Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this a good package??

• 30-10-2008 7:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭

Hi guys,

Im looking to get pro tools and bits so am looking for the best deal and came across this bundle from thomann. Is pro tools le the new one or is it pro tools 8 im looking for??

Is the mic and monitors decent or of decent quality or would i be better off buying a decent mic?

All the software and pluggins that come with this package, are they good for effects and stuff?

just all the general questions about this package whether its good or not.

any advice wanted,

Cheers

http://www.thomann.de/ie/digidesign_pro_tools_music_creat_studio.htm

Plus does anyone know what the deal is on giving them a vat number to claim it back?? or what percentage vat do they use??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

It's grand for recording a few things at home, what would you expect for under €800? are the cables included?

It's a cheap mic and a pair of desktop type speakers.

You can only claim the VAT if you are using the gear in the line of business. The German rate is 17.5% afaik.

I reckon you should buy in Ireland though, at least you'll get the tech back up if you need it. Most places will match thomann as a point of principle.

If none of the lads up on here can do it I bet I could find someone...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭henessjon

are you keyboard or guitar

guitarist no its not worth it

you should get a free upgrade to PTle 8 buying this close to the release
    pt gives you an audiosuite for fx.

get a decent mic. you can live with headphones for a while.

or if you have no preference look at Logic express 8 probably better entry level, you have an audio interface? unless you doing a band 2 ports should be enough.

Im a hobbyist no affiliation with anything just my opinion. I have PT but started in garageband..

for logic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭nicknackgtb

I have messed around with logic a few times but its just that i have a new job and they use pro tools, i wanna be able to get pro tools, for my own recording too, but to be able to learn what the industry uses mainly, and in particular my job, as they use pro tools all the time.

I dint know about the mic or monitors so wanted to ask yis bout them. i'd obv be better off getting my own of each. All i need is a vocal mic for now so i might spend a bit more on it instead. The rest of my instruments are all midi based or i will just throw the guitars in through a di and into the soundcard.

When is pro tools 8 out anyway?? am i right in buying pro tools le now and getting an upgrade or do i just wait and get 8 or whats the story with it.

Thanks for the feed back anyway lads.:D:D

sounds like you made your mind up PT it is ver 8 is out next week its all LE unless your buying TDM cards 1.5k per pop..

henessjon wrote: »
    sounds like you made your mind up PT it is ver 8 is out next week its all LE unless your buying TDM cards 1.5k per pop..

I'd love to know where you can get TDM cards at 1.5k a pop. Try nearly 10k a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

I was told by a Digidesign representative that the likely date for 8's release was 'at least early '09'.

The price of a Pro Tools|HD 1 with PCIe— 1 HD Core in Digidesign's current price list is Euro 6395

Incorrect or speculative information is of no use to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭dav nagle

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    I was told by a Digidesign representative that the likely date for 8's release was at least 'early '09'.

The price of a Pro Tools|HD 1 with PCIe— 1 HD Core in Digidesign's current price list is Euro 6395

Incorrect or speculative information is of no use to anyone.

There has been a relatively decent price drop in the Pro tools HD series right?

dav nagle wrote: »
    There has been a relatively decent price drop in the Pro tools HD series right?

I hope so! But Digi haven't issued us with a new pricelist yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭ICN

You'll need a computer to go with that as well.. :pac: :pac:

ICN wrote: »
    You'll need a computer to go with that as well.. :pac: :pac:

A dell inspiron 6000?

I hope so! But Digi haven't issued us with a new pricelist yet.

They seem to be offering HD with C24 package deals that look very sweet. Perhaps if they dropped the HD cards to maybe €1500 each they would have total market dominance.

A dell inspiron 6000?

Happy Halloween Dav!

Dell inspiron 6000 = Trick, not treat.

Happy Halloween Dav!

Dell inspiron 6000 = Trick, not treat.

Happy halloween evil spirits!

I am a bias Mac guy myself but I was fixing my mates Dell inspiron 6000 today and it reminded me how lucky I am!

Happy halloween evil spirits!

I am a bias Mac guy myself but I was fixing my mates Dell inspiron 6000 today and it reminded me how lucky I am!

Fixing - as in neutering it? :pac:

Good man yourself! :)

Fixing - as in neutering it? :pac:

Good man yourself! :)

Yeah cutting the balls off the poor creature!

LOL!!

Thank God the software cant be violated by the dirty auld desktop now :rolleyes: ;)

SuperDav!

ok so the price is not right get over it :-) point is taken re: le...lower end = light edition

theres a show in birmingham next weekend wher they are showing pt 8 is that not a launch???

ah well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭nicknackgtb

ok so if i wanna get pro tools now, im to go for the le version, right????

And then when 8 comes out whenever its coming out, i can just upgrade my le version up to it, ie, dont have to buy a whole new pro tools again, it would just be an upgrade, am i right in what im saying?

ok so the price is not right get over it :-) point is taken re: le...lower end = light edition

theres a show in birmingham next weekend wher they are showing pt 8 is that not a launch???

ah well

Facts is facts John! It was shown at Ireland's Music Live show a few weeks ago so no, it's not a launch!

However things could and do, change.

gosh how rude my last reply sounds ....

Im a naughty boy.....

also that show in dublin was not well advertised didnt get a whiff of it... i must get my head out of the sand more often

gosh how rude my last reply sounds ....

Im a naughty boy.....

also that show in dublin was not well advertised didnt get a whiff of it... i must get my head out of the sand more often

It's the -

http://wordpress.hotpress.com/themusicshow/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

can i ask why protools is so expensive.
    i mean what makes it so different from every other sequencer out there(im talking about logic i guess)

seannash wrote: »
    can i ask why protools is so expensive.
    i mean what makes it so different from every other sequencer out there(im talking about logic i guess)

HD is expensive because of the hardware cards used , as well as interfaces needed.

LE is a reduced capacity Software package with a cheap and cheerful hardware interface attached.

It's sequencing capabilities are usually agreed to be not as good as the competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

HD is expensive because of the hardware cards used , as well as interfaces needed.

LE is a reduced capacity Software package with a cheap and cheerful hardware interface attached.

It's sequencing capabilities are usually agreed to be not as good as the competition.
    so all your paying for is an interface,software isnt doing anything other programmes are doing then.

seannash wrote: »
    so all your paying for is an interface,software isnt doing anything other programmes are doing then.

No, processing is actually on the DSP cards themselves - so you can do things like live effects, very low latency, high sample rates plus a choice of hardware interfaces, a zillion tracks etc.

Also the premier Plug-in companies write their plugins for HD too that may be different than the Native ones, though I've no evidence of that.

The host computer usually only acts as a home or the cards and the Graphical User Interface