Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

santry

• 29-10-2008 5:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭

Just wonderin what Santry is like and what the locals attitude is like towards students

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shiny

They mostly hate students and I you WILL get punched in the face the first day you move there.

Just live on campus. Its cheaper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Defenestrate

Hey it's not all THAT bad Shiny, as long as he finds one of the stronger local gangs to align himself with he should be fine. Word on the street is that the Santry Slashers are coming out on top in the latest turfwars, but you have to beat up a granny to join them... So maybe just walk round with your hand in your jacket like you have a gun Godfather-style? That should keep the average Joe relatively safe. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Evangelion

Cheaper on campus!!!
    Students must be really letting themselves get ****ed over.

It's the same as any place, you'll be grand as long as your not an asshole.

Only joking. :D

I lived in Santry in 2nd year and my main feeling after that year
    was that it was too far away. Much too tempting to realise,
    you only have 10 minutes to get to a lecture and then just not
    bother going. (Santry is a 15+ minute walk btw)Any adverts saying
    5/10 minutes away are LIES.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

Shiny wrote: »

Agree with that. It's a bit of a walk alright!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 3laine

I'm a 4th year biotech student. Lived in Santry my whole life. My gaff is about 30 mins walk away from DCU. Living in Santry isn't that bad. Shanowen/Shanliss are still fairly close to DCU (10-15 mins walk).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Kiddynamite

Shiny wrote: »

Haha what a load, they're not lies, Shawnowen is part of Santry which in fact is just a turn off of Colins Avenue, which would be a 2 min walk from the helix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭bangersandmash

Haha what a load, they're not lies, Shawnowen is part of Santry which in fact is just a turn off of Colins Avenue, which would be a 2 min walk from the helix.
    True it really depends on what part of Santry you're talking about. Big difference between Shanowen and Northwood.

As for complaining about a 15 minute walk? Plenty of students and commuters would kill for that :rolleyes:

If I was talking about Shanowen, I would have said so.
    I was talking about the Shantella Road type location.