Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waders

• 29-10-2008 7:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭

Anybody ever consider using waders ( as in fly fishing one or something) .
    Or does any body have any experience with em ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭kevteljeur

LOL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭sean.carolan100

Awww man , Did I say something stupid ? :o:o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭spicymchaggis

you gonna be camping in the river?

LoL no just a pain in the whole cleaning the boots and all , polishing em , getting socked to the skin even through the boots and there kinda cheap : )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Turncoat

OP I am a little confused do you mean waders as in the birds or the footwear?

Ninja edit - just got it.

you have the right to be confused as the trousers are named after the bird lol :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: Yup I mean the trousers

Dunno about waders but I saw this guy at fingal wearing knee length garden rubber boots once. When I asked him about the boots and he said "Just in case I have to get into the river to get the flag from the delta base":pac:

Sounds good:) Cause I have a long journey home and hate having being soaked for like an hour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭BioHazRd

you gonna be camping in the river?
    Hehe - if you are getting waders, make sure you get neoprene ones - they will keep you warm. Make sure they dont have felt soles or you will skate all over grass. Youre pretty much restricted to od though i think ive seen real tree ones in the states. I would also advise going for chest waders as you would have freer movement and better insulation. Prepare to be laughed at though :)

Sounds good Cause I have a long journey home and hate having being soaked for like an hour

There's an invention called the umbrella and another called raincoat:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Good pair of waterproof boots and a pair of gators ontop would do the job without looking like a wolly, plus youve zero ankle support in waders

I planned on wearing my camo over them cause there easy to clean : ) You will only be able to see the boot part

I should get one to go with my digital woodland camo though on second thought I get enough strange looks as it is (Indian guy wearing camo in Ireland-it's a great conversation starter though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭spicymchaggis

wait wait so your gonna walk around in a giant condom to save cleaning your boots? everything else is gonna get dirty and your gonna be sweating with yer gear on top of it. break out the aul boot polish ;)

You are not supposed to say stuff like that:cool:. It gives people gross mental images.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭tonky

But, if he's wearing his camo over the waders, all he has to do is sit in the river for a few minutes - job done. Clean as a whistle. :D , oh wait he's still wet .... hmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

Have you considered the infinitely more simple and useful solution of Goretex? A decent Goretex jacket and pants with a decent pair of boots will serve three functions; keep you dry, keep you warm, keep you from looking like an extra from a Monty Python sketch.
    Plus, I don't know if you've ever worn waders, but they're not exactly conducive to running. Or crouching. Or indeed anything other than..., well..., wading.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Dr_Pepper

Having goen over on my ankle when i didnt wear my boots (just once i might add) there is no way i would recommend anything but good solid ankle support.
    Wellies and the likes are going to give you a broken ankle.

If your worried about getting ur feet wet then get gortex socks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

Ya could just grow a set of danglies and feck the wet, its all part of the experience, sure, ive been known to take the sub-aqua route in HRTA even when i wasnt completely necessary., I love the soaking wet, torrential weather games., :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Tommyboy71

A good pair/set of waders will cost you about the same as pair of decent boots, gaiters and goretex socks. The latter being the more comfortable option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

this gets my vote for the best thread on boards in a long time....LOL

a true classic....

so far we have the potential for acu coloured waders (if on the US military had sussed that)
    the giant condom
    the fact that waders just wade....
    and no danglies

thanks...i really needed this!!! BAWHAHAHA...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭G3-Nut

ha just do it like me, bring a g3, wear velcro strap runners with uneven socks,
    and remember to get to tha choppa!

Lol This is the funiest f*cking $hit I've read in a long time , and I think I'm gonna go with the boots and gators option lol

You don't need all that when you can have tactical waders like these

41DM1T2HAVL_SS500_.jpg

LOL ,
    Before you go on , take a time out and have a read of the above ^^^^^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭irishlostboy

DPM goretex jacket and pants from 40 sterling the pair?
    http://www.endicotts.co.uk/product_info.php?cPath=95&products_id=544
    DPM gaiters.
    http://www.endicotts.co.uk/product_info.php?products_id=162
    boots;
    http://www.rvops.co.uk/military-boots-87/lowa-boots-84/lowa-gore-tex-lined-combat-boots-507.html
    if you need any more than this its wetsuit time. or retirement time. :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

I have a pair of similar waders to those in the photo above, although its part of my angling kit and not airsoft kit and for good reason., :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

Sean man, you just cracked me up!! This HAS to be be post of the day.:D

Well , I try my best :rolleyes::rolleyes::p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭Jimbobak47

Is there anything to be said for gore-tex gaiters? they do the job tenfold no need for wellies!

I recommend them : )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭irishlostboy

Jimbobak47 wrote: »
    Is there anything to be said for gore-tex gaiters? they do the job tenfold no need for wellies!

yea, IF worn with good boots. i have actually seen people try use them with runners. and then wonder why their feet are wet. there is no hope for some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭kevteljeur

Watch out for what Dr Pepper said, lads - you really do need good ankle support. You'll be as waterproof as you like with waders but one awkward step, one stumble and you'll literally break your ankle. You'll be out of any kind of sport for months and you really don't want that.

This is why people are recommended to play with boots rather than trainers or other low footwear, you're playing on a slippery, uneven surface with plenty of rocks and other small obstacles on the ground. Plus that I don't see anyone running in waders. You'll end up annoying yourself, just get good all-weather gear and bring a change of clothes to your chosen site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

Gaiters, proper combat boots, proper combat socks, ftw.