as I know is responsible for a lot of assembly work. I'm not so sure about the whole "robbing the bookies" thing, but then again that's because the Cork they were dealing with should really have been called Generic International Stereotype Of Irish City, since that's what it was. (I'm not sure what you mean about the pot of gold stories though...)

As far as I recall, there wasn't any explanation for why Peter landed in Cork, but then that was the start of Season 2 which is where the writing well and truly went down the toilet so I suppose we shouldn't be surprised...

I see your point, but do you see mine....

these are all stereotypes (this is why they work)

for example - in the episode, the Irish crew was onto lifting a crate of iPODs that had supposedly just arrived - would they empty one of unassembled parts, put them together and sell them at low prices, since they were not paying PRSI (pun intended)?

my remark hits on this stereotype abuse - come on, Guiness, shamrocks, accents, betting, drinking - what next, a pot of gold waiting for you at the end of the rainbow and a couple of callcenter workers gone hiking?
    they could have done better than that - but as you nicely put it, S2 was a different story altogether.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Ah, I get what you mean. Yeah, it was a pretty disappointing and feeble portrayal of Cork and Irish culture alright. Mind you, I think monkeyfudge mentioned that the Japanese accents are awful too, so maybe it's just that the writers don't bother aiming for accurate representation of foreign cultures/don't have time to do the necessary research/think that it would be lost on the show's American audience (which, as a show primarily commissioned by NBC, has to remain a core concern).

Fysh wrote: »
    it was a pretty disappointing and feeble portrayal of Cork and Irish culture alright.

To me the pint of Guinness was the straw that broke the camels back, they were all drinking and celebrating their heist with Guinness, which looked like it's been sitting there for 6 hours, i.e. black with a 2mm yellow-cream top of a pint... Disgraceful ;)

Dunno how true this is, but I've heard that they auditioned Irish people for the parts of the Cork chaps but opted instead for American actors cos the Irish guys "didn't sound Irish enough". Ha.

Also, why Cork? Well... why anywhere? Cork's as valid as anywhere else I suppose....

Dunno how true this is, but I've heard that they auditioned Irish people for the parts of the Cork chaps but opted instead for American actors cos the Irish guys "didn't sound Irish enough". Ha.

Also, why Cork? Well... why anywhere? Cork's as valid as anywhere else I suppose....

Cause it was a shipping container ... so i guess it might dock in cork first?
    Other wise it would be Dublin

"Starry Petear, wat de bleedin hell did ye do ti yer man there, foucking hell, yizzer like dat greece god wit yer fire-ball ... wat his name? Zeus or somein"

don't think it would go down as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

One of them was english he used to be on Star Trek Enterprise he had the worst accent of them all

eamon234 is right - he is the Weapons Office in the pre-quel to Star Trek.
    I think he is okay, but the part in ST is childish and lacks substance.

Coming back to Heroes - were the webisodes published for Europe at any moment? I had good fun with the Battlestar Galactica ones, curious what this crew did with them.
    In BG the Webisodes have been used to gap certain parts of the action in a smart way. Could this be the case for "Caitlin"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭yellowcurl

I think the main problem here is that the writers strike cut season 2 short. That vial containing the virus was originally supposed to break and release the virus, the scene was even shot apparently. But that plot had to be abandoned and I guess the Irish girl went along with it.

Although not a very good character or plot strand... it is irritating to just have it abandoned without it being given any sort of conclusion.

Yeah, the shot scenes are in the extras in the season 2 boxset. I know, I know, loads of people don't like the show but i think it's starting to pick up again tbh. They cut out Nikki and her annoyingness and it's all starting to move forward again.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

eamon234 wrote: »
    One of them was english he used to be on Star Trek Enterprise he had the worst accent of them all

He was also in season 3 of prison break and I have NO FECKIN IDEA what accent he was attempting there, it sounded awful.

How that guy gets work is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

I don't really get how people haven't figured it out yet.

The show is absolute CRAP :pac: :pac:

Really though. It was new and interesting in Season 1. But since then it is absolute rubbish. I still watch it every week out of interest*, But I no longer expect anything but stupid storylines, gaping plot holes and terrible acting.

*And because it has mutants with super powers of course. Some of which happen to be quite hot too!!!