Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paul Williams

• 03-11-2008 10:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭

What do members of the Gardai think of Paul Williams articles in the Sunday World on the various gangland criminals?. Do his books have any relevance?.

Or do you think he's just a journalist making a living off the back of sensational reporting?.

I'm interested in hearing the opinion of serving Garda members rather than the general public

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

He seems to have pretty good information and knows whats going on but I have heard (but cant confirm) that hes guilty of making things up and interfering /messing up ongoing investigations for his own benefit. Still like his books though.

He must know whats going on, guy has 24 / 7 armed protection and the house is a fortress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

I find him a very easy read with plenty of information and to be truthful I got more information about crime in Dublin in the 90s from his articles in the Sunday Wurdled than I ever got from the job.As regards making things up I haven't heard that one.
    I have the new one but it's still unopened due to Ross O'Carroll Kelly's arrival the same day. I can only hope it's better than the last one, the one about CAB. That was the one exception to the rule, nothing more than a pat on the back for himself and Felix McKenna IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭opti76

he knows what hes told ... publishes half truths and likley scenarios and people take this as gospel...

good fiction writer though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Stay_in_Kampuchea

He's a savge ride. So I'm informed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭480905

Constructive contributions Lads .Well Done. Why not gather some facts before posting!!!!!!!! Like BrayBlue said..... great for info before most of the usual sources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

He's a savge ride. So I'm informed.

WTF!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭villager

paul williams would appear to have very good contacts both within the underworld and the gardai. has to be said that the ordinary man in the street would not know as much about the criminal underworld only for him. i have read some of his books and agree with earlier contributor that there is more info within than i would ever have found out through my job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭santosubito

His first book, The General, is in my opinion, the best book ever written about criime in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

I like his writing. informative! Library in the garda college has a good few of his books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

He seems to have pretty good information and knows whats going on but I have heard (but cant confirm) that hes guilty of making things up and interfering /messing up ongoing investigations for his own benefit. Still like his books though.

He must know whats going on, guy has 24 / 7 armed protection and the house is a fortress.

Of course he makes shit up.....its not like any of them lads can get onto the media and say "right, lets clear this up... i did murder him, but I didnt shoot her"

I like his books too, but I think he's got a nerve criticizing them for 1. Making a living off the drugs trade, as that is what he is doing himself and 2. Accusing them of having a distorted sense of pride/celebrity about themselves for what they do, because he is the one who is encouraging that by writing about them in the sensationalist way that he does,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

peanuthead wrote: »
    Of course he makes shit up.....its not like any of them lads can get onto the media and say "right, lets clear this up... i did murder him, but I didnt shoot her"

I like his books too, but I think he's got a nerve criticizing them for 1. Making a living off the drugs trade, as that is what he is doing himself and 2. Accusing them of having a distorted sense of pride/celebrity about themselves for what they do, because he is the one who is encouraging that by writing about them in the sensationalist way that he does,

+1 to that.

On a similar note there's an advert for Donal McIntyre featuring in 'The Prisoner' wherein a celebrity has to spend some time in a real gaol. The tagline for McIntyre's episode is 'Donal McIntyre, undercover reporter who has spent his life locking up criminals'......:rolleyes: Another great work of fiction.

I find it amusing that Williams/McIntyre et al profess to despise the scum they glamourise but profit from them at the same time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

I've met him a couple of times through social events. Interesting enough chap & I enjoy his books but I have to agree with some of the posts in not so much as making stuff up but embellishing the facts slightly, but I would say that about all crime authors.

Not sure about the 24/7 protection though. I was at a funeral in Cork recently in his direct company and there was no PPO anywhere to be seen all day, and we were all over the place.

I'm just awaiting his new book to come through my letterbox, compliments of his publishers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

metman wrote: »
    I find it amusing that Williams/McIntyre et al profess to despise the scum they glamourise but profit from them at the same time.

I dongt agree with this one Met, writing about something or talking about it is not the same as doing the act nor does he make them out to be anything but scum.

