Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gigs - going it alone???

• 30-10-2008 9:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭

Hey all,

This just a general question I thought I’d ask. I've been going to gigs since '96 and have seen loads of acts live. I've been fortunate enough to have been accompanied to many gigs (of bands/artists that I really wanted to see) by like-minded friends.

However there are a couple of gigs that I’ve been thinking of going to but I don't think my mates, brother or girlfriend would be that pushed into going shelling out money for, and that’s fair enough.

However, I was just wondering, is it odd to go to a gig alone, or is it a done thing? Has anyone reading this done it? Would they do it again?

By the way, this is not my way of looking for a gig buddy. If I want to do that I will. I was just curious as to how people felt about this situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭triv88

No one cares who a person goes with / doesn't go with.Everybody is there for the same reason,enjoy the show!! Same goes for the cinema

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Doozie

I'd feel a bit of a sap going to a gig on my own and while I've been pretty close to doing it now and again (generally because most of my friends have the musical taste of a 12 year old girl) I've always bottled it. No bother going to the cinema on my todd though, but I think that is different. :cool:

• Moderators Posts: 51,922 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Go to the vast majority of gigs on my own. Don't think its odd to go on your own. It only makes a difference before and after the gig if I've gone with friends as I tend to give a lot of attention to the bands performing.

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭fluke

Doozie wrote: »
    I'd feel a bit of a sap going to a gig on my own and while I've been pretty close to doing it now and again (generally because most of my friends have the musical taste of a 12 year old girl) I've always bottled it. No bother going to the cinema on my todd though, but I think that is different. :cool:

aye i've went to the cinema solo sometimes, no problem with that, though it is cool to share the experience of a (good or bad) gig with someone isn't it?

in response to triv88 I agree no one cares if i'm there alone, i'm just asking people's thoughts on gigs when they have gone alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

OP - If you want some company at the gigs feel free to use the Gig Buddies forum. It was set up for people to see if others were heading along to a gig

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1098

KevIRL wrote: »
    OP - If you want some company at the gigs feel free to use the Gig Buddies forum. It was set up for people to see if others were heading along to a gig

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1098

thanks for that Kev, however I'm probably a snookered on that one. One gig i'd like to go to is promoted by... well...THAT promoter, and even if i did want a gig buddy i don't think i could mention that particular gig here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

fluke wrote: »
    thanks for that Kev, however I'm probably a snookered on that one. One gig i'd like to go to is promoted by... well...THAT promoter, and even if i did want a gig buddy i don't think i could mention that particular gig here.

Oh okay. Best not to post about the gig here on boards so.

Thanks fluke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I've been to plenty of gigs on my own. There are certain types of gigs that you can head to by yourself.

I'd do a small gig in Whelans, Crawdaddy etc. - I've even done one or two in Vicar Street by myself. But I wouldn't do a day festival type of one by myself I don't think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Takk

'Went to Paris in September by myself, specifically to go to a gig. I had never been abroad on my own before, so I wanted to go for that reason as well. Great experience, great gig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 842 ✭✭✭dereko1969

been to a good few gigs on my own and they've been fine, the way i look at it is, would i rather see the band on my own rather than not going at all, going to the gig nearly always wins out

the only thing about going on your own is if you head off to the jacks getting 'your' spot back when you return is tricky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Acid Tongue

The idea of going to gigs on my own used to worry me, then I realised I'd miss out on a lot of amazing (imo) stuff just because no one wanted to go with me. In fact now I often prefer to go on my own rather than to drag along someone else who probably won't enjoy it as much as me and will just complain about it (oh trust me, I've been there).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

if I didn't go to gigs on my own I would have missed a **** load of good acts. I would have missed weezer if I didnt :eek:

Found this on the main page.

OP: I think the only real problem you can have going on your own is finding the venue. If you know where that is, then you're sorted. Find some like minded people and you may have some new friends after said event.

Personally, I wouldn't go to an event on my own (i hate the word 'gig') as, knowing me, i'd more than likely just get lost on the way to the venue. I find that once you're at the place, talking to people around you is handy enough. You obviously know that you have a common interest with them so just breaking the ice is the difficult part. Personally, I never went to an event on my own of any kind, but i have met many, many people at them, some of which i still talk to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭Denalihighway

been to manys a gig on me own around dublin. Especially attractive if its mid-week and just hop in the car, grab a sneaky one just before hand and then watch the gig and head straight home. Can be awkward though if th eband decide to be divas and not come on til midnight. There's only so much texting and drinking water you can do, but all in all its been a very successful lone gig attending experience for me. It always feels all the more rewarding when you stick yer neck out a bit and just go for it.

On another level, I also went to V2001 on my own. Now that was an absolutely feckin mad weekend. I had twitch in my face all the way home and was worried it would stay. It didnt, so I'd completely recommend it.

Thanks for the feedback on this. It’s really interesting as before I created this thread I wouldn't have really thought the idea of going alone to a gig/event would really be an attractive idea, but now it seems kind of cool :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭JJ

I've gone to a good few gigs on my own in my time. I'd agree with other people here that you're better off being on your own then dragging someone along who is anywhere between half interested and not interested at all in the music.

One major downside, as mentioned before, is you don't have someone to save your spot so unless you have an iron bladder you can either not drink or accept that you'll have to take what you can get after going to the jacks.

I've been to a few festivals on my own and had a great time. On all those occassions, I met a few people including some of the artists performing there. When I go to the festival, I like to fill 110% of my time checking out the bands and there aren't too many people who can put up with such high-impact festivaling so I found going on my own to be much preferable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

Yeah I've been to a few gigs on my own 2 in the last week as it happens and one coming up next week. Generally if I was at home there would be someone to go with but not always. But if there was no one interested in it I would not let it stop me from seeing a band I like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I've been to a fair few on my own in the last year because a lot of bands I like aren't big in Australia so none of my mates would be interested in going. I go for the music and not to drink etc so makes no difference if I'm with people or on my tobler.

Jeez if I didn't go on my own I would have lost out on seeing Muse, Interpol and Death Cab For Cutie! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭tubedude

If I knew someone who didn't go to gigs they would have liked to see because they had no one to go with them, I'm afraid to say that I would probably think of them as a bit of a sap.
    Are you independent enough to do your own thing or do you need someone to hold your hand? (rhetorical question!). Nothing wrong with having company though, as long as its company and not support.
    So yeah fluke dont hesitate man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

in my past, ive missed a couple of gigs, cos had no body to go with. when a pretty popular band played in dublin in november 2007, i was initially going with a girl i didnt know especially well, but knew from 'around'. she was going with a couple of mates, so woulda been a small group of us.

she ended up moving abroad. so she was out. then turned out she was having a crap time. so her two mates went to visit her and cheer her up, during the weekend of that gig. so i ended up going by myself.

never looked back.

let's face it, the people in the crowd/queue are practically guaranteed to be likeminded in at least one area of thought, you all have something in common, nad if you're paying to go, then odds are, as far as you're concerned, it's kickass music, to a band you love, and you're likely to enjoy it no matter what.

i can get that people may feel uncomfortable going alone. i just don't get that htey refuse to go, purely cos of that.

waste.

tubedude wrote: »
    If I knew someone who didn't go to gigs they would have liked to see because they had no one to go with them, I'm afraid to say that I would probably think of them as a bit of a sap.
    Are you independent enough to do your own thing or do you need someone to hold your hand? (rhetorical question!). Nothing wrong with having company though, as long as its company and not support.
    So yeah fluke dont hesitate man.

tubedude...would you hold my hand??? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭indieJones

Going to gigs on your own is grand. My only advice is to go a bit later as I've arrived early and it felt awkward standing around on my own for ages waiting for the band to come on. I'd prefer it if the support were on before I got in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭joulter

yea ive been to plenty of gigs on my own...great at big outdoor gigs when once its over you can get the hell out of there and not have to wait around for people makes a big difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Lorrs33

I've gone to three gigs alone. The first was horrible because it was seated and there were four empty seats beside me. But the last two were standing and I found that I enjoyed myself more. Sure it's nice having someone you know to share that with you, but you meet new people at concerts when you go solo, and they're there for the same reason you are, so you have something to talk about.

I'd do it again, I know I will have to. Unfortunately I like a lot of bands my friends and family hate, lol.