Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you like your boss?

• 30-10-2008 2:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭

I can't stand the cretin I work for yet in the current climate, what can you do?

I love what I do but srsly would like to stomp the MD's brains out...

Surely I'm not the only one?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

SteveC wrote: »

Nope I think your boss is a dick too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

/phew

I'm not paranoid then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Chat up the bosses daughter and maybe more, it seems to work in teh porn.

Mine are great, I have 2 bosses who know their stuff and unlike others where I have 4-5 bosses telling me the same thing if something goes wrong (see Office Space for what I mean). They don't act like bosses, it is like everyone is on the same playing field.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I can't stand the cretin I work for yet in the current climate, what can you do?

I love what I do but srsly would like to stomp the MD's brains out...

In my last job (I'm back in college now, not on the dole or anything) I worked in a supermarket with maybe 10 managers. All but three of them were sound but those three more than compansated. They were absolute complete arseholes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

No problems with her, she's fairly sound.

We'll see though as the pregnancy progresses if she goes a bit axe-murdererish or not.

Well, I think you're a di-...

*Sees mod status*

...delightful man. Here's a hug.

*Hug*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

Ruu wrote: »
    Chat up the bosses daughter

DeV has a daughter???

Shame on you Ruu...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

My boss is fairly sound. He pretty much leaves me alone to get on with things most of the time. What I like about him is he's slowly teaching me how things are done which is cool.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

/phew

I'm not paranoid then?

No not at all, everyone here thinks he's an asshole.

My boss is a completely useless bitch but she's got a sweet set of tits so that's all that matters.

Pics or stfu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

ya, but has she an ass to back it all up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

My boss is grand to work for, it took a couple of years but now i can tell i'm to feck off if i dont like his decision and he usually respects it.

No not at all, everyone here thinks he's an asshole.

My boss is a completely useless bitch but he's got a sweet set of moobs so that's all that matters.

FYP...

/runs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

I get on really well with My Chief, I'm 2IC so I think if you asked anyone else here they would tell you that they hated their Boss :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Stay_in_Kampuchea

No he's a sniveling acne riddled little penneypincher, who I would not trust with a bag full of worthless outdated rhodeisan pennies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Stay_in_Kampuchea

he's also a snake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

My boss is sound ,I get time off whenever I need and he's grand with all the wok/homelife balance crap that is preached so much these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Kill My Boss!?

...Dare I live out the American Dream?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Yep, mine is pretty cool.
    Always supportive of whatever I do, and knows my peculiarities fairly well by now...

SteveC's boss is a total knobhead though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

yeah, shes alright....do for a poke like!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Geology

Like would be too strong a word but I've been lucky with bosses. Have only had one that I'd shoot if I was armed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

My boss is great, though he never gives me any time off. Oh, I am self employed :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I did like her until yesterday when we had a big blow out. Was told the whole floor could hear us shouting at each other. You could cut the tension with a knife today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Worked in a bar for 5 years. First boss was ok. Second was promoted from the bar and was my best mate ah life was easy then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Rockshamrover

Slightly off topic but still related.

Do women make better bosses than men? I have had both and overall things have balanced out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Slightly off topic but still related.

Do women make better bosses than men? I have had both and overall things have balanced out.

Oh God no. Most take things so serious and if your messing around you're not messing around but "Undermining their authority". No, Id still be pissin about if a fella was in charge your just insecure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I used to like my boss but recently we've had some issues. PI next :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

I like mine, the two of them are sound as feckin pounds :) having said that, Ill probably mess something up and then it'll be all holy war.

But I did work for some Chinese people before and sweet mother of jaysus I was delighted when they had to close the place down and feck off back to their own country. Terrible terrible shower (not the Asian race, just those **** :mad:)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Have to say, I think my boss is sound out, good craic, gets the job done and you dont get any crap from him.. he just has a way with getting things sorted and done without all the crap I've seen other bosses pull in the past. As a result he seems to have the respect of everyone who works for him and its a big team.. so hats off to the guy..

Always a thanks and the end of big projects and a few pints in the local.. on the company..

So I count myself lucky..

Walked out of a job after 10 weeks before (started looking for a new job after 3 weeks) because of a complete psycho b*tch who took over when the original boss went on maternity.. complete nutter, dog ugly too with seriously bad breath, terrible diet and a smoker, so when she was in yer face screaming at ya, it was all the worse... :mad:

Tox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

i've been travelling and working in the last few years and my managers while i was away were spot on,
    then the manager in the first job i got after coming home was weird and a bit of a tosser.
    if you didnt know something he'd give you this look as if you're some retard that just kicked his dog.

however my current manager is sound,
    never had a problem and cant see there ever being on either.
    just lucky i guess.

but if your manager is a tosser you could always nail his wife,
    i just needed an excuse to post this really...

http://www.kontraband.com/videos/14246/Nailing-The-Boss-Wife/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

We have team managers running our place, I've had loads of different ones over the years good and bad, Currently everything is ok at the moment.

There's always somebody above them and then someone in charge of them....And so on! There's also the 'Union', They take your money and are never to be seen! I don't even know what they look like? and where they come from? :confused: But there's some form of support out there...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

No. i hate my boss's.

They are about 8 inches away from getting AIDS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Des Hynes

Ruu wrote: »
    Chat up the bosses daughter and maybe more, it seems to work in teh porn.

Mine are great, I have 2 bosses who know their stuff and unlike others where I have 4-5 bosses telling me the same thing if something goes wrong (see Office Space for what I mean). They don't act like bosses, it is like everyone is on the same playing field.

Do they think outside the square while on the same playing field?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 constance74

eVeNtInE wrote: »

thank you!
    hello i am french and consequently sorry for my english!
    i have 28 years and i have in my society 7 employees. I think i am a really good boss! when i started i was 23, and to be honest i did not know how to do with them. i did wnt to be cool, right, in fact i wanted to be honest. And unfortunately, my employees profit about this. They were late, not respectful... french law is bad, because it is all for emplyees, and nothing for bosses. for instance, i had a woman who worked for me since 1 year, she seemed to be nice, but i saw thanks to camera that she stole me money about 70 € per day. Imagine per month! i wanted to fire her, and she get a lawyer, prud'homme, i had the movie in which she takes money, 2 letters of clinets who saw her taking money, and you know what, i had to pay her 5000 €! Thanks law.
    So i know ther is a lot of bad bosses, but sometimes boss are great, and honest and due to bad emplyyeesthey become bad!