I hardly thing the news reader is making a living from the murders and deaths he reports nor is he a hero when he speaks about police tackling armed criminals.

In his books he doesnt speak highly about or defend the criminals, he simple tells the reader what these people really did to get where they are. If anything, he counteracts the celebrity impression that these people have attained by showing them for the scum they are.
    Trojan911 wrote: »
    Not sure about the 24/7 protection though. I was at a funeral in Cork recently in his direct company and there was no PPO anywhere to be seen all day, and we were all over the place.

Evidently your not as eagle eyed as you thought you were then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

I find Mc Intyre can "big up" some low-level thugs for his shows.
    Williams doesn't tend to use phrases like "criminal mastermind" etc. He calls these social deviants as they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Stay_in_Kampuchea

deadwood wrote: »
    I find Mc Intyre can "big up" some low-level thugs for his shows.
    Williams doesn't tend to use phrases like "criminal mastermind" etc. He calls these social deviants as they are.

I Agree with this one here. Atleast he's not like that Danny Dyer, good christ, the chap practicaly preforms fellatio on his subjects.

I take the point about Williams, but I'm still not happy with people making a good living writing about scum that simply need locking up.....perhaps the profits from his books should go to a victims of crime charity? But that's an ideal world type scenario. I know that some journo's do actually perform a useful function. However I also know that a high proportion are nothing more than parasites.

I take the point about Williams, but I'm still not happy with people making a good living writing about scum that simply need locking up.....
    Read all about it here for free!

deadwood wrote: »
    Read all about it here for free!

Not much of an analogy. How often have you seen us here write that: "Gerry Hutch aka the Monk, one of the most successful organised criminals in the history of the State"....yeah f*ckin jog on Williams. What you really mean is he's a scumbag robber that has the cash to engage the services of scumbag lawyers who're happy to represent scum, because said scum pays well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

I take the point about Williams, but I'm still not happy with people making a good living writing about scum that simply need locking up......

Met,

I see your point but there are a lot of people out there that enjoy reading factual crime reporting (rather than fictional novels etc).

I for one have always read factual books from many different authors on the troubles in the North here simply because I have been involved first hand in terrorism in London from PIRA bombings in the Aldwych & 1 Area in general to being a temporary FLO to Gary Reid in the Middlesex hospital after the Admiral Duncan in Soho.

I've even been taken & shown John Gotti's house in Long Island NY and in later years been to St Johns cemetry in Queens NY to see his and other Dons last resting places (Got all the pics) because I have an interest in reading factual crime books here, the UK & USA.

I suppose there is a fascination to some elements of law breakers and their ways and I don't mind buying books to read that have been written by credible authors but what really gets my goat, and I've never bought a book, is when scumbag pondlife write their own books and then profit from that. I believe they are forbidden in the UK to do just this (open to correction).

To me, Paul Williams is a good author, however, he comes across to me as a little bit to pro 'Ole Bill which makes it a bit cringeworthy when listening to him on radio etc. He does refer to the pondlife as scum when he is discussing them on air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

Finished this book. Good read but enough typos to make the Herdild jealous!!

brayblue24 wrote: »
    Finished this book. Good read but enough typos to make the Herdild jealous!!
    What happens at the end?:D

What you really mean is he's a scumbag robber that has the cash to engage the services of scumbag lawyers who're happy to represent scum, because said scum pays well.
    That's a bit harsh on solicitors.
    It's only 99% giving the ohers a bad name!

How often have you seen us here write that: "Gerry Hutch aka the Monk, one of the most successful organised criminals in the history of the State"....yeah f*ckin jog on Williams.

Tho tell me gewwy, whooth thith metman athhole? He'th really upthet you, and that pitheth me off. I'm gonna kick hith ath. You ain't no thumbag, you're an honeth to goodneth thauffeur that payth hith tathes to the wevenue commithioner.

tyson-dublin-05.jpg