Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gerry Ryan

• 03-11-2008 9:46am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭

Good show about deer shooting lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

<modhat>
    Several posts with the words 'shooting' and 'Gerry Ryan' in close proximity deleted.
    No infractions this time, but any further similar comment will most certainty be dealt with more harshly.
    </modhat>

Thanks for the heads-up about the show greenpeter, I only caught the last few minutes; what was the earlier part like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

http://www.rte.ie/2fm/podcast/podcast_gerryryan.xml

Its not there now, but it might turn up later on. I wouldn't mind hearing it myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

It was ok. To be honest im very suprised at RTE as they didnt lambast hunters with anti crap. Not the parts i heard though i didnt tune in until 9.30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭José Alaninho

Not one anti on it at all! And Gerry himself seemed very supportive :eek: I'm shocked (in a good way)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Not one anti on it at all! And Gerry himself seemed very supportive :eek: I'm shocked (in a good way)

Why are you shocked? You sound like you come across anti hunt people every day. Do you or is there paranoia creeping in here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

lightening wrote: »
    Why are you shocked? You sound like you come across anti hunt people every day. Do you or is there paranoia creeping in here?

Well generally when the discussion comes up it always receives pro and anti sides. Just check the last thread posted in After Hours. While the pros were coming out on top there were antis. It only takes 1 on a radio show, while they may not be in majority putting a person from each side makes it seem like a split or close run thing.

The Antis are louder than the pros, they are better with the media than we are but I believe them to be in a minority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Vegeta wrote: »
    Just check the last thread posted in After Hours

Vegeta? After Hours? You can't compare that forum with normal everyday life and attitudes of Irish people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

I think it was good for all shooting deer because they got the point across that wild anmials need to be managed culled ect to prevent damage to crops ect. Gerry agread with most of the comments, think he had a run in with a deer a while back in his car. Hope it appears on the pod cast so everyone can get a listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

the hunting shop in Clonmel that was mentioned is not far from where I work, small but great range of stock, bit pricey though the guy that runs it and was on this morning to Gerry is very knowledgable in all hunting issues and is great for a bit of advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

More on this morning. They had a fella on from the Irish Deer Society. He came across as OK. He was doing some pushing for the HCAP.

I'd have like to have heard yesterday's caller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Fair play to Gerry Ryan showing a willingness to be balanced. Face it folks, a million anti's won't take away the need for deer management and that's a well known fact where it matters : in the NPWS and the Dept. of Agriculture.
    And as far as I know farming organisations and expert advice fortunatly still carries a bit more weight with law makers than a bunch of fulltime protesters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 drimnabeg

Jonty wrote: »
    More on this morning. They had a fella on from the Irish Deer Society. He came across as OK. He was doing some pushing for the HCAP.

I'd have like to have heard yesterday's caller.

here we go http://dynamic.rte.ie/quickaxs/209-rte-2fm-grs-gerryryanshow-Monday.smil
    not a bother.
    Ps, it starts around 38 min.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

Thank's drimnabeg for the link, I heard about the show and missed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 bang

reipies this time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭kerryman12

what are u guys playing that file type with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

Try realplayer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 bang

yep realplayer works