Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I saw trick or treaters in ireland for the first time

• 31-10-2008 8:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭

just a mile away from my house in Culchie Land. They calling to all the little houses in the village. I couldn't ****ing believe it. Who ever decided to bring this cheesy american tradition to Ireland deserves a good hard kick up the hole. I also saw them walking along a backroad at night that has the houses well spaced out and I feel sorry for poor old biddies who live in these houses when a bunch of badly dressed children show up at the door. Like these people have lived in relative peace here in culchie land for most of their life and then this happens.

They won't come to my house though. gate locked and if they decide to come in anyway I have a few chainsaws laying around..

Trick or treaters in rural Ireland - It's more likely than you think!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

towel401 wrote: »
    just a mile away from my house in Culchie Land. They calling to all the little houses in the village. I couldn't ****ing believe it. Who ever decided to bring this cheesy american tradition to Ireland deserves a good hard kick up the hole. I also saw them walking along a backroad at night that has the houses well spaced out and I feel sorry for poor old biddies who live in these houses when a bunch of badly dressed children show up at the door. Like these people have lived in relative peace here in culchie land for most of their life and then this happens.

They won't come to my house though. gate locked and if they decide to come in anyway I have a few chainsaws laying around..

Throw them out some spuds..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

DarkJager wrote: »
    Throw them out some spuds..

waste of perfectly good spuds

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Well my mother(not UR MA) has told me that in the distant past of her youth, people did this. My dad told me the same and he was born in 1920. So american or not it's been around a while. I think it just died out for a time.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Big Knox

Have you been living under a rock?? :confused:

Big Knox wrote: »
    Have you been living under a rock?? :confused:

no read the damn thread i just never saw them here in culchie land before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭galwayguy22

Why do you call it culchie land when you live there yourself?

And they've always been trick or treating in the rural parts, so you have been living under a rock.

Why do you call it culchie land when you live there yourself?

And they've always been trick or treating in the rural parts, so you have been living under a rock.

because I'm a proud culchie.

damn townies who can't fix anything themselves.. we need another good townie vs culchie thread in this forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

What annoys me is that traditional wren-boying is dying out while this American crap is becoming rampant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Dip the sugary sweets into chilli powder for a titter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

What annoys me is that traditional wren-boying is dying out while this American crap is becoming rampant.
    They come around on St Stephens Day evening don't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

dSTAR wrote: »
    They come around on St Stephens Day evening don't they?
    Culchies are a bit thick, they always get the two days mixed up

Yes indeed the wren-boys come round on Stephens Day but not so often these days they cant be bothered after the trick or treat crap a few months beforehand. Wren-Boys are already non-existent east of the Shannon within the next 20 years or so they will probably have disappeared completely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I know, beats me how young lads these days could prefer bags of sweets to going round barefoot in old dresses with a dead bird on a stick..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Halloween in my day meant, we robbed your gates and hid them, parked the donkey cart on your lawn that your neighbour down the road had out to decorate the front garden. Swapped your garden ornaments with the neighbours. Hid your push bikes.

Great craic in the local when someone put a scraw of turf/ bog over the top of the chimney and the place filled with smoke :D...ahh the good old days are almost gone. Trick was you had to move your own gates as well, so it wouldint look so suspicious. Dad was never impressed lol. Their still firing spuds on the roof in the Whest, still robbing gates. so it's not completly dead, but getting there!

Stephens day still gets the wren boys out..but it's PC now. Wren girls too!

There is a crew of Irish pikeys flogging dodgy gear in Melbourne at the moment.

I wonder if they will come around on St Stephens night :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

I dunno, my dad was born in the 1920's and he used to remember it happening when he was a kid. Halloween was always an Irish feastday.

stovelid wrote: »
    I know, beats me how young lads these days could prefer bags of sweets to going round barefoot in old dresses with a dead bird on a stick..

Its clear you have never seen anybody wren-boying.. It hasnt been done like that for about 50 years.

• Moderators Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

Ah you're having a laugh you are!! Halloween is for kids to get dressed up and get free treat and go home to stuff their faces till they feel sick!!!

There's not enough playgrounds for kids, or enough activities (that cost nothing) and they get something ONCE A FRIKKIN YEAR and theres the typical moany shoites who are too tight to open their gate, open their door and give the kids a treat.

bloody world is gone too PC dude. . . you dont happen to work for the BBC now or anything do ya? :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

When I was a kid I used to get nuts and fruit. Now kids are given lollies.

These same kids sugar rushing and bouncing off the walls will be graduating to the harder stuff when they grow up. Mark my words ;)