Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Facing redundancy and worried sick

• 02-11-2008 7:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Have a good job and love it even if it is stressful. Long hours (12-14 hour days), great money and fantastic team mates.

Been announced that 10% of my department is going to be made redundant on December 3rd. Nobody outside management has any fecking idea on how they choose. They ain't telling us plebs at the bottom.
    Out of 19 people I'm the longest serving and have over 2 years more experience then the new hires. And I'm only on 2k more then them so I'm not exactly madly expensive to keep around. They started on way more then I did and it was through a lot of hard work I dragged my salary up.

I realize there are thousands of people facing this in Ireland at the moment. But I'm worried to the point of being physically sick.

I used to do projects in work on my initiative but stopped in the last few weeks and when management asked why, I said **** it , what's the point? Work 14 hour days and your reward is possible redundancy..... Possibly this was a terrible idea but it ain't easy to stay motivated.

I've no mortgage, no loans and maybe 25k in the bank.
    If I do lose my job I'll never get a job as well paid as this in Ireland in the near future. Tough times in the industry.

But the one thing I decided was if I do chose laid off was I wasn't going on the dole. I've been there for months before and it's so so depressing. I'd go traveling rather then go on the dole. No shame in being on the dole, I've certainly paid into it for years but I realy don't want to go back there.

Never been traveling and I'd be going on my own as my mates did this years ago. So maybe it's a jump-start I need to go traveling, just not sure.

Anyone else facing redundancy? I realize I don't have a mortgage or family to support so you may say I have it easy, but stressful nonetheless

No offence... but i don't see what the problem is?

You fear being made redundant... but you've plenty of money saved, have no family to support, no mortgage or loans and you're already planning to go traveling if you do lose the job?

You poor thing.

Why not get out of ireland and go somewhere else where your current job may be in demand? Might not be the same people you're working with, but it can't be much worse? New scenery, place to stay. Just be like freshening your life up...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭echosound

You fear being made redundant... but you've plenty of money saved, have no family to support, no mortgage or loans and you're already planning to go traveling if you do lose the job?

You poor thing.

Why not get out of ireland and go somewhere else where your current job may be in demand? Might not be the same people you're working with, but it can't be much worse? New scenery, place to stay. Just be like freshening your life up...?

Agreed word for word.

I've been made redundant not once but twice in the past year, with loans to pay and a roof to keep over our heads. It's not that big a deal, many are facing it in this climate, and in a far worse situation than you with families to support and huge mortgages to pay with little to no savings to dip into.

And you say you are long serving, so you will be getting a redundancy package too, so that'll be a decent enough chunk of cash to add to your savings and go travelling.

I don't mean to belittle the worry you are experiencing, but it doesn't sound to me like you will be in a bad position IF you are made redundant, which you are not even sure is 100% certain yet. You say only 10% of your dept will go, what's to say you will not be one of the 90% kept on?No point worrying about it until a decision is made one way or another, but perhaps chuck as much money as you can into savings so you can take off out of the country if you do get made redundant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

Why not take it as a chance to do something completely different with your life?

In the middle of an economic boom (or tiger) there's only one thing to do - work. Now with recession, someone like yourself with money saved who may be made redundant can now go and do something you ordinarily wouldn't do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

By the sound of things you are much more likely NOT to be laid off, at least in the current round of cuts. What industry are you in?

It sounds like you dont have a huge amount to worry about - though uncertainty can be a killer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

You don't have to answer but - Architect by any chance?

OP, you're as well set up for the worst as anyone can be. Fair play to you, I'd be in far worse a position than you if I was facing the potential for being made redundant.

Don't worry about travelling on your own if that's where life's taking you, most of the back-packers I know who've had the really cool experiences rather than the generic spend 6 months in Bondi bull**** have travelled alone...

Whichever way things go for you, if your industry is that badly hit in Ireland at the moment have you thought about maybe merging your two options - stay working or travel? i.e. look into options to gain different experience within your field abroad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

€25k in the bank? Man, fu*k that shit, hang around HOPING to be made redundant, infact, volunteer for it!! You sound like you've even been there a while so let's be conservative here, and say you get another €10k redundancey...that's €35k in the bank. More than the average person in Ireland earns in a year.

You could get a round the world trip for an entire year using half of that money. Holiday of a life time. Then, with the remaining money, you would have enough to relocate to any city in the world and look for work in your industry...there's got to be work somewhere - if it's anyway connected to construction, Oz is haveing a construction BOOM at the moment, Perth is a building site - could end your world trip there ;) 9 months of sunshine and good wages with cheap cost of living.

If every man could bring his own problems to a comunal pool of the world, most would rather walk away with his own then take an even slice of the share.

Physically sick? Are you mental? I'm in a job I hate praying to be made redundant so I can scrape together 5 or 6 grand to get some good travelling in! Feck it pal, it's a sinking ship, you may never get an oppertunity like this again to sieze the day and see the world! Go for it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

I've no mortgage, no loans and maybe 25k in the bank.
    ...then you're one lucky git!

No offense but you come across as one of those people who 'live to work' rather than vice-versa. Maybe you should re-address the priorities in your life.

12-14 hour days is not the norm in nearly any industry I know of, unless you're a junior doctor. Just wait 'till you're in your late 30's and hitting total-burn out, sorry to say I was that solider.
    If I do lose my job I'll never get a job as well paid as this in Ireland in the near future. Tough times in the industry.

Then go travel and work abroad. You're young, financially independent and mobile.

You'd be surprised the amount of people who've said getting sacked was the best thing that ever happened to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

You poor thing.

Agreed 100%..... From the OP I would think that you are the LEAST likely to be made redundant; you have 25k saved (fackin ell); you have no mortgage or family to support; you can actually CHOOSE to not go on the dole, but rather go travelling!

There are thousands of people who are getting let go with no redundancy package, but a family to support.

Fair enough, you're entitled to be upset at the redundancy, but get some bloody perspective for the love of god.....!!!

If (and it seems unlikely) you get made redundant, go travelling and maybe set up shop abroad for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭von Neumann

Hi lifeonthedole,

I'm in a similar position to yourself, and I understand where you are coming from, it's not a nice feeling :(.
    Particularly if you've spent your time building something up, only to see it disappear.
    Things can't stay like this forever, give it a year or two and who knows? So chin up you'll get through it.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

hey, am in exactly the same position only we are losing 25% of the staff before christmas.

there is nothing you can do about it, so there is no point in worrying. i have just made sure my mortgage protection policy is in place and i have insurance on all my other loans

chin up and all that crap

but i wish to god i was you, no mortgage, no loans, and €25k in the bank - you are laughing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭LeahBaby

Your very very lucky.

I HAVE got made redundant. Finished in March. Owe 10grand to the credit union, 3 on my credit car, a car loan and a mortgage. and I'm only 20.

Thought getting on the property ladder was a good idea. Now my social life is gone as every cent has to go towards paying every loan before march.

Take this oppurtunity and be glad.

i'd kill to be in your position!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

Why are you worrying about something that may not happen? You might be better off out of it if you are working 12 hours a day. Thats a 60 hour week. I guess you work somewhere like Accenture?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Pack it up and leave this ****hole :pac: Guess your just stuck in a routine and familiar with going to work and putting the effort it or some other amatuer psycological bull. But you work extremely hard by the sounds of it and now you have earned the right to go explore the world. And if you want to work abroad, you got a great bit of experience and refernece on your CV (12 - 14 hour days, bloody hell...). Good luck man.