Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fireworks!

• 31-10-2008 4:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭

I noticed there was next to no discussion about fireworks on AH. maybe because 12 year olds don't post here, or maybe because they're illegal.

The new laws had **** all effect last year, the "popcorn" of several bangers going off per second was still there, proof that prohibition doesn't work (hah... see how i snuck that in there,, yeah!:pac:)

However, there hasn't been as much bangs in the run up to halloween as before, will there be far less bangers going off this year?

What's your general opinion on fireworks?

will you be enjoying them tonight, or will you be cowering in your house like a nerd (garda run displays don't count) :D!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭TeletextPear

vinylmesh wrote: »
    I noticed there was next to no discussion about fireworks on AH. maybe because 12 year olds don't post here, or maybe because they're illegal.

The new laws had **** all effect last year, the "popcorn" of several bangers going off per second was still there, proof that prohibition doesn't work (hah... see how i snuck that in there,, yeah!:pac:)

However, there hasn't been as much bangs in the run up to halloween as before, will there be far less bangers going off this year?

What's your general opinion on fireworks?

will you be enjoying them tonight, or will you be cowering in your house like a nerd (garda run displays don't count) :D!

dunno where you live but there's been fireworks going off in north dublin every night since the start of oct - id imagine tonight will be the exact same as every other year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

I agree with the OP, I haven't heard half as much fireworks or bangers this year as I would usually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

Haven't bothered with them this year tbh, was too lazy :pac:

Personally I think fireworks are great, very entertaining and a key part of halloween for the kids. Only in responcible hands though, unlike mine. ****ed up my kitchen to try prove fuses go out in water (used the sink). Turns out they don't!

I've been shot several times with rockets and repeaters and nearly lost a hand with a qtr stick of dynamite but all in the name of good fun.

It should be legal but like most things should be controlled and people should be better eduacated about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Bill-e

I love fireworks! But they're not so much fun when some tool sticks them up a cats arse hole...

There's not that much down in the south in the way of fireworks.

Used to bring in quarter sticks from france years ago. NBut that was before 911 and all that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I've heard about 2/3 honestly.

I mean it's Halloween evening and I havent heard anything.

A few years ago it would have been non stop this whole week, with today being mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

eVeNtInE wrote: »

It could just be that people are saving them for halloween night, that kinda happened last year aswell. I have heard a fair few, just not as many as before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Anyone trying reporting these 'criminal' acts of fireworks to the gardai yet?

Just imagine the conversation.

Me- I want to report hundreds of crimes on my street.
    Garda - Wha??
    Me - Explosions are everywhere, serious sh1t happening right now!
    Garda - Ah feck off, what do you expect us to do? We can't be everywhere and more important crimes to catch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Only starting to hear a few in the last 30mins or so here. Been especially quiet this year thank fúck.
    gurramok wrote: »
    Garda - Ah feck off, what do you expect us to do? We can't be everywhere and more important crimes to catch!

Rubber bullets ftw :D :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Unless done by professionals, I was never a fan of fireworks.
    The only time I heard of fireworks being used by teenagers was when either someone got hurt or they were being used to terrorise houses (shoved into letter boxes, etc) or animals. Both of which I hate to see.
    That said, I'd be sorry to see them fizzle out (no pun intended) for kids. The way things are going they need something to brighten up their days a head and give them good memories.

Has the recession had an effect on the buying of them. Yes, I'd say so.
    Also the laws governing them has had an effect too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

gurramok wrote: »
    Anyone trying reporting these 'criminal' acts of fireworks to the gardai yet?

Just imagine the conversation.

Me- I want to report hundreds of crimes on my street.
    Garda - Wha??
    Never mind the guards, just sell them some handheld fireworks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Rockee

I live in Rush and its usually like Beirut by now! Cant hear a feckin thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Ear plugs and Valium people..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Looking across the city from Marino, can see them going off all over the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Very few out there atm, you used to see the smoke from them and hear bangers going off every second or so, have yet to see many fireworks going up or hear the cheapo rockets going, definately allot quieter this year, also the lead up was much quieter this year aswell :D

Nick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

been very quiet up until today and now its like bagdad where i am (raheny)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

Well, halloween's over, and just like every other year there was multiple bangers going off per second within hearing range where i was.

The laws clearly failed to have effect. Any kids that were too scared this year, now know they're not gonna get 5 years prison for setting of a banger in the street.

btw, the kids on my street weren't scared at all, they were going at them like never before,doing all sorts of stuff i wouldn't have even dreamed of!

My prediction = next year it'll be fully back to pre-unjust-law levels :)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

Next year will be the same situation if less assholes are on the street...

There will be the odd rocket or banger but not the extent that it was 4/5 years ago. The law has gotten more strict and people aren't arsed to take the risk for explosives (sorry guantammo).

Couldn't give a bollox its all for the buzz anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

vinylmesh wrote: »
    Well, halloween's over, and just like every other year there was multiple bangers going off per second within hearing range where i was.

The laws clearly failed to have effect. Any kids that were too scared this year, now know they're not gonna get 5 years prison for setting of a banger in the street.

Much quieter here than in recent years. I heard feck all fireworks or bangers, and last year it was like Black Hawk Down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I only heard/saw a few on Hallowe'en night, when in previous years the weeks leading up to it usually sounds like Baghdad or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

I only heard/saw a few on Hallowe'en night, when in previous years the weeks leading up to it usually sounds like Baghdad or something.

Same around here, much quieter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭XxlauraxX

bigkev49 wrote: »
    Looking across the city from Marino, can see them going off all over the place.

That may be, but they didn't go off half as much as last year, I was so surprised at how little they were going off in comparison to last year.

Laura

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

It's a shame more of the bangers don't blow up in the stupid little feckers' hands. That'd learn 'em.

With a bit of luck the laws will be properly enforced next year (not that I'll be here (w00t!)), but this is Ireland, after all.