Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

no decent work anywhere!!tradesman or otherwise!!

• 29-10-2008 7:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭

Hi everyone just a general query i have..........

i was wondering are there any people in the same boat as myself who come from a trades background and aswell as finding it impossible to get any work in their trade are finding extremely hard to get any kind of a decent job?

this is the situation i find myself in and has been for the last 3 months and im getting pretty fed up with it..
    waiting three months for social to come through aswell!!!:mad::mad::mad:

i know there are other folk in the same boat and probable worse off than i and i do apologise if i come across as whingy but it starts to get ya down after a while!!

anyway if anyone wants to come on here and tell us what there up to and doing about the situation that would be cool...

did someone say french foreign legion...??hhhmmmmm.......:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Offy

Same boat mate, the job market is dried up. I served my time as a draughtsman and then went on to become an engineer and now Im teaching ahhhhhhhhhhhh it sucks but it pays the bills. Try FAS of other organisations like FAS, theres still jobs teaching FETAC to kids and adults and the pays not bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

was thinking about the army aswell 27 maybe etting too old for it now

its shocking and all the websites except fas are useless the agencys ads most are originally dated months ago.
    still waiting on the socail went to the cwo to try and get some money off them they want old payslips statements and a letter from my old boss plus my p45 which the socail and tax office took off me.
    feckin bueracuracy its not like they wont get the money back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭dazberry

Lads you have my sympathies (honestly). I went thru' this during the IT crash back in 2002 and it was 18 months of fuppin misery.

If its any consolation - when you're at your lowest ebb and suddenly find yourself in a taxi (this won't be during a night on the lash - because there won't be any of those) - the nice taxi driver will tell you in no uncertain terms that it was all your fault anyway - lovely.

D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

can you get a city and guilds in robbery/dealing they seem to be feckin makin serious money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Well, if you've always worked in a trade and you want to change career, you're going to have to start at the bottom of the ladder again. That's to be expected, really.

Would you consider working in sales? There are always sales jobs out there and with the commission you can sometimes make good money. You'll probably have to get 6 - 12 months telesales under you belt (i.e. cold calling) before you get a decent sales job, but it's a start and you'd get lots of on the job training.

An alternative is to reskill at something, e.g. do an IT course and try to get a tech support job (e.g. in Eircom.)

There are definitely jobs out there, but you won't start on decent money if you move to a totally new career...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭NDM

it really just feels like its three months ive been sitting at the computer day after day applying for jobs that most of the time ya dont hear a dickie bird back...id love to hear back either way ya know..its just a bit of common decency..
    ive considered everything really guards,fire service,army,prison service but none bar the prison service are recruiting and im told you could spend 2 to 3 years on a panel depending..cant afford to wait that long..
    im well aware if i change career i would have to start at the bottom and wouldnt mind in the slightest doing so..ive considered doing another apprenticeship but that thought didnt last long!!
    i cant afford to emigrate (spent two years in western australia and it is the best place to be on gods green earth right now) or go to college..i was considering college until the fees went up which ruled me out!!
    im 26 which is plenty young to start again fresh at something new but its hard to get someone to give ya a shot when ya dont have say the necessary experience in something but you still know you could do the job standing on your head!!
    guess all we can do is keep pluggin away!
    havent givin up hope of gettin work back in the buildings cause at the risk of sounding big headed, im a bloody good chippie!!
    thats another thing that grinds my gears is when people say "ah sure if your good enough there will always be work for ya" which is rubbish cause there is not enough work to go around and lads are working for a quarter of what they were a couple of years ago so ya cant compete...

anyway guys ive ranted long enough so my apologies!!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Where are ye based?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭dcukhunter

Keep trying and ye will get there. I was plastering myself but I was lucky got out just before it all went to s***. Started in security and can make upwards of 800 a week now (long crappy hours though upwards of 100 some weeks). Thinking of going self employed now if the boss goes for it I should clear 1000+ doing same hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

NDM wrote: »
    it really just feels like its three months ive been sitting at the computer day after day applying for jobs that most of the time ya dont hear a dickie bird back...id love to hear back either way ya know..its just a bit of common decency..

If you want to e-mail me your CV and cover letter (<snip>) I'll take a look at them and try to give you some pointers.

ive considered everything really guards,fire service,army,prison service but none bar the prison service are recruiting and im told you could spend 2 to 3 years on a panel depending..cant afford to wait that long..

You do realise the guards, fire service, and prison service are extremely difficult jobs to get, even in a booming economy? :)

I can see there are currently 1669 jobs for "juniors" here: http://www.jobseeker.ie/index.php?k=junior&l=

Maybe one of them will suit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭dazzlermac

im in the same boat meself chief,im a damn good chippie in cork and have pretty much the exact same situation as yerself.can barely make ends meat,really struggling.so me and the missus have made the decision oz here we come...im 27 and traveled a few years ago but only holidayd in oz so we gonna move there for a couple of years and hopefully come home if this picks up..i am a chippy since im 14 workin summers and went full time at 15 and a half,its all i know and dont know if id be able to retrain...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Copper

Now's a good time to go back and get a degree or diploma if you can afford it. You should get free fees so all you need is living expenses. Then by the time all this blows over you will be qualified and hopefully more employable. I'm a sparks and I've just gone back to school for a degree - part-time work and nixers is enough to survive on especially if you move somewhere cheaper.

AARRRGH wrote: »
    If you want to e-mail me your CV and cover letter (steve at acme.ie) I'll take a look at them and try to give you some pointers.

You do realise the guards, fire service, and prison service are extremely difficult jobs to get, even in a booming economy? :)

I can see there are currently 1669 jobs for "juniors" here: http://www.jobseeker.ie/index.php?k=junior&l=

Maybe one of them will suit?

cool il have a look and thanks very much!!:)

and thanks very much for the offer of looking over my cv il defo send that to ya at some stage...im in the process of giving it a makeover!!:o

Thanks again

dazzlermac wrote: »
    im in the same boat meself chief,im a damn good chippie in cork and have pretty much the exact same situation as yerself.can barely make ends meat,really struggling.so me and the missus have made the decision oz here we come...im 27 and traveled a few years ago but only holidayd in oz so we gonna move there for a couple of years and hopefully come home if this picks up..i am a chippy since im 14 workin summers and went full time at 15 and a half,its all i know and dont know if id be able to retrain...

well daz its a f%&k of a situation to be in isnt it!!

i travelled round oz for two years and setlled in perth for a year..great place..ya probably know yourself that western australia is the place to go ..plenty of jobs and that and such a great lifestyle..would still be there if visa hadnt ran out!!sick!!

in my opinion yer def doin the right thing...the very best of luck with it mate!

the_syco wrote: »
    Where are ye based?

im iN Kildare

well daz its a f%&k of a situation to be in isnt it!!

i travelled round oz for two years and setlled in perth for a year..great place..ya probably know yourself that western australia is the place to go ..plenty of jobs and that and such a great lifestyle..would still be there if visa hadnt ran out!!sick!!

in my opinion yer def doin the right thing...the very best of luck with it mate!

surely they would give ya another visa bein a skilled worker n all,was never in perth i did the east coast any help advice would be appreciated:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Farls

If your going to Oz ya would want to high tail it there fairly soon, I don't think Oz is going into recession also (even though there is a lot of talk about it there) but work is starting to dry up a bit there too for tradesmen and IT people alike. Especially now with the large numbers of Irish heading that direction at the moment!!

Best of luck anyway, its soul destroying sitting at home knowing you could and should be working!!

Farls wrote: »
    If your going to Oz ya would want to high tail it there fairly soon, I don't think Oz is going into recession also (even though there is a lot of talk about it there) but work is starting to dry up a bit there too for tradesmen and IT people alike. Especially now with the large numbers of Irish heading that direction at the moment!!

Best of luck anyway, its soul destroying sitting at home knowing you could and should be working!!

really first i heard of it gettin quite..........goin in january

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Farls

really first i heard of it gettin quite..........goin in january

I was there in August/September for a few weeks...Perth/Brisbane/Sydney were the main places I was talking to tradesment/IT people. As far as IT is concerned your better off stay in Ireland/UK, not only is there more employment here but there is a LOT better money.

As for tradesmen I know a good few over there from sparkies to groundsmen to boys shutterin and digger drivers, they all told me its getting quiet and they don't know if they will be work from one week to the next. Few of them actualy lost there jobs that they were sponsored in there because the biggest developer on the east coast went bust and took a lot of sub contractors with him!! Now I don't think things are THAT bad there and definitley nothing like they are here, just ozzies like to complain a lot about how hard things are!! My advice would definitley be goto Perth though, nicest spot there IMO and thats where work seemed to be most plentiful/easiest got. Best of luck anyway

Farls wrote: »
    I was there in August/September for a few weeks...Perth/Brisbane/Sydney were the main places I was talking to tradesment/IT people. As far as IT is concerned your better off stay in Ireland/UK, not only is there more employment here but there is a LOT better money.

As for tradesmen I know a good few over there from sparkies to groundsmen to boys shutterin and digger drivers, they all told me its getting quiet and they don't know if they will be work from one week to the next. Few of them actualy lost there jobs that they were sponsored in there because the biggest developer on the east coast went bust and took a lot of sub contractors with him!! Now I don't think things are THAT bad there and definitley nothing like they are here, just ozzies like to complain a lot about how hard things are!! My advice would definitley be goto Perth though, nicest spot there IMO and thats where work seemed to be most plentiful/easiest got. Best of luck anyway

cheers ya defo goin to perth id say

surely they would give ya another visa bein a skilled worker n all,was never in perth i did the east coast any help advice would be appreciated:)

ya dont need much advice from us if ya have already been to oz and that..but if your defo goin to perth you really should consider some of the more rural places in WA..a good few of my mates have gone to the mining towns where they say work is plentiful but the only drawback being they are pretty isolated..perth should defo be your first port of call and if ya cant get fixed up there consider the mining towns, broome, kalgoorlie etc...

are you looking on the net for jobs and that over there now at the mo? if not do cause its nice knowing you have a job to walk into...register with every recruitment agency and you should get onto wa government aswell cause as far as i know they can hook you up with work as a skilled migrant..dont quote me on that tho but i know there is a system like that...its looking pretty likely that WA especially shouldnt be hit by recession because its a rich bloody place and the mining funds most of it...

as for me apart from being broke, circumstances at home dont allow for it;)..least not at the mo anyway!!

a fella can dream..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭Bulmers

bro in law living in Oz the last year, it is slowing down for sure but thing is everyone is going, and not only irish, this affect is everywhere and everyone seems to have the idea that Oz is the place to be, i think the Oz hay-day was 2 yrs ago or so, but global recession will hit there too..

bro in law is a spark and trade is defo slowing up, from what he says anyway...

if you're a nurse etc, you're ok, but that goes for anywhere really..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 stevecfc

I agree in terms of the east coast but the west coast has a load of work. I was there in 2005-2006 and was never out of work. A mate is working in Pilbara and they cant get enough people 3 grand a week hes clearing